We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Luxury in the bush!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Bushtops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Bushtops
Save
You added Mara Bushtops to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Luxury in the bush!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were unbelievably impressed with everything about Mara Bushtops! The incredible tents with what seemed like unlimited hot water and electricity were awesome! The views from our tent were incredible! We sat one morning and watched seven giraffe graze right in front of us! Our personal valet, Joyce was excellent! She made sure our every request was perfect. She even drew a hot bath for us on our veranda for when we returned from a day in the bush!
Our safari guide, Peter and spotter, Jacob were fantastic! One day they showed us the "big five" up close and personal in less than two hours. Our bush lunch was great! It was in a special spot that Jacob took us to. Great lunch and we had fun with a baboon who came in and was very curious about us and our food.
The manager, Lawrence did an excellent job. He greeted us every day at some point to ensure we were happy with everything and to enquire if there was anything he could to make our stay more enjoyable. All of the staff were excellent, very friendly and truly focused on customer service!
The wine cellar in the bush was excellent as well. We selected two bottles of fabulous South African wine to enjoy on our veranda while we laid in the hot bath enjoying the animals and the sounds. Simply perfection!
The restaurant setting and food was outstanding! The restaurant looks over a natural salt lick and water hole. As we were having lunch, we watched giraffe, impala, baboons, wart hogs, elephants, etc. come over right in front of us for a drink!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jackal room which was perfect. Total seclusion, but yet just a short walk to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
172
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is without a doubt the most luxurious "hotel" I've ever stayed in. The rooms are fabulous, the food sublime and the staff are all warm, friendly and eager to help in any way. There is free wifi, but it may not reach all the rooms, so you may have to use it in the reception area.

The camp itself is on a privately leased area of land on the edge of the Masai Mara. As noted in other reviews, there's a 20-30 minute ride in the land cruiser before you enter the national park. That is the only criticism I could possibly find.

The view from the room and the restaurant area is magnificent. You never know what animal you'll see next!

There is a nice looking pool, but since it's over 5000 feet above sea level it's significantly cooler than at the coast, so I didn't feel inclined to try it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The accommodation, staff, service and food were all first class. Our guide was not as informative as we had experienced at Serengeti Bushtops, but the game drives were excellent with plenty to see.

A few things to note: the camp is around a 20-30 minute bumpy ride to the Masai Mara Reserve, but there is plenty to see en route; once in the Reserve it was another 20-30 minutes to the main game viewing area (due the grazing animals preferring the shorter grass further from the Reserve entrance) - not sure if other camps are more centrally located; the mornings in July were very cold; there are a large number of animals in the immediate camp vicinity which was a real plus; we shared a vehicle here, whereas we had the car to ourselves at the Serengeti camp - if we had our time again, we would have pre-arranged our own vehicle so that we could determine our own schedule; there is a toilet at the entrance to the Reserve but none inside; we transferred from the Serengeti camp - you can only cross the border by land, making it a cumbersome trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I cannot rate this place highly enough. Aside from the fact that you can see the animals from your bed, there is a hot tub on your deck, which is filled for you so it is ready when you get back from along day on safari, drinks and nibbles at the ready too, and you have a masai warrior to escort you from your 'tent' after dark, they put a hot water bottle in your bed at night, the staff and lovely, happy and helpful, the food was great, the lodge/ tent area was huge and amazing......go there...please...just for me. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: We were in Kudu, good view of animals, but I think they were all equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teddyjennifluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at Mara bushtops camp and it was an amazing experience where you can feel the real Africa and freely roaming wildlife with no fences, the service and food was great, tent is nicely arranged and equipment with all necessary amenities, they stock bathroom with Bulgari toiletries.

as for safari, the timing were very flexible and you can opt for full day safari to Mara reserves, or bush walk and 3 hours safari around the private land of the camp.

I give Mara bushtops 5 stars with hesitations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have traveled many places in the world so we feel quite comfortable making bold comments about our time at the Mara Bushtops. First and foremost the staff are truly exceptional. No matter what the accommodations, in the case of going on safari to Africa, the staff can make the difference between an exceptional experience or just an OK experience. Kudos to the GM Lawrence for making us feel special and knowing we could call on him at any time. Our safari guide Charles and Masai spotter Sammy, were extremely knowledgeable and made extra effort to make sure we were comfortable (early morning drive had extra hot water bottles for us in the vehicle!) and always checked to see what we wanted to do. We echo the other reviews about the food, everything was fresh and delightful to the palate. Each evening our server greeted us with "I have good news for you" and then eloquently described the special for the evening. At times, we could not believe we in Kenya with the incredible food and service. Last but not least was our tent. We were in the Leopard Family tent and it was fabulous. Located on the far end of the camp, we enjoyed the private fire pit which came with a Masai guard who stayed around all night to stoke the fire and keep watch for animals. We would highly recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Mara Bushtops is simply outstanding. What exceptional service standards. We cannot wait to go back in a few years and very much hope the same helpful and charming staff are there. Also I would like to highlight the very high quality of food produced at every meal.
As a side note, we had our wedding here and cannot use enough superlatives to describe how helpful the team and management staff were in arranging a perfect event. We did not have to worry about a thing as everything was taken care of to the highest standards.
We will always be truly grateful for the hard work and effort put into making sure we had a perfect stay by every member of staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
15.2 mi away
Cottar's 1920's Camp
Cottar's 1920's Camp
#25 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spirit of the Masai Mara
Spirit of the Masai Mara
#59 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
8.7 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
18.3 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#60 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bushtops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bushtops

Property: Mara Bushtops
Address: C14, Keekorok - Masai Mara Reserve | in front of the largest natural salt lick in the Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Bushtops 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The words "exclusive" and "luxurious" are often exaggerations: at Mara Bushtops they fit like a glove. Watching from your own 100 square metre private deck as an abundance of wildlife congregates around the adjacent salt lick is, literally, unforgettable. Having your butler draw your hot tub after a spectacular game drive is heaven while our award-winning safari spa takes Wild Luxury to new heights. Together, these experiences create an oasis of five-star luxury, blending peace with adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bushtops Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Bushtops Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing