We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tented bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best tented bedroom”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was our last stop on our trip through Tanzania ans Kenya so it easy to compare accommodations. This camp had the largest tents and probably the best bedrooms we experienced. I had a king size bed, large lounge and nice desk with suitable furnishings. The bathroom area was also large and suitable but we did experience better.
Sitting on the deck area of the tent overlooking the river and having an afternoon drink was very peaceful.
An interesting feature was that each tent had their own Masai Guard to escort you to and from the dining area at night. It was certainly implied that they should be tipped at the conclusion of your stay.
I did a walking safari for $US 20 with two Masai and we found the animal tracks and use of different vegetation interesting. I was disappointed we did not see any animals. Having done walks in the Chitwan area of Nepal where we encountered Rhino and sloth bear it was a little tame. Perhaps those that accompanied me were happy we did not see similar animals.
We found the food good but not excellent. The bar had a wide variety of drinks and we enjoyed some late nights trying some digestifs.
Wemwould rate this as our second best camp.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    41
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
54
52
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

As soon as Dee, our Masai guide, picked us up from the airstrip, I knew that we were in good hands. Firstly his control of our 4 by 4 open jeep was masterly as we navigated the rutted mud splattered tracks leading to the camp and secondly he was a mine of information about the wildlife. Over six safari drives he and his assistant Francis were a joy to be with as they spotted herds of buffalos, elephants, antelope as well as the sleeping cheetahs and mating lions. We shall never forget the pride of 11 lions who snuggled up to our jeep for their early morning siesta.

Further honours should also go to Peter, the barman for his sundowners from crocodile tears to doua - whose secret receipe I shall not reveal as it is up to you to go and experience the delights of Tipilikwani!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have visited Tipilikwani a number of times over the past 18 months, each time with different visitors from overseas. This is camp which offers excellent friendly service, in a delightful setting. Entry can be made through the park. Taking people for their first gentle drive en route is a delightful way to introduce them to the pleasures of Tipi and the Maasai Mara. It gives them a taste of what is to come once you have been welcomed and checked into your tent. The tents are tastfully done and very comfortable. A major plus is that if you are alone you will have a delightful tent with it's own verandah just a short walk from the dining room and bar. If however you are a family who want to be together there are two sets of family tents. These are 2 'semi-detatched' tents, with a shared vaerandah which runs the width of both tents. Evening sundowners can be be shared after a hard day of safariing. Children are welcome and special diets can be catered for, the chef always comes out at least once to check if the food has been enjoyed. i would not hesitate to reccommend Tipilikwani as it is a pleasure to visit every time., with staff who take an interest in your day as well as your comfort.the chance to sample the delights of the Maasai Mara in comfort.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, great to listen to the sounds of Africa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSNBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

My first time in Kenya or Africa the continent. I had no real expectations going there other than seeing wild animals and large barren plains. I was pleasantly surprised. The country is very beautiful and the people are very friendly. When doing our safari in the Masai Mara park we stayed at the Tipilikwani camp. This is a very modern, comfortable and high standard accommodation. We got a large tent with 2 kingsize beds, all modern hotel comforts, a large bathroom and fully functional toilet. Our patio was right in front of a river, which made falling asleep very easy listening to the running water noise. The staff was extremely nice and friendly. The food was very good as well. I felt right at home. If you want to explore Africa, Kenya and do safaris, and you don't want to go back to basics, this camp is for you. Modern, up to par yet still the African atmosphere and style.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tirso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Mara offers a truly once in a lifetime experience. The camp, had all of the extra touches, the welcome drinks, the food quality and presentation, the hospitality of the staff, down to the hot water bottle, this was "glamping" at its best! In our hour of need, when the bridge to the camp was completely flooded due to the long rains (noting that many other camps closed!), the camp impressed us further when our knight, or should I say Masai, forged through the depths to rescue us! We shall never forget the Mara or Tipilikwani, our memories will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NairobiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Having stayed in many of the Maasai Mara's hotels, camps and lodges Tipilikwani camp came as a very pleasant surprise. Each of the Maasai Mara's camps have a unique selling point; for some it's the location, for others the sumptuous food on offer. But Tipilikwani for me was totally about the serenity of the camp and it's proximity to incredible game viewing with one Dee, a Maasai guide, who is simply one of the best guides I've had the pleasure to travel with anywhere in Kenya. His knowledge and love of the natural world was both educational and infectious and his company was a sheer delight.

Tipilikwani's treats, however, didn't end with Dee. The ambience of the luxury tents on the banks of the Talek river, where birdsong and the slow gurgle of the river was the audio backdrop, were comfortable, spacious and well appointed. It was a delight to wake at sunrise and sit on the veranda listening to the Kenyan bush come to life.

In the restaurant area I sipped a sundowner and watched a waterbuck feeding on the lawn as the smell of delicious cooking wafted on the air. And the food was delicious. The bar area is one of the homeliest I've seen in Kenya and allows guests to mingle and easily recount their day.

Finally, the Jackson the manager and his team couldn't do enough for the guests and inquired frequently if there was anything that could be done to enhance the stay. I was well impressed and will most definitely return to Tipilikwani once again.
Thanks to everyone for making my stay so peaceful, luxurious and entertaining.

Room Tip: All of Tipilikwani's guides are excellent, but if you have a chance to travel with Dee you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I travelled with a friend who made the booking based on a recommendation and some base criteria from us that we wanted to experience the outdoors, but without going too basic. Our expectations for both the safari and our stay were far exceeded in this camp. We were met from the plane by our guide (more about him later!) who took us through the park back to the lodge. This was the first of many highlights since we saw loads of different animals as well as the park itself on the way.

The camp itself is fabulous. The 'rooms' are tents with a purpose built bathroom behind them and are spacious with plenty of room inside and out. You could happily spend time relaxing on the veranda, watching the river below (we had a family of baboons opposite us) There is a main lodge which houses the restaurant and bar and overlooks the river and the park beyond (we saw giraffes on the horizon at mealtimes) Dining is also fantastic - there is a choice at every mealtime (lunch and dinner were 3 and 4 courses respectively of very good quality food) and the bar is well stocked for sundowners and a good wine list.

Finally, the safari excursions were excellent. We had the best guide, Dee, who really made sure we saw as much as possible and was a fountain of information. We learnt about the Mara, the people (Maasai), and the animals. He, and our second guide Joe, were also inquisitive, funny and great company. Every day, we could decide whether we wanted to go for early or all day drives, the day was tailored to the desires of the group. We also decided that we had the best vehicle - it could be open or covered and there was not a single 'do not step on the seats' sticker in sight (great for those extra viewing angles!) - unlike others we saw on our trips around the Mara.

All of this would have added up to a trip of a lifetime but the friendliness of the staff and their genuine concern to make sure we were getting the best of the experience really added to the trip. If you are going to the Mara - please consider this camp - you will have the safari of a lifetime!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveller2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
12.7 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#46 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#23 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sentrim Mara Camp
Sentrim Mara Camp
#74 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara

Property: Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Address: C14 Keekorok | Pio Gama Pinto Road, Westlands, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This uniquely situated luxury camp on the banks of the Talek River overlooks the mottled plains of the Maasai Mara, where vast herds of wildlife co-exist with the colourful Maasai people. Between June and October the Maasai Mara plays host to one of the most spectacular wildlife shows on earth the great annual migration of over a million wildebeest and zebra as they enter the Mara ecosystem from Serengeti in neighbouring Tanzania. Tipilikwani's tents enjoy river frontage and are decorated with warm, rich Maasai colours. The family tents have a stand alone bath tub in addition to showers. Excellent food, personalised service and traditional Kenyan hospitality further compliment the prime location. Game drives offer the unforgettable opportunity to enjoy the diversity of animals and birds living permanently in the Masai Mara, as well as many migratory species. Guests can also learn more about the Masai people, proud pastoralists and warriors, many of whom still retain their traditional nomadic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing