We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Truly wonderful experience, magical place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara Bushtops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Bushtops
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful experience, magical place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in the luxurious Leopard suite ('tent' is a totally inadequate word!) and the whole family voted Mara Bushtops as 'beyond amazing'! The accommodation, service and food was absolutely top class. Every need was catered for and the safari vehicles, guides and Masai ensured every day was a fantastic experience. We were very lucky in that the wildebeest migration had started - all I can say is wow!! The camp is situated right next to a salt-lick, so giraffe, baboons, zebra, elephant etc visit throughout the day and night, wonderful. Sincere thanks to the whole team for a simply brilliant time, we WILL be back.

Room Tip: Leopard tent is the biggest and best but is for 4 people so perfect for a family. In our view it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
181
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed between 2nd July and 5th July 2013.
We were greeted from the local airstrip by a guide and Masai warrior in the bushtops Toyota land cruiser. From this point on we were treated fantastically. We had an initial game drive before being greeted by the manager Georgot. He gave an informative welcome chat along with a refreshing cool towel and drink.

We were introduced to Geoffrey and Joseph our guide and Masai warrior who would look after us on our game drives for the next few days.

The accommodation and food was first class. Little touches of putting hot water bottles in our bed at night and on the seat of our land cruiser for early morning starts was great. The temperature at this time of year at night and early morning is quite chilly.
The camps vehicle like everything else about the camp is first class. The land cruisers are able to cope easily with the terrain unlike some other camps vehicle which are cramped and in some you have to stand up looking out of a roof hatch to see anything.
Bushtops don't over crowd you in their vehicles which hold 6 guest each having an outside seat so no blocked views. I never saw them put more than 4 in each vehicle unlike other who crammed people in.
The restaurant run by Stephen was excellent producing meals that would rival most major city restaurants in the Uk.
All round excellent service from staff who couldn't do enough for you. Would love to return one day. Thanks to all at the Mara Bushtops for an excellent start to married life for us both.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from our stay at Mara Bushtops where we also had our wedding.What a truly magical experience. Georget and his team offer a first class personalised service that met our every need. Our guides Alfred and Stanley ensured our safari's were memorable experiences at all times and they were fantastic company.The food is outstanding (thank you chef Phillip) accompanied by the best waiters you will ever meet- thank you Stephen, Joseph and Emilki. There is a butler service that makes your stay extra special, especially the hot tub and G&T on return from safari ( thank you,Joyce).Our wedding was everything we could have imagined with a magnificent Masai ceremony that we will always remember.A return visit is a must!

Room Tip: We stayed in dicdic tent which had amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushtops, Owner at Mara Bushtops, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you so much for this wonderful feedback on your recent stay and wedding at Mara Bushtops.
We are delighted that your wedding was everything that you could have imagined and that our team in camp made your stay so magical.
Wishing you all the best and we very much look forward to hosting you again hopefully in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Andy & Claudia Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for the 2nd time here because we love everything. The tent are the best we ever stayed in. Indoor + outdoor shower + hottub. The best bed we've had when we go on safari. They have a la carde menu (thanks chef Philip). Bushtops use open cars With love Space for the legs and everyone sitt comfortable and are able to take Perfect photos while sitting Down. We find it's a must. You can desite weather you want a hole day safari, a morning and afternoon safari. They have their own concervancy so you can also have gamedrive by night. You can eat bushbreakfast or bushlunch. We find that is Perfect. You can have a hottub after a hole day on safari. They have names on the tents: A = Antilope B = Buffalo I = Impala. They also have a pool With stunning view over the savana. We recoment it HIGHLY and we'll come back to this Place.

Room Tip: You have the same Comfort in each tent. You also have a Family tent. If you don't want to walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaStigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Bushtops is the best of both worlds! You get the offroad experience in their own conservancy and just 20 min to drive into the mara main gate. Brilliant staff! Lawrence we salute u, Charles our guide and james our Maasai spotter !! What an amazing experience! Pampered beyond belief, special touches, awesom safari car, amazing food, I don't know what more to say ! Thank you bushtops , you are the best!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldanoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had booked our second stay at the Mara Bushtops over the easter weekend, and took the liberty of booking the 2 bedroom leopard suite which occupies a prime position within the lodge and very near to the dining room.
Our experience was fantastic and we enjoyed every moment of our stay in the Mara Bushtops. The 2 bedroom suite was spacious with its own hot tub, outdoor dining and indoor living room along with the opportunity of taking your meals and massage in the suite.
The food and beverages was world-class even though we were vegetarians.
The service was exceptional which included an early morning light breakfast at 4am before the balloon ride.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 2 bedroom leopard suite especially if you are a group of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanjG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

After visting Mara Bushtops for my second time in three years I felt it was time I wrote a short review.

I do not know where to start. The hotel is incredible.

The rooms are beautiful. Comfortable beds, lovely indoor and outdoor showers, a large bath on the decking and an incredible view. The restaurants are brilliant, lovely food and a great selection of wines from their cellar.

Perfectly planned activities and game drives were the highlight. In my first visit I saw every animal and my second visit I saw all but the elusive Rhino!

The main reason I will continue to come back to this hotel is the world class staff. I have been lucky to stay at some of the best hotels around the world but I have never felt as welcomed as when I stayed at Bushtops. The guides and spotters are very knowledgeable and amusing (the days can be long without a laugh or two) and the rest of the staff are friendly and efficient. Last time I went they had the balance perfectly right between looking after us and giving us space.

I really cant speak highly enough of this hotel. I dont think anyone could leave dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JordanTorrilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
52.5 mi away
Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Branson's Kenyan Safari Camp
Mahali Mzuri - Sir Richard Brans...
#32 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
15.2 mi away
Cottar's 1920's Camp
Cottar's 1920's Camp
#27 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
18.3 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#30 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
32.5 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bushtops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bushtops

Property: Mara Bushtops
Address: C14, Keekorok - Masai Mara Reserve | in front of the largest natural salt lick in the Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Bushtops 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The words "exclusive" and "luxurious" are often exaggerations: at Mara Bushtops they fit like a glove. Watching from your own 100 square metre private deck as an abundance of wildlife congregates around the adjacent salt lick is, literally, unforgettable. Having your butler draw your hot tub after a spectacular game drive is heaven while our award-winning safari spa takes Wild Luxury to new heights. Together, these experiences create an oasis of five-star luxury, blending peace with adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bushtops Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Bushtops Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing