We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent game viewing, comfortable accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent game viewing, comfortable accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the &Beyond Kichwa Tembo tented camp. Having stayed at an &Beyond property in South Africa previously, we were comfortable with the &Beyond brand and had such a good time previously that we did not consider any other companies.

We camp itself is large, with around 40+ tents. "Tents" is a misleading description for the accommodations, as aside from the "tent" structure, everything inside was like real lodging - from the fully functioning toilet, to the shower with lots of water, to the excellent toiletries, and the king size comfortable bed. There was plenty of closet space as well. We stayed in a luxury tent, which included power outlets. It was a 5-7 minute walk to the main dining area. However, considering this is pretty much your only exercise while on safari (it's not like you're out walking in the bush with the animals), we didn't mind at all. From our porch, we could see hippos, elephants and zebras grazing just past the camp's fence.

The food was very good. At breakfast and lunch, it was buffet style, with plenty of selection and a mix of protein, veggies, fruit, dessert, etc. Each table had a butler who took care of your drinks, etc. At dinner, the salad course was buffet, but the main course was served by your butler. I was unsure as to how the food would be as it's hard to do buffet style well, but the food surpassed my expectations. The nightly soups were particularly delightful.

Finally, and most importantly. . . the game drives. We had an excellent guide named Benedict. He was excellent at spotting animals and answered questions patiently. Although the migration moved early this year, we did 2 daylong safaris to the border with safari. During our four days on safari, we saw the big 5, plus cheetahs with freshly caught prey, hyenas with pups, two separate lionesses with 4-6 cubs each and lions and freshly caught prey. We also saw a leopard hunt a meerkat! In addition, we saw TWO river crossings, which was exceptional given that there were only a few thousand wildebeest left.

While you may not get the same level of luxury / service as some other smaller &Beyond camps, Kichwa Tembo still deserves 5 stars. The level of service was excellent, and its location in proximity to the migration is unsurpassed. The guides are excellent and will get you to see the most exceptional animals. I would recommend this camp without hesitation.

Room Tip: We didn't mind the 5-7 minute walk to the luxury tents, though if you are older or less able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    58
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
161
227
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, good food, lots of animal viewing in close vicinity to the camp, beautiful area, good vehicles, comfortable beds, good shower. Only drawback can be if you have a noisy neighbour as tents are very close to each other.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacaranda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A beautifully appointed camp. We were in the luxury tents which as has been mentioned before is a long long way from everything, best to have company when going back to the tent at night ! Once at your tent though the feeling of peace and quiet is wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and have all the good quality toiletries you could wish for and for the ladies a hair dryer which not all camps have. The dining and bar area are relaxing and comfortable. The food here was the best of our trip , well presented and very tasty. As for location I have been used to staying in the Mara Triangle and wondered what this area would be like for game .It was interesting and certainly no shortage of animals. We definitely got the feeling that the staff were there to make your experience the best it possibly could be. Our driver was called Daniel and he was fantastic . I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeandphi1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield,CT
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I joked to my kids that the only way I would ever go camping is if we could find a tent with an en suite bathroom. Well I found it! The tents are wonderful. Beds really comfortable, and a hot water bottle is popped between the sheet each evening. Excellent bathroom. Was not expecting a full size shower, sink and flushing toilet! Food not that great. My picky 11 year old survived on french fries and bowls of custard. There weren't that many choices...so if you go with kids maybe pack snacks. We went for a full day safari and the picnic they provided that day was actually the best food we had during our four days at the camp. But food aside, it was still an amazing experience. Did the sunrise balloon ride and highly reccommend that. Had a fantastic, fearless guide (Wilson), who would suddenly drive off road to view wildlife, with the command "hold on". Great fun. Stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edogfairfield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Kichwa Tembo for two nights / 3 days. We flew into the Masai Mara from Nairobi. As we landed we saw our ranger (Meme) and our jeep waiting for us in isolation plus elephants, zebra etc which was simply breathtaking. A lovely touch was that Meme had set up a table with tea/coffee and some snacks in the middle of the Mara before we drove to the camp which was a short 10 minute drive away.

The Kichwa Tembo camp is very comfortable. We had one of the tents which was very comfortable with an ensuite shower and toilet. Meals were served at a central restaurant and bar area. There is also a nice pool.

Our ranger, Meme was simply great and very professional and experienced. We managed to see the Big4 but the leopard remained elusive....an excuse to go back I guess!

The camp was very comfortable and is going through significant refurbishment and will become even better.

We went to a local Masai village which was OK but a little commercialised in truth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I have experienced &Beyond before, in South Africa and India, so the quality of the propery and their service didn't come as a surprise to me. It was predictably exceptional, if you know what I mean.

We were part of a large corporate group that occupied all of Kichwa Tembo and more for three nights. And what fun it was.

The great thing about the property is that they have so much of their private reserve that one can have an extensive game drive even without entering the national park. This enables very early morning or night drives in the dark. In fact some of our best "moments" occurred outside the Park area.

The &Beyond properties are best in class but what sets them apart is the people. Right from the lodge manager to every person who had to take care of us, we only experienced warmth. A smile here, a song there to celebrate a birthday, an unexpected twist in your itinerary -- Kichwa had all that for us.

We had two wonderful rangers Benson and Alice who took us around over 6 safari drives. Their knowledge of the Mara is intimate and they can customise the drives to suit your viewing goals. We had the most amazing experience - watching a couple of lionesses stalking a dazzle of zebras, then eventually the lead lioness killed a zebra and the entire pride feasted on the kill before a pack of hyenas threatened and drove the lions away.

There is no doubt that Kichwa Tembo is expensive but there isn't also any doubt that it's worth the money you spend. Go for it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SriniSRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botucatu, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is well runned by &beyond. The tents were very nice. The food was not very good. All meals were ok. But, besides that everything was great. Our ranger was perfect! I would recomend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
28.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
3.8 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#26 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Property: andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing