We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tipilikwani Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tipilikwani Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We arrived at the lodge after a bone rattling 4 wheel drive from Kisumu. The food we were offered on arrival was excellent and our rooms were fabulous. We went on both the early morning and evening game drives and saw the big five plus cheetahs, a leopard and some wonderful colourful birds. We also went hot air ballooning and seeing the Mara from the air was another amazing experience.
There isn't a swimming pool at the lodge but guest can use the one at the Mara Leisure Camp which isn't far away. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Tipilikwani the staff are friendly, food great, beds very comfortable (even a hot water bottle) as it does become cool at night.

Will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    35
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
49
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Considering that they are part of the same Atua Enkop group,The Tiplikwani hotel was strictly average in terms of their hospitality. The place per se is very nice but the service is very poor compared to the other hotels in the chain. The staff is arrogant and care too hoots about the guests. In fact we found that the Manager of the hotel would end up eating his meals before the guests would. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nishank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at Tipilikwani Camp. We were especially happy with the service we recieved, our 2 year old son so well looked after and we appreciated the extra touches like special meals made for him.
We enjoyed the meals, and felt full for most of the holiday! Lovely cakes!!

Room Tip: The family room has a bath and plenty of room for a little one to run around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful 3 week holiday in Kenya but our 5 day Safari experience was the best experience i will treasure for the rest of my life!!!
Our safari was organised by JT SAFARIS (Julius) in Diani, Mombasa. We stayed at ASHNIL CAMP (Masai Mara) the 1st night and TIPILIKWANI CAMP (Masai Mara) the 2nd night. Both camps were special and very unique but i think there were better viewing points from TIPILIKWANI CAMP. The sad thing is that we arrived late when it was dark and had to be up very early the next morning for our 8 hour drive to Lake Nkuru and so we didn't have any time here to relax and appreciate everything the camp has to offer. We cannot find anything to complain about - the staff were very welcoming on our arrival and remained so throughout our short stay. The food was delicious too!! The price we paid through JT SAFARIS was cheap and yet we got what seemed to be Royal - 5* accomodation!!! Well done Julius at JT SAFARIS and thank you for all your hard work finding us the best accomodation!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEDDY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

A warm welcome with great food (too much!!) amazing safari, careful customer service and comfortable accommodation. Take ear plugs to get a good night's sleep if there are hyenas walking past the tent! :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stated at Tipilikwani for 3 nights in early August. The camp has 20 tents, most of which overlook the Talek river. The camp runs a mobile spa service and treatments are carried out in individuals rooms.

Points of interest:

1) The tent size is massive! So is the bathroom :) and both are fairly clean
2) Found some stains on the bedsheets (which was a put off for me) but if you're not OCD then you won't have an issue
3) Meals were mostly served to your table or on some days they have a buffet service. The vegetable soup was delicious!!
4) Packed lunch can be provided if you wish to be out on full-day game drive but please ensure you specify your dietary requirement or risk being surprised!
5) Power is switched off between 7.30am and 6pm and then again between 11pm and 5am - at least this was what we experienced when there. Electronic gadgets can be charged inside the restaurant.
6) Water for showers is nice and hot in the evenings ..

Overall, this was a nice place to stay although I wouldn't go back here due to proximity of game viewing ..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aparna_Nbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The tented rooms at this place are amazing. They are ENORMOUS and the bathroom is huge as well. It is a true tent - ie the room cannot be locked and there was no safe so we left our valuables locked in our luggage which was fine. Also, there were (surprisingly) no bugs in our room. We had a double room and my sister who is single had a "single" room which actually had two queen size beds! - easily would have fit four people except you would have had to share the bathroom.
I slept here very deeply although my husband was kept up by barking dogs and the sounds of the maasai guards screaming at something?! Apparently a hyena had entered the camp ... that was the rumor anyway!

The rooms also had an outdoor wooden deck with a view of forest and the mara beyond where we could see the wildebeest grazing. Chef Moses makes the best macadamia nut fudge - must try!!! Their lounge/dining area has some outdoor seating as well where you have the view of the mara and the wildebeest which is very nice.

The only downsides were that service was very slow and the camp is actually outside the park. Although it is on the edge, there were two drives where the driver actually drove outside the park and through a little village where there is alot of plastic/garbage on the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gauri83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
15.5 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#41 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#32 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#19 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
28.8 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#77 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara

Property: Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Address: C14 Keekorok | Pio Gama Pinto Road, Westlands, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This uniquely situated luxury camp on the banks of the Talek River overlooks the mottled plains of the Maasai Mara, where vast herds of wildlife co-exist with the colourful Maasai people. Between June and October the Maasai Mara plays host to one of the most spectacular wildlife shows on earth the great annual migration of over a million wildebeest and zebra as they enter the Mara ecosystem from Serengeti in neighbouring Tanzania. Tipilikwani's tents enjoy river frontage and are decorated with warm, rich Maasai colours. The family tents have a stand alone bath tub in addition to showers. Excellent food, personalised service and traditional Kenyan hospitality further compliment the prime location. Game drives offer the unforgettable opportunity to enjoy the diversity of animals and birds living permanently in the Masai Mara, as well as many migratory species. Guests can also learn more about the Masai people, proud pastoralists and warriors, many of whom still retain their traditional nomadic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing