We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only for honeymooners and first time safari travellers,excellent service and management”
Review of Mara Bushtops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Bushtops
Certificate of Excellence
UAE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“only for honeymooners and first time safari travellers,excellent service and management”
Reviewed September 23, 2009

It was our 3rd time being on a safari and we went there for the specific reason to see cheetahs and the animal migration.
It was really dissaponting that we got to see lions on our 4rth safari session!!! and we luckily managed to see a cheetah from a distance and only for 3min only once!!
I would recomend the place to first time safari travellers or honeymooners that would like the luxury and and the good service and not minding the animals that they see
.Safari wise it could be much better and professional.If you are going for a real safari experience dont go there.One other thing is that the location is outside the Mara reserve so you loose a lot of time of the safari getting actually to the gate of the reserve.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Safari21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
187
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Britain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

As soon as we were picked up from the aeroplane I knew we were going to be spoilt rotten. We were offered cool drinks before making the drive to mara bushtops and on the way say a whole family of giraffe! The game drives never failed to astound me as there is always something new and exciting to see, and with an experienced driver and spotter we all had our many questions answered. After a game drive we requested to have our hot tub filled and had drinks waiting for us with it. With such a wonderful view from our balcony and such a comfortable hot tub I have never been more relaxed. Mara bustops has an amazing way of merging nature and luxury. The location provides an amazing view and everyday we saw a variety of animals such as giraffes and elephants wandering across to the salt lick and water hole.
No holiday will ever beat this one, simply amazing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sploaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

It is hard to describe this camp highly enough without giving away and spoiling for you the suprise element built into every day. The service is outstanding and the staff make you feel as though you are the most important guest they have ever had!
We stayed in luxurious tents where wildlife passed by day and night and yet we felt perfectly safe. We were taken on comfortable but very exciting game drives by an incredibly knowledgeable and experienced ranger and his very talented masai spotter. After our game drives back to the camp for massages, hot tubs and drinks around the camp fire. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeidreEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Our rating: Camp - 5-star++ Even better than the photos; Location - Beautiful views surrounded by animals; Game experience - second to none, because of the excellent guides and spotters; Staff - friendly, non-intrusive and professional; Food - Brilliant.

This was a return trip to Mara Bushtops, we last visited in November 2008 and just had to go back! We were suprised at how different both the landscape and the game drives were between the two trips. Last year, when we flew into Siana, it appeared as green as England and the game was spread out over the whole area. We enjoyed many exciting game drives with Charles and Daniel, including some magnificent leopard encounters. This year's visit , at the end of July, took place during a dry period and the lush grass had turned golden, strangely reminiscent of the English countryside before the harvest. There were huge herds of zebra, wildebeest and buffalo stretching across the horizon and with this quantity of game there was no shortage of kills. The long grass perfectly camouflages the lions and this is when the skills of the Masai spotter and guide truly amaze you. A big thank you to Jackson and Ferdinand for such unforgettable close encounters, both in the Masai Mara National Reserve and in the Conservancy surrounding the camp, where our elephant sightings were the best ever! Since our previous visit, the Conservancy, developed in cooperation with the local Masai, has attracted in more and more wildlife. This makes the evening and night-time game drives thrilling experiences, and a real bonus as they are not permitted in the park. Darkness brings out different animals, which the spotter illuminates with a light from the vehicle. It was heavenly to return home to our gorgeous tent, 'Dik- Dik', with an awaiting hot tub, a bottle of chilled wine and even some delicious canapes. This is a typical example of Mara Bushtops' attention to detail, they seem to be always striving for to improve the experience.
There is no doubt that Mara Bushtops is luxury in the wilderness. However, the real reason to go is for the wildlife and this where Bushtops excels, because of their superb and highly qualified guides, driving what we think are the best safari trucks in Kenya.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadAboutMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

If your looking for a 5* location, 5* service and want to experience the beauty and wilderness of the Masai Mara first hand then booking a stay at Mara Bushtops is the thing to do. Me, my wife and teenage son were staying at a beach resort in Mombasa but wanted to experience a safari in the Masai Mara. The travel rep recommended Mara Bushtops so we booked a 2 night stay. Our short stay was simply awesome! After a short 2 hour flight from Mombassa, we were greeted by our hotel guide and Masai tracker at the airstrip and taken to the hotel. The hotel is perched on a hillside and is made up of a series of luxury "tents" which provide fantastic views across the Masai plains. When we were taken to our tent (called the "Hippo") I counted 5 giraffes in the immediate vacinity munching on trees.
There is so much I could say about Mara Bushtops....service was excellent (you even get butler service!), the quality of the tents superb, the restaurant excellent; the safari guide and tracker were highly skilled and took us on safari drives which provided insight into the amazing Masai Mara wildlife.
Three days was not enough and I have every intention of returning to Mara Bushtops. A 5" experience in every sense.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeze01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at Mara Bushtops for 5 nights in July for our honeymoon. The camp is wonderful. Verywhere is relaxed and serene and the staff are so friendly. Our tent, Buffalo, was gorgeous and we had lots of honeymoon terats during our stay. We had been told prior to travel that safari food is very basic and so were pleasantly surprised by the fine dining experience we received at Bushtops. During the game drives, our guide and spotter were excellent, tracking down the animals we were so excited about aseeing.
I really would reocmmend this dream homeynoon to anyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We travelled to Mara Bushtops for a 2 day stay from Diani Beach. There were 10 of us, 3 generations and what a wonderful time we all had.
From the moment the plane landed at the small airstrip and we were greeted by out landcruisers, our guides and Masai spotters we were in heaven. What an enjoyable and fantastic experience, one I hope we will repeat. Within the first 3 hours of our first drive (as we landed) we saw 4 of the big 5 and continued to see amazing animals and birds. On our return to the lodge we were extatic - such a special place - you cannot really describe how luxurious it all is. The 'tents' were amazing and the hot tub experience, just looking out over the plains and even the scary bits when you were zipped into the tent to hear a lion roar and a buffalo make its presence known where magical moments.
Thank you to all the staff at the lodge, our hosts, our Masai 'bodyguards' , our butlers and last but by no means least, to David our Guide who made our stay so very very special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HornchurchMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
15.2 mi away
Cottar's 1920's & Cottar’s Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920's & Cottar’s Bush ...
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#11 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
18.3 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bushtops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bushtops

Property: Mara Bushtops
Address: C14, Keekorok - Masai Mara Reserve | in front of the largest natural salt lick in the Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Bushtops 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The words "exclusive" and "luxurious" are often exaggerations: at Mara Bushtops they fit like a glove. Watching from your own 100 square metre private deck as an abundance of wildlife congregates around the adjacent salt lick is, literally, unforgettable. Having your butler draw your hot tub after a spectacular game drive is heaven while our award-winning safari spa takes Wild Luxury to new heights. Together, these experiences create an oasis of five-star luxury, blending peace with adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bushtops Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Bushtops Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing