We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less Visited but Certainly Worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mara Triangle

Mara Triangle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mara is a beautiful but sensitive environment that can survive only if properly respected. Well-watered by the Mara River, enjoying abundant vegetation, wildlife and rainfall, its ecology would appear, at first sight, to be relatively resilient. It also appears to have withstood the erosive effects of huge numbers of visiting tourists extraordinarily well. There are signs, however, that the delicate balance between tourist numbers and wildlife populations cannot be properly maintained for much longer as evidenced by the reduction in the protective vegetation cover and the emergence of a series of dust bowls. Meanwhile, the Reserve is host to 95 species of mammals, amphibians and other reptiles and 485 species of birds. During the dry season (July to October) it also hosts a major concentration of migratory herbivores including about 250,000 zebra and 1.3 million wildebeest. Amongst the list of easy-to-view species are: gazelle, elephant, topi, buffalo, lion (Kenya's largest population), black rhino, hippo, hyena, giraffe, leopard and mongoose.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Less Visited but Certainly Worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Mara Triangle is a reserve adjacent to the National Reserve and is privately managed. The road seem like they are maintained with much more care, and since it is smaller and harder to get to, there are less cars zooming around it, yet is holds all the same animals as the national reserve. If you are in the Mara for three days or more, consider dipping into here even though it does cost a separate entrance fee.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank N0MADIC-BY-NATURE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    56
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malindi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mara River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Over the christmas holiday, had the chance to drive our clients around the nation for 7 days trip covering tsavo east, taita hills, tsavo west, amboseli and maasai mara....at the mara national reserve it was more than a dream come true to our clients....they were really impressed from the beggining to the last day and most interesting, every day was a different adventure and an experience to hold on..
This was crowned by the big game at the maasai mara game reserve and its unbeatable opportunities a mile after the other....thanks Mattheas for booking with Jambo Savannnah Safaris, we apprecieate your support and waiting to see you again soon for a bigger, longer trip to samburu. Maasai mara the best safari destination for those looking forward for huge wildlife encounters.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful safari!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

JT Safaris organized the most amazing safari to Maasai Mara. We drove from Lake Nakuru in a Land Rover and were not only able to see the open beautiful landscape but many animals on the way to Ashnil Mara Camp at the Mara River where we stayed two nights. We had our private "tent" with a hot shower and toilet. The surroundings were lush with a pool. The food in the restaurant was delicious. Our knowledgeable, polite, and good-humored guide Tito found us all the animals: a family of eight lions resting together, lion brothers (a hilarious scene: one crossed a river, the other went half way and returned cringing having had to step into water), a cheetah (who jumped on the roof of neighboring jeep), white and black rhinos, zebras, buffaloes, giraffes, elephants, various kinds of antelopes, hippos, crocodiles. Tito stopped at any place we wanted to photograph. Julius checked every day that we were fine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elisheva46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I just returned from my second trip to the Maasai Mara in Kenya and thanks to JT (Julius Tact) Safaris, it was absolutely wonderful. I visited the Mara Triangle for the first time and it was amazing. We saw a beautiful HUGE male rhino and lots and lots of lions and cubs. I highly recommend the Mara Triangle and I especially recommend booking with JT Safaris. They have the best prices and the best service of any safari company ANYWHERE!!

Thank you Julius and staff for another amazing trip of a lifetime!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DWiedrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
354 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A must visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

A great potion of the park, the northern most section of the Serengeti. All game available for viewing: crocodiles, elephants, lions, cheetahs, baboons, rhinos, hippos, zebra, etc. etc. etc.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mara Triangle also viewed

Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Mara Triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing