We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Made our honeymoon.”
Review of Mara Bushtops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Bushtops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We went to Mara Bushtops for our honeymoon and I do not think we could have chosen a more perfect location.
Having never gone on safari before I was a bit apprehensive about staying in a tent, but at bushtops the only thing your lodge has in common with a tent is the canvas walls, that you butler puts up and down for you in the morning and evening. Our "tent" looked out over the salt lick, we arrived to a view of giraffes, zebra and warthogs. You came back in an evening from a long safari drive to a a filled hot tub and whatever drinks you have ordered, it was magical.

The only compliant about the restaurant is the quantity of food, but I suppose that was our fault for having 3 courses at every meal...but you couldn't help yourself, it was just so good, you could believe you were in a good French restaurant.

The staff were lovely, friendly, accommodating, but know when to give you time and space. You must take advantage of the free massages.

Our Driver/ guide and Masai warrior (yes a masai warrior comes out with you on safari) were brilliant, excellent at spotting and very good English.

I could go on and on about this place and spoil all the the little surprises, but I won't, I will just say that it is amazing and I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 343 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

The Mara Bushtops is one of the most amazing "hotels" we have ever stayed in, consisting of 12 purpose built tents which are about as far away from the traditional notion of camping as you can get.

Each tent is private and secluded and offers stunning views out over the Siena Conservancy which has been created by the team behind Bushtops. This means that although the entrance to the Masai Mara Conservancy is only a 5 minute drive away, you are actually situated right in the middle of your own conservancy where you can see game all day long if you so wish. From out tent/room/bed/hot tub we saw elephant, giraffe, zebra, impala, hyena, and buffalo amongst others.

I've titled this review "5 star luxury and service to match" as I think this sums up Bushtops. The hotel is contemporary and modern (Bulgari shower gels!) and the service discreet and efficient. We had breakfast brought to us every morning on our tent deck - coffee, croissants and giraffes while sitting in a dressing gown is a unique experience! The evening and lunch menus were also of a high standard and once again the service was excellent.

We were assigned a guide (Joseph) and a Masai spotter (James) for the duration of our stay (they picked us up from the small airstrip where we landed from Nairobi) and their experience and knowledge made our game drives around the Mara and the Bushtops (Siena) conservancies memorable. We were able to see all the Big Five, including a rhino during the last half an hour of our last drive on our last day. How James was able to see that tiny speck miles away, we will never know!

All in all an incredible experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yachts99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robsam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keentravelor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BusinessGuruLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank inthetravelbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.4 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
308 reviews
32.4 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#20 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
124 reviews
25.7 mi away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#24 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.5 mi away
Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Branson's Kenyan Safari Camp
Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Brans...
#37 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
152 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#77 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
15.2 mi away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bushtops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bushtops

Address: C14, Keekorok - Masai Mara Reserve | in front of the largest natural salt lick in the Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Bushtops 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The words "exclusive" and "luxurious" are often exaggerations: at Mara Bushtops they fit like a glove. Watching from your own 100 square metre private deck as an abundance of wildlife congregates around the adjacent salt lick is, literally, unforgettable. Having your butler draw your hot tub after a spectacular game drive is heaven while our award-winning safari spa takes Wild Luxury to new heights. Together, these experiences create an oasis of five-star luxury, blending peace with adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bushtops Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Bushtops Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing