We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,572
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Karen Blixen Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,016
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Explorer Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,281
$1,194
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ngerende Island Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$477
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$948
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa(Olderkesi Private Reserve)
$8,760
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sentinel Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
36
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseagle viewtranstrek safarisflushing loohot showermasai staffcomfortable bedsmasai maramanfredsingingsleepecobushtentsguidelionslifekenya
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 38 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2016

I was there with my husband Roberto from 1 night in August. It was an amazing experience. The place is just fantastic, it looks like you are in the middle of the savannah with all the comforts. The tends are perfect, and during the night you can hear the animals all around. It's a fantastic feeling. We had an amazing dinner - and so lucky to be the only guests on that evening! - sat around the fire with the staff was great and we had a super breakfast, after our game drive early morning. After that, walking to Eagle View Basecamp from there was just fantastic! It's one of the best and authentic place we've ever been and would fly back there immediately. A huge thank you to all the staff over there for treating us so well and for letting us take away with us so many indelible memories! Lisa & Roberto

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016


Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and the time you took to share your review with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. We are so glad that you enjoyed our great tents set in a superb location, very friendly staff offering exceptional services, great food and the great experience. We will share your positive remarks and appreciation to all our staff who made your trip memorable. We hope we shall have the privilege to host you here once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Stayed here as part of a tour taken from Basecamp Explorer on 30th Aug'2016. Reached here at around 3:00PM after driving from there main camp at Talek. Me and my wife were very warmly welcomed by the manager ( a very young and wise boy), Sylanke. From the very first instance, I fell in love with the camp. It is total wilderness but in absolute luxury on tents. The views from the tent are mindboggling. It is what we expect to see in Masai Mara. Our Masai guards for the night, Nick and Mama, kept guarding us throughout the night so that we can sleep in total peace. Sylanke always presented a smiling face and always provided more than expected to please us. Hot water is provided if asked and you just have to appreciate their effort to give running hot water in the jungle. There are just 5 tents here and we were lucky that we were the only guest for that night. So we got all the attention!!!!!! Must visit if you want to experience magic in wilderness. Thanks Sylanke, Nick for making it a memorable night in my life. Will always remember you all with respect.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good. So don't worry!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joybanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your happy experience at Wilderness Camp. We are delighted to know that you and your wife had a wonderful time and that our team was able to cater to your needs during our stay. We will share your comments with the team to further encourage them to maintain the best services to our guests. We look forward to your next visit, hopefully in the near future.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

I spent two days on the Naboisho Conservancy as a guest at Basecamp Wilderness. Wow! The Conservancy seems to be meeting it's goals of habitat for large animals, restoration of a natural area, and allowing grazing where appropriate. Manfred guided me though my visit and admittedly the guide plays an outside role in how well the time goes on the Conservancy.

Wilderness Basecamp's initial impression is a sense of landing in the Garden of Eden and that sense never dissipated the entire time I was visiting. The tents are just beneath the western rim of Saddle Valley. With the tent unzipped, Giraffes seemingly floating lazily along the trees, baboons gliding through the grass, Wildebeest descending in long lines for a drink in the stream, I was immersed in the landscape. The immersion continued at night with lion roars, hyena barks and gazelle snorts echoing up and down the valley. The birds were welcoming the dawn each day.

Ok, so I visited on a shoulder season (highly, highly recommended) and I was the only guest in camp, so I undeservedly had 5 star service with an 8:1 staff:guest ratio, at least. The tents are luxury as the British must have invented it. Hot gravity shower, plumbing and solar power for lights and computers if you need them (I do). No detail was spared. The solar gain in the day rapidly disappears in the chill evening and between the campfire, the zipped up tent and the hot water bottles waiting in the bed, it is pampering I am not accustomed to.

Still, when I pointed out that three course international cuisine seemed to be removing me from a sense of East Africa, I was offered a full goat barbecued beneath an Acacia tree. I savored the opportunities to take dusk safari drives as well as walking safaris, protected by my companions on adventures I would never do alone and which are not options on the Masai Mara National Preserve.

At night, nothing but a screen and a security guard with a spear (who was mostly invisible) existed between the lions, hyenas, giraffes and I. And each morning the scat revealed just how close the animals come at night. Most of the time, the tent was open during the day and animals just wandered by. Sitting in my tent, dining in the main tent or out on the lawn, warming by the campfire or admiring the billion stars overhead at night, it was a magical two and a half days.

And after a hot shower, to stand there in the open, just as Adam likely did some years ago...

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
Thank VoiceDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Dear Guest,

Our entire team would like to thank you sincerely for finding time to write such positive remarks about our Wilderness Camp. It gives us immense pleasure to know that our services meet all your expectations. We are also glad to know that you loved our quiet location away from the crowds from the main reserve which is just how we like it too. We are also happy that you enjoyed all the animals coming through the camp during your stay. Your appreciation about our service and amenities are highly valued as guest satisfaction is our prime objective. We will certainly recognize Manfred and the entire staff for their great effort to make your safari more memorable. Thank you again for giving us an opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another picture perfect stay.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Our stay at Wilderness will be close to our hearts forever and I don't think anything could ever match it. The staff are absolutely amazing - not only in service but in their personal approach to guests! We arrived as guests and left as friends. Alfred, Cylanke, Dorobo and Team you made our trip unforgettable. We spent time with the team around the fire in the evening and really got to know them. They engaged our children and Dorobo taught them to climb trees, shoot a bow and arrow and has the most amazing sense of humour. Alfred you made us feel so special and a part of the family. We wanted for nothing and your service and friendliness exceptional. Cylanke you ensured everything ran perfectly and kept us laughing and entertained. The singing around the fire is the most beautiful thing I have ever heard. As Africans we are familiar with the bush and the animals and we had mentioned a few elusive animals that we wanted to see over and above the big 5 and incredible family of cheetahs that we saw. Cylanke and Alfred clearly communicated this to the guide and we were given the most amazing drive with Dorobo. He showed us bush babies, spring hares, bat eared foxes and Jackals. The most memorable sight was the baby Jackals in their den. The accommodation is superb and very comfortable, but the peace and relaxation of this camp is remarkable. We could easily have spent a week here. Thank you for making our three nights with you the most memorable holiday ever. Hopefully we will get the opportunity to return to Kenya and we would most definitely spend it with the Wilderness Team.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and the time you took to share your review with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. This camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, with ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast Savannah, no light pollution, and close to nature. Our focus is to provide an authentic safari experience, with all modern comfort, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We will definitely recognize our staff for their great effort in making your safari in Kenya more memorable. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Not quite knowing what to expect from the service or accommodation offered at Wildnerness Camp , we were more than impressed from the minute we were collected from the airstrip. Our very lovely Maasai guides made us feel very welcome and confident that their extensive knowledge and love of the bush would make for an interesting and informative 5 days. It only got better as we arrived at the camp and got to know a very attentive Manager and his equally helpful team. The bush tent was very comfortable and practical but basic enough to highlight the real camping experience. The Solar lighting, flushing loo and camp shower did serve our creature comforts. The food was very good, the soups exceptional and they offered many variations for food intolerances and preferences. For us, the highlight of Wilderness camp was the feeling of being part of the bush and how the staff were part of that. The a manger, the security, the trackers and guides, the housekeeper and the guests sat together around the campfire at night listening to the traditional Maasai storytelling and singing. We felt as though we belonged there with them . Magic Maasai !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78trix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We were honoured to host you and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your positive remarks about our service, food and comfortable accommodation facilities. Our aim is to ensure our guests enjoy a unique experience and we are glad to have met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our camp in the future.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews