We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mara River
from $389.00
More Info
from $580.00
More Info
from $1,980.00
More Info
from $2,765.00
More Info
Reviews (1,763)
Filter reviews
1,361 results
Traveler rating
1,074
229
45
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,074
229
45
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great migration hippos and crocodiles migration crossing huge crocodiles wilder beast picnic lunch migration season their natural habitat three days national reserve game viewing the reserve an amazing experience banks mara thousands life
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,361 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Anticipation waiting for the wilder beast to cross the river was an awesome experience. And so many animals.

Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

having seen a lot of wildlife on the Mara Plains , we decided we just had to drive toward the river .We were also told that some of the Zebra and wildebeast were still crossing the river this year .
yes , we did see many many hippos in the river and one huge crocodile not far away from them .An amazing sight !
storks , kingfishers and geese were some of the birds seen there .
its quite a drive , but then we had a very knowledgable driver , who made the journey interesting .
for a wild life lover , the Mara river cannot be missed .

Thank Bhavni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the fascinating Rivers in the world!
The Wildebeest crossing fascinates me. They are worth going to a full day game drive to watch.

Thank Odyssey11976279233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic experience just wow .
I have dreamt of this trip all my life and I can’t believe I’ve now done it

Thank Mediumdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Mara river is the place everyone has to visit, if you love Africa. Hippos, crocodiles and the banks of the river where you can see paths of the animals.

Thank Игорь К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

In a 2 hours game drive, we saw so many animals in its own environment and it was just incredible. We did a total of 3 game drives. We thought we have seen everything we aimed for. Long and behold, another amazing surprise was around the corner. The only downside was there were many safari jeeps hovering the animals once they were located. Perhaps the government will regulate the traffic down the road. The trip was absolutely worth the 6 hours rough ride from Nairobi to Maisa Mara national park. Do bring a face mask. The road is very dusty. The fine dust filled the air.

Thank FYL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The long winding Mara river cutting across the endless savannah of Masai Mara, is the life line for the diverse animals which it sustains, also the few camps located on its banks are ideal setting to view game and hippos and crocs and some birds too.

Thank satish s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Must see the Mara River it's a great site of ample wildebeest crossing while crocs try to kill. Great place to see nature at it's best and take all the photos. Highly recommended during migration.

Thank HK1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After having visited Kenya and the national parks for some 18 years I had never actually encountered the beauty and vastness of the actual migration.
It was such big tick on the bucket list and days that I shall never forget !
Seeing the 1000’s of zebras and wildebeest crossing the Mara River was quite a sight as I had only ever seen it on the tv or film but never encountered such masses of animals crossing the river to greener pastures.
The river was full of hippos and the crocodiles were lurking for their prey. The river had several carcasses floating and waiting to rot for the crocodiles to savour! Caribou storks, hyenas jackals and other scavengers were all not to far away too.
The animals were beautiful but the amount of them were indescribable.
Not only did we spend hours in the safari vehicle taking in this annual phenomena but on the last day took a balloon safari from Fig Tree Camp over to the Mara River and captured even more beauty from the air seeing a hyena kill and several lions waiting to hunt.
What a joy !
Nature is amazing

1  Thank 23Mikey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a destination on one game drive. We drive to the gates that led to the Mara triangle, and had a picnic lunch by the park office (yay washrooms!) amidst tricky vervet monkeys and baboons that will steal your lunch if you aren’t vigilant.
Right by thebridge there are hippos. You can hire a ranger to take you on a walk by the river where you can see more hippo families and a few crocodiles.

Thank laxjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews