We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wildebeest crossing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara River

Mara River
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wildebeest crossing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

better in real life than the best National Geographic film - if you get the chance try to visit when there is the possibility of seeing the migration. Do not base your whole trip on this though as we met others who had and did not see any river crossings and were disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPWRDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    223
    46
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Lots of game, surreal breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We came along and over the Mara River on our way into the park. The next morning, after a great game drive, we had breakfast by the river, not far from where two male lions had loped past us minutes earlier. Lots of hippos in the river and a superb breakfast. No point in the balloon rides - we did much better in our mini-van as we could go where the lions, elephants, hyenas etc actually were rather than drift with the breeze.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
305 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“great hippo and crocodile viewing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was a nice stop during our game drive to see the hippos and crocs. What a sight to see where the wildebeast cross to make the migration, but none seen during our stop. We saw any many hippos in and out of the water and had a nice lunch watching the river.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank brentsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hocking Hills
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Epic Mara River Gnu Crossings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We visited Masai Mara last September and luckily this coincided very well with wildebeest migration especially along the Mara River with exciting Mara River crossings. Masai Mara teemed up with large concentrations of wildlife especially the Wildebeests, Zebras and Thompson's Gazelles in their hundreds of thousands strewn all over the Mara plains. The wildebeests crossed the Mara River in droves, soaring as fast as possible to escape being preyed on by the crocodiles in wait. Mara River also teemed up with Crocodiles and Hippos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank McDonaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Animal Endangerment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

During the afternoon of November 16, we were on an Intrepid tour of the Maasai Mara National Reserve. We had been specifically warned that we would not go off the road in search of the animals because Intrepid maintains a firm stance on preservation and maintaining a stable environment for the animals.
During the afternoon we saw many tour companies not abiding by this very specific and worthwhile rule, which we later learned was actually law. We saw vans get so close to the animals that even via binoculars we could see the animal (once a leopard, once a cheetah,once a lion) was visibly stressed and upset.
We took names of the tour companies, Acorn Travel, Rhino, Private Safaris, Jockey Tours and Explore Kenya Safaries (a Nivea company) were all perilously close to the animals we were observing.
Sadly, when the game rangers came, nothing happened. Our guide told us to assume the rangers were being bribed as nothing transpired and it happened repeatedly throughout the afternoon.
My heart broke as we watched these animals attempt to go on with their lives being hunted and observed at horribly close proximities. I understand that it may not be the norm for park rangers to be bribed, but there is no other explanation to be had.
I would also like to take the opportunity to tell tourists that while it may seem thrilling and exciting to be so close to these beautiful creatures, you are doing them a great disservice by not speaking up to the driver and insisting that they remain a respectful distance. Mankind is doing it's part in the fields of extinction and destroying their habitat, be part of the solution, not part of the problem.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shann0n_M_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mara River also viewed

Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Mara River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing