We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mara River
from $580.00
More Info
from $395.00
More Info
from $3,187.00
More Info
from $775.00
More Info
Reviews (1,792)
Filter reviews
1,792 results
Traveler rating
1,412
306
57
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,412
306
57
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great migration hippos and crocodiles migration crossing huge crocodiles wilder beast migration season picnic lunch their natural habitat national reserve three days bucket list amazing experience game viewing the reserve banks mara thousands
Filter
Updating list...
1,364 - 1,369 of 1,792 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We have just returned from a holiday in Kenya where we booked a safari for 3 days in Kichwa Tembo through Julius Nzumbi of JT Safaris( jtsafaris@yahoo.com) We have been coming to Kenya for 12 years and have stayed at Governor's Camp which we enjoyed but Kichwa Tembo really is somewhere special.
It has an idyllic setting, beautifully appointed roomy tents, incredible atmosphere, excellent food and service...it even has a swimming pool to cool off between game drives.Our guide was Alice, a beautiful Maasai girl with tremendous knowledge, charm and dedication. We saw all the animals we wanted ( including bat eared fox...a first) except leopard. We are going back next year to see a leopard with Alice.
This wonderful 3 days was made possible thanks to JT Safaris. We had more or less accepted that it was too expensive to fly up to the Maasai Mara from Mombasa in the middle of our holiday for a safari but that was before we discovered JT Safaris. We paid a fraction of the price to stay at KT that we paid through our travel company to stay at Governors' Camp 3 years ago and the service offered was appreciably better. We have booked already to go with Julius again to go KT for Jan 2012
Weny and Jeff

Date of experience: January 2011
Thank williamkCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Sept 2010 we stayed at the Turtle Bay Beach resort in Watamu which was in a wonderful location with exceptional service from all the staff. The hotel has an amazing relaxed atmosphere and there is so much to do from laying around the the pool/beach, snorkling on the reef, mango grove boat trips, safaris & extensive entertainment every evening. The most memorable part of our holiday was due to a guy called Abdul Raxman who ran Tunda Tours Safaris he orgainsed a fabulous trip to the Masai Mara where we stayed at the Governors Camp and even at very short notice he arranged a balloon trip at dawn for us. Again as with the hotel Abdul delivered exceptional service and even went out of his way to help us visit Watamu Village and the orphange which is an experience we will never forget. We would like to thank Abdul and the people of Watamu. John & Sonya

2  Thank happyhols456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

The Masai Mara is for sure one of the most spectacular nature parks in Kenia. And probably therefore also one of the most visited ones. This can easily been seen by the fact that a lot of the streets have a tarmac surface. Most likely because of that a lot of cars can be seen as well.
But this not only has a down side. As soon as you see a couple of cars stopped somewhere aside the street you can expect that there’s something to be seen. This way we managed to watch a couple of lions and a even a cheetah.

During the period of the great migration uncountable numbers of wildebeests, zebras and antelopes can be watched on their way through the Savannah. A very special spectacle is the crossing of the Mara river where usually more than just one Wildebeest serves as a “snack” to a couple of crocodiles waiting to be served ;-). If you’re lucky you can spot a wildebeest becoming victim of nature’s rules … und you’re right in the middle

1  Thank agery4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We booked a 14-day migration safari from Tanzania to Kenya through Skyview of Africa Ltd. Primarily, our main focus was to witness and capture the migration of wildebeests. Our guide, Sam Peku, had a good mastery of Mara plains and the movement of the herds of beests. We did game drives in addition to staking out on the banks of Mara River. Our patience paid off when the beests arrived in droves on the banks of Mara River and took the deadly plunge into the crocodile-infested river. Our guides in Tanzania and Kenya were incredibly experienced and have an uncanny ability to spot even the tiniest of animals, so that we didn't miss anything in the survival of the fittest in Serengeti and Masai Mara plains. Skyview of Africa Ltd impressed us with their timely-response to our emails, great choice of lodges and affordable price, way below the quotes we got from 3 travel agencies we had contacted in Europe.

4  Thank Linda415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We went on a great safari with Africa Veterans this summer. My boyfriend and I had been travelling North up from South Africa and we were short on time, but we really wanted to see the Masai Mara savannah. We were totally lost as to which company to book our safari with. Cost was a consideration for us, so we were going to join a group tour. As luck would have it, we ran into a traveller who had just come from doing a safari, and who recommended Africa Veterans to us. So at the last minute we decided to book a private safari with them. It was the best decision we could have made. Our guide Martin was fantastic. Friendly, professional and genuine, he really made the trip. We saw all the animals we could have hoped to: lions, cheetahs, leopards, crocs, hippos, elephants...

Because our guide was so fantastic, we promised to post here and let other travellers know about his company. We heartily recommend them!

http://www.africaveterans.com/home/

4  Thank Kirstin029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews