We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Nearby Hotels
Leopard Hill(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$500
$394
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$370
$315
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$165
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$247
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$196
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$166
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveler rating
578
63
16
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
63
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior viewchef georgegame drivesresident warthogsprivate airstripmorning wake up callinfinity poololoololo gatemara triangleour waiterhot water bottlessouth africablack rhinogreat migrationsafari experiencedream come trueour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 662 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed here at the end of October on a 3day - 2 night trip from Mombassa which we booked through Julius JT safaris - who we thoroughly recommend.
Kichwa Tembo is suitable for all - great but unobtrusive service - the food was wonderful - the position of the camp with views across the Mara is perfect we could not fault anything.
Sammy - our guide - was fantastic, he was highly knowledgeable and worked so hard to make sure we saw as much as possible.
We had planned this once in a lifetime trip ' to do Kenya' - but rest assured we will go back - thank you Kwicha Tembo - Sammy and Julius Tours

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveladdicts007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Kitchwa Tembo lodge is superb. The food and service were second to none. We booked throught JT Safaris and thought we were getting Fig Tree Lodge. However, the brilliant Julius (who we booked Tsavo east/West with last year) gave us a wonderful surprise and booked us Kitchwa Tembo. The lodges are wonderful and the pool (fresh water) is VERY refreshing!! (some might call it bloody cold but after a hot safari it's lovely!!). It's only 5 mins from the Mara and the 5.30 start is made very bareable by the early morning wake up call with fresh coffee served in your tent. Food is superb and you even got at hot water bottle at night!! We had a lovely surprise on the last night and had our meal served outside our lodge - candles, lanterns, the lot!! Had breakfast out on the Mara every day and saw just about everything - Elephants and lions galore, a baby Zebra being born, Wildebeest getting shredded by Crocs on the big migration (Wildebeest as far as the eye could see) and two Lions bonking were just three of the many highlights!!! Cant recommend this lodge or JT Safaris highly enough!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stayed at Kichwa Tembo for 3 days and 2 nights at the end of October 09. We did an air safari from Mombassa arranged with JT safaris( who, by the way, are also brilliant) We were in tents 3&4. The tents are fabulous , and have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The view from the tent over the Masai Mara is stunning - especially at 6 in the morning as the sunrise glows through the mist on the plain, and warthogs, antelope and giraffe can be seen slowly walking across. As a hot air ballon gently glided over the plain, and a masai warrior in full regalia wandered past, we were treated to hot tea of chocolate in our tent by our helpful steward. A memory that will stay with me forever.

The wildlife in the Mara is abundant and stunning. The open jeeps give fantastic viewing, and get you through some pretty rough terrain. the were never more than 6 in our jeep, and our guide, Benidict, was very skilled at getting us to some of the more interesting sites and animals. We saw so many animals that it is impossible to list them all! Seeing Lions chasing down a baby water buffalo was amazing.

The service at Kichwa Tembo is perhaps a little OTT - we had really pushed the boat out for this trip, and we are not used to luxury. There were so many staff, who were unfailingly welcoming and friendly, but it felt a little too much at times, as were were welcomed to everywhere constantly. Maybe the management have overdone their staff training in this area - but maybe this is just me, not being used to such a high standard of service?

I read with some suprise that others have criticised the food on occassions at this camp. All I can say is that whilst we were there, the food was first class. There was evening entertainment one of the nights we were there, - some Masai Warriors performing a dance, this was fun. However, by Ten in the evening, all is very quiet and peaceful - very welcome when you have such early starts. We attended the talk given by Lapore or 'John' in the afternoon - this was very interesting, and well done. We did not have time to visit the local Masai village, which I suspect will be a lifelong regret for me. However, the safari drives were the main reason for our trip, and these were outstanding.

The hotel pool is small but beautiful, with fantastic views over the Mara plain, however, we did not have much time to use it - I wish we could have afforded to stay at Kichwa Tembo longer!

The camp has its own airstrip nearby - this is handy as there are no long transfers. It was fun on the return leg to watch Benidict chase off the zebra from the runway - not something you see everyday! ( well, maybe Benidict does!).
Generally we had an amazing stay here, and would recommened it highly to anyone who can afford to treat themselves to this unforgetable all round expereince.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yummymummyPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed here from 7th to 9th of October & had an amazing time! We had booked this from the UK with Doc from Kenyan Adventures & Beyond (please see separate review on him & his company - will not bother using again).

Our flight from Mombasa took just over 2 hours & landing on the small dirt strip was an experience, especially with all the wildebeest strolling around. Our guide Sammy asked if we all wanted to have a small game drive on the way to the camp, which we all agreed to.

Once we arrived, we were shown to our tent. Wow, it was amazing & certainly not my idea of roughing it. It had everything you could need, a great shower with plenty of hot water each day, comfy beds & a proper toilet.

On our first afternoon, we had lunch then went out for a proper game drive, where we saw all the big 5 on our first day - incredible! Sammy is incredibly knowledgeable & has eyes like a hawk when it came to spotting the animals.

The camp was very quiet, so for the whole time we were there, it was just the 2 of us & Sammy in our 4x4, which meant we had more time to spend looking for the animals we wanted to see & could go out on drives at a time that suited us.
It was great waking up to fresh coffee & biscuits each morning & sitting watching the wildlife go by out on the Mara. The resident warthogs & mongeese were very cute!

The food was great & there was so much of it you were spoilt for choice. All of our meals were served alfresco by the bar & the drinks were very reasonably priced. After dinner each evening, we went back to our tent with a nightcap & sat outside listening to the sounds of the animals, it was so peaceful. Emmanuel our room steward made up our beds each evening with hot water bottles & turned our bedside lights on so we didn't have to stumble around in the dark. He also left little notes on our pillows for us with things like sleep tight on them:)

All of the staff were really helpful & friendly & couldn't do enough for you to make sure your stay was a truly memorable one.

The highlight of our trip was Sammy finding a pride of lions that had a 7 week old lion cub with them & the leopard. & Francis arranging dinner outside our tent on our last night & decorating the tent with flowers & kerosene lamps.

Overall, this was the highlight of our holiday to Kenya & when we return to Kichwa Tembo, we will book directly with them & arrange our own air transfer from Mombasa.
A big thank you to Sammy our fantastic driver / guide, Francis our waiter, Emmanuel our room steward, Esther the ever smiling hostess & all the other staff there for such a warm & friendly welcome to a fantastic camp in the Mara. We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobofraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

killer pool here, and the manager Niall is a great guy. he let us use his camera because ours broke, and we still cannot thank him enough for it. the bar, campfires at night, hanging by the pool, our guide Erick, were all wonderful. Frederick, our helper was also a sweet guy who wanted to make us so happy he set up a romantic dinner on our stoop the last night there with lanterns and roses. it was great.

my only tip for this place is to maybe speed up the meals a little. it would be nice to come back and have a brunch where all the food was ready when you got there so you could eat and go back to your room and crash instead of waiting for a 5 course meal. sometimes its nice to just have a quick bite, but I know that your heart was in the right place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdoggiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews