We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent!!!! More than one could ever imagine!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!! More than one could ever imagine!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our first time to Masai Mara! Kichwa Tembo has the best possible staff! We were treated like kings and queens. The sleeping arrangements were of utmost superiority! The meals were fresh, delicious and obviously made from scratch. Our tour guide Carlton was the most incredibly knowledgable individual! He instinctively knew where to go for us to see amazing animals up close! He would take us to where we could get wonderful photos of animals up close. He even got us up close to lion pups. Thank you Carlton!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is superb as you are protected by Masai Mara men.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zebraroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    56
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
141
215
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first experience of Africa and it could not have been better. We were warmly welcomed, enjoyed a fantastic 4 nights, managed to see the Big 5 in our first 3 hours (a feat the even surprised our wonderful guide, Timothy) and they gave us a surprise 20th Wedding Anniversary dinner at our tent, complete with special cake, music and dancing. The grounds were stunningly beautiful, the pool incredible and the staff were just magic. Edward, our butler, was simply awesome, as were so many of the staff. Both of us also enjoyed the fact that there was limited cellphone and/or internet coverage as the last thing we wanted to see were people on phones and/or computers. This is a holiday, not a work stop!
We could not have been happier. It was magical and we look forward to returning one day soon.

Room Tip: Get a site that overlooks the savannah. It is magic. And USE THE POOL! It was so special and refr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

A wonderful experience from the moment I was picked up from the airstrip greeted with tea or coffee a selection of cookies and nuts before being driven to Kichwa. I was greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and shown to my tented accommodation, which was very clean and comfortable with a lovely powerful shower.My first game drive was the same afternoon I arrived. A big thank you to Benson the guide/driver who went out of his way for me to see as much as possible and I managed to see the big 5 and more. I was looked after by Simon who supplied tea & cookies every morning before the game drives.Kichwa Tembo was a wonderful experience with fabulous friendly staff, excellent accommodation,food and in a beautiful setting.Experience that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level Contributor
451 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

After having read the recent reviews of this resort, I had to wonder if we stayed at the same place. We just returned from a two week safari in Kenya and Kichwa was the 3rd tented camp on our journey. In no way was it better or even up to par with any of the prior three or one later on this trip. Our arrival was met with nonchalance by the staff, totally different from our other experiences. Our tent was ok but nothing special and there were no electric outlets to charge our cameras. In addition, we were placed in a room with twin beds instead of a double as we had requested. The lighting was so dim that reading was impossible. The bathroom included a very nice open marble shower. It gave a touch of luxury until the shower was actually turned on and the large but quite dated shower head threw water over about a third of the bathroom floor and required a couple of towels to clean up.

The staff was not unfriendly, but provided nowhere near the hospitality that we had become accustomed to at previous camps. One nice touch was free use of a computer. However, the internet network was down and no one knew how to fix it or even seemed to care. We were told to “come back later and maybe it will work then”. It never did.

There were warthogs running all over the grounds which I guess was cute, until you had to walk through their droppings on the way to the meals which were served outside on the lawn. The food at all the meals was very good, and for a change even the water was included.

The reception/gift shop area had a charming feel. Also, the grounds and the pool area were also very attractive. There were hammocks on the grounds just outside the tents which also was a nice touch. Finally, the views from the grounds of the resort over the savannah were great and it was possible to see a lot of wildlife from the tent area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked a 4 day/3 night trip with &Beyond for our family of 5. We arrived in Nairobi from Dubai and were greeted at the airport and taken to the Norfolk for one night. The next morning, a driver picked us up and took us to the Wilson Airport for our 50 minute plane ride to the Kichwa Tembo airstrip. Our fantastic guide, Daniel, met us at the airstrip and our safari experience began! It is just a short drive to the camp, but it was really our first game drive. We saw at least a dozen animals along the way. The camp was perfect for a safari experience. There were warthogs, mongooses and monkeys all over the camp. The tents are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We paid extra to have electricity in our tents (I wanted to be able to dry my hair) but, if you didn't they had a charging station in the bar and hairdryers in the restroom by the bar. The food was good and the staff was fantastic! Everyone is very friendly and they make you feel very welcome. They were not busy when we were there (Jan 9-12) so we were the only 5 in the vehicle for all of our game drives. The game drives were unbelievable and Daniel was our guide for all of them. Daniel was so knowledgeable and made the experience all the more memorable. We also did a balloon safari one morning that included breakfast on the Masai Mara. Great fun! This was our first safari, so I can't compare this camp to others, but I loved the entire experience and would recommend &Beyond to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1happytraveller222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our family of 5 (3 generations) treated ourselves to a 3-day break at Kichwa Tembo camp, flying from Malindi. We had been to the Mara many times before, and this trip was as good, if not better, than any. To reiterate a previous reviewer, the staff were exceptionally good - without exception. They were professional, friendly, courteous and made us all feel special and welcome. Our game guide - a young lady - was impressive: so knowledgeable and aware of our interests, and she drove brilliantly, manoeuvering a heavy land rover in thick black cotton mud! The food at the camp was the best we have ever eaten at a safari lodge in Africa, and way exceeded our expectations. The attractive swimming pool is beautifully situated and was enjoyed by the children. We also saw a delightful amount of game, including a pair of rare wild dogs hunting, so we were thrilled! All in all, we would happily return to Kichwa Tembo when we next visit the Mara.

Room Tip: The first set of standard tents (1 - 13) are on an open field nearest the pool and dining area. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have spent a good deal of my life in Africa, having lived in Kenya, Tanzania and Ethiopia, and as a result been on countless safaris with numerous lodges in these countries. One thing I can say about my experience at kichwa tembo is that you will never come across staff as courteous, welcoming and helpful as those at kichwa. We were there for 4 days and enjoyed every moment. The tents are wonderful, I would recommend going for the luxury tents vs the classic ones as there are no plug points in the classic one (you have to go to the lounge to charge your things) and the toilet and shower are separate in the luxury tents. The food was so delicious, usually buffet. The views are amazing (although I've stayed in lodges with much better views - you can't have everything!) if you're looking for a personalised experience with GREAT service I would highly recommend kichwa tembo. I cannot stress how superb the staff are! And our safari guide was probably the best guide we've ever had in the 12 years we've lived in Africa.

Room Tip: I would recommend the luxury tents, they're more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marux23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
28.1 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
28.7 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#15 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
22.9 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Property: andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing