We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate property in the Mara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate property in the Mara”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Tiplilikwani is a perfect place to stay if your primary goal for a trip to the Mara is to spend the day on safari, and only sleep and eat at the camp at night. The food is perfectly adequate and the rooms are spacious. However, there is really nothing else to do at the camp, and during the day you'll want to be out driving through the Reserve.

Highlight: They do provide great breakfasts "to go." We recommend having them pack up your breakfast and head out of the camp at dawn. This is the best time to see animals (especially lions) and then you can stop mid morning to enjoy your breakfast in the middle of the Mara.

Ultimately, the price is reasonable for what you receive, but if you are looking for more of a luxurious camp, better cuisine for your evening meal, or if you're hoping to spend part of your holiday relaxing at a property, check out other camps.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    42
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
53
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Personal and genuine service by staff at Tipilikwani camp – George and Mary, our waiters and Dennis and James our housekeeper. Chef Samuel at Tipilikwani camp deserves special mention. We believe he could be one of the best chefs in Africa!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMavenNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We arrived at the lodge after a bone rattling 4 wheel drive from Kisumu. The food we were offered on arrival was excellent and our rooms were fabulous. We went on both the early morning and evening game drives and saw the big five plus cheetahs, a leopard and some wonderful colourful birds. We also went hot air ballooning and seeing the Mara from the air was another amazing experience.
There isn't a swimming pool at the lodge but guest can use the one at the Mara Leisure Camp which isn't far away. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Tipilikwani the staff are friendly, food great, beds very comfortable (even a hot water bottle) as it does become cool at night.

Will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Considering that they are part of the same Atua Enkop group,The Tiplikwani hotel was strictly average in terms of their hospitality. The place per se is very nice but the service is very poor compared to the other hotels in the chain. The staff is arrogant and care too hoots about the guests. In fact we found that the Manager of the hotel would end up eating his meals before the guests would. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nishank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at Tipilikwani Camp. We were especially happy with the service we recieved, our 2 year old son so well looked after and we appreciated the extra touches like special meals made for him.
We enjoyed the meals, and felt full for most of the holiday! Lovely cakes!!

Room Tip: The family room has a bath and plenty of room for a little one to run around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful 3 week holiday in Kenya but our 5 day Safari experience was the best experience i will treasure for the rest of my life!!!
Our safari was organised by JT SAFARIS (Julius) in Diani, Mombasa. We stayed at ASHNIL CAMP (Masai Mara) the 1st night and TIPILIKWANI CAMP (Masai Mara) the 2nd night. Both camps were special and very unique but i think there were better viewing points from TIPILIKWANI CAMP. The sad thing is that we arrived late when it was dark and had to be up very early the next morning for our 8 hour drive to Lake Nkuru and so we didn't have any time here to relax and appreciate everything the camp has to offer. We cannot find anything to complain about - the staff were very welcoming on our arrival and remained so throughout our short stay. The food was delicious too!! The price we paid through JT SAFARIS was cheap and yet we got what seemed to be Royal - 5* accomodation!!! Well done Julius at JT SAFARIS and thank you for all your hard work finding us the best accomodation!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEDDY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

A warm welcome with great food (too much!!) amazing safari, careful customer service and comfortable accommodation. Take ear plugs to get a good night's sleep if there are hyenas walking past the tent! :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,036 reviews
12.7 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#42 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
123 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#27 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
129 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
835 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#45 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara

Property: Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Address: C14 Keekorok | Pio Gama Pinto Road, Westlands, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This uniquely situated luxury camp on the banks of the Talek River overlooks the mottled plains of the Maasai Mara, where vast herds of wildlife co-exist with the colourful Maasai people. Between June and October the Maasai Mara plays host to one of the most spectacular wildlife shows on earth the great annual migration of over a million wildebeest and zebra as they enter the Mara ecosystem from Serengeti in neighbouring Tanzania. Tipilikwani's tents enjoy river frontage and are decorated with warm, rich Maasai colours. The family tents have a stand alone bath tub in addition to showers. Excellent food, personalised service and traditional Kenyan hospitality further compliment the prime location. Game drives offer the unforgettable opportunity to enjoy the diversity of animals and birds living permanently in the Masai Mara, as well as many migratory species. Guests can also learn more about the Masai people, proud pastoralists and warriors, many of whom still retain their traditional nomadic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing