We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars relaxing Tented Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

5 stars tented camp with fantastic vue for Masai plains.
Food - Excellent
Tents very good and very confortable
Very relaxing and quiet tented safari Camp.

Room Tip: Tents 1 to 11 with fantastic Masai Mara plains vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lion02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 637 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband, our 20 year old son and I spent 3 nights at Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp last week (Aug 18 -21). The trip was organized through & Beyond, a South Africa company that owns the camp. Our total experience was extremely positive and we recommend the Kichwa Tembo camp in particular, and the & Beyond company more generally -- with no reservations.

The total experience was extremely positive -- starting from the time we first approached & Beyond to set up the trip. & Beyond assigned us a travel support person who helped organize everything from flights from Nairobi to the camp, to an overnight stay at a luxurious hotel in Nairobi (the Norfolk), to 3 wonderful days in Kichwa Tembo. Since I had never gone on a Safari before I had a lot of questions and the representative responded quickly (via email exchanges) to all questions and concerns. The level of service was amazing.

The Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara tented camp is very luxurious. (The website provides an accurate description and pictures of the facilities) We stayed in the most 'basic' tents offered -- which were perfectly luxurious. Tents were of ample size, with comfortable beds, sufficient electric lights, and a nice shower -- with plenty of hot water.

The meals were all outstanding as well. The food was fresh, plentiful and very well prepared. The chefs particularly excelled at desserts.

The Safari drives were exhilarating -- Masai Mara has an abundance of wildlife-- and we got to see something new and interesting on each drive. We got to see four of the 'big five' ( lions, rhino, buffalo, elephant) as well as a wide range of other mammals(Giraffes, monkeys), birds, and reptiles (Crocodiles). Our driver guide spoke English well, was very knowledgeable, and went out of his way to answer questions and respond to our requests.

Finally, important to us, there was good wireless internet connection in the main lodge, allowing us to maintain contact with the outside world between safari drives.

I was very impressed with the level of organization and commitment to service of & Beyond and am likely to book additional safaris with them at other locations.

Room Tip: We visited a Masai village which I recommend. My son enjoyed bargaining for souvenirs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMRBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed here for our honeymoon and were blown away by everything this place has to offer. The drive from the landing trip to the lodge was a sign of things to come as we saw loads of animals - zebra, giraffe, etc against a beautiful masai mara backdrop. Upon arrival, we were relieved of our bags and given fresh lemonade and a cool towel. Our tent was a standard one but had everything we needed and more - absolutely lovely tent - very spacious and not too close to other tents. We had a little balcony and lots of luxuries inside (see photo). As it was our honeymoon, we had champagne and rose petals in the room on our first night and a lovely note from the hotel. The wake up calls each morning were very thoughtful with tea/coffee and biscuits being brought to your tent. Staff were so friendly and kind and we sat outside for breakfast and dinner every day in a garden area which overlooked the beautiful national park. It really was a breathtaking view. Pool area was gorgeous too. Really can't fault this place! Our safari guide was called Wesley who really made our entire holiday. He took us out for 2 full days and we saw so much thanks to his expertise. Can't recommend this place enough - would love to go back in future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The tents were lovely-luxurious and perfectly appointed. Loved having early morning coffee and cookies quietly placed inside with a just loud enough "Jambo" to wake us up pre-safari. Our guide was absolutely skilled and experienced-he showed us incredible examples of Masa wildlife, and was super knowledgeable about every plant and animal we passed. The cuisine was fine, not great, but the setting almost made up for it. Every other aspect of Kichwa was perfect. The resident warthogs were the best.

Room Tip: Our tent was far from the main lodge-if walking is a problem for you, be sure to request a closer te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGDNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We decided to visit Kichwa Tembo as part of our honeymoon through & Beyond candan not recommend the tour operator ( Jomandie) & KT highly enough.
From the moment we stepped off the plane we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the Masai Mara and it's wildlife. Even on our 15 minute journey to the resort our driver showed us hippos, zebras, elephants, giraffes, vultures and baboons.
Our guides welcomed us so warmly and friendly, everyone knew our names, it really did feel like a home from home. Our tented accomadation was in the deluxe/luxury tents, slightly more private and with a gardened area, the tent was immaculate and had a beautiful ensuite. All safari tents are equipped with electricity, amazing large comfy beds, safes, wardobes, hot and cold water on tap & any toiletries you may have left at home.
The attention to detail here is outstanding, personal morning wake up calls are done by your house keeper who also delievers hot beverages with this service as well as turns down your bedding ( and pops hot water bottles on your bed) and your tent so its all secure.
Masai warriors escort you to your tent in the evenings, the wait staff all know your name, in fact everyone knows your name and remembers your favourite drinks and are always so enthusiastic about your game drives. The game drives KT offer are out of this world. We saw the "big five" in one morning & we were lucky enough to see the Great Migration, wow, wow, wow! The Masai Mara has so much to offer, we were totally spoiled with wildlife and everyday was a new exciting adventure thanks to our driver Elley who also arranged breakfasts in the bush, once with the hippos and once in the long grass of the Mara overlooking the magical savanna.
After your adventures on the game drives there was nothing better than coming back to KT and enjoying their magnificent meals with fresh ingredients from their veggie garden & flavoured with East African aromatic spices or having a dip in their refreshing pool.
We had noticed that this resort had won a number of awards and totally understand why, it caters for all ages and really captures the essence and excitement of a true African Safari.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fremontSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We flew from Ukunde just outside Mombasa, 2 hours - please note no loo on the plane as it's only a 19 seater. On arrival we were met by Akatche our guide who was to remain with us for the 2 night, 3 day stay we had. The airstrip is just that - a strip lol but we were met with tea or coffee and biscuits before setting off to the camp which was a lovely touch. The camp is about ten to fifteen minutes away and arriving there we were given a cool drink and a cool face cloth. We were allocated a butler who looked after us very well, they do the rooms, bring tea and coffee in the mornings and do anything else you may require. All the staff were very friendly throughout the camp, from the waiting staff to the gardeners, they never fail to greet you and always seem to be smiling. We settled into our tent which was lovely, 2 three quarter beds, snow white linen, a blanket and a duvet, the biggest pillows I have ever seen, fresh towels changed every day and bottled water provided for cleaning our teeth. There is an area at the rear of the tent containing the sink, toilet and shower which can be partitioned off for privacy. After settling in. lunch was served out on the lawn which was nice, the food was well cooked although lunch choice was a bit limited we thought.
After lunch we went on our first game drive in a 6 seater land rover with just one other couple. Akatche was very knowledgeable about all the game and where to find it, he told us about the animals, how they were related to each other and their habits etc. He was excellent and was in touch with the other jeeps all the time in case they had seen anything we may have missed.
After the drive we went back to camp for our evening meal which was nice and more choice than at lunch time. We had an early night after our travels and were delighted to find hot water bottles in our beds on our return - it can get quite chilly in the Mara at night.
The next morning we were woken by Juliet, our butler who brought us coffee, tea and biscuits to start our day. As we were going on an early morning drive at 6.30am Akatche brought a breakfast box and it was lovely to sit by the Mara river watching the hippos and crocs.
We saw all the animals during our game drives except the black rhino which can be quite elusive and we couldn't find anyone else who had seen one either.Akatche explained there are only about ten in the whole of the Mara so no surprise we didn't catch sight of one.
We got some beautiful photos and film of the lions though and were surprised at how close we managed to get to them.
At the camp the pool area is just in front of the boundary fence and you can sit there and watch elephants, zebra, giraffes and all sorts of antelopes just wandering by, it's wonderful.
There are wart hogs in the camp grounds but they don't bother anyone as they wander about grazing and provide some great photo opportunities. Also bush buck come into the camp and we actually found one resting right outside a tent which we photographed from only a couple of feet away.
All in all a wonderful experience, fantastic camp, great people and a wonderful guide. Wish we had been there for longer as it was so relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeluvholsBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I chose &beyond as a venue to propose to my girlfriend based on many previous trips, on this special occasion I decided to try a new lodge namely Kichwa Tembo Tented camp in the Masai Mara.
In short, this place is amazing, the staff are incredibly friendly, attentive and service minded and the quality of the experience is hard to top - We have been to many game lodges in Southern and Eastern Africa and this one ranks as one of the best..
We arrived from Nairobi with Air Kenya and within 10 minutes were in the camp, cool welcome drink in hand. Our first night was in standard tent #3, nice location with a decent view. The next morning after "popping the question" we headed out on a balloon safari, really a MUST DO and possibly a once in a lifetime experience, dont save the $500, do this and you wont regret it...Due to our special occasion we were lucky to be upgraded to a luxury tent (#37), these really are very nice and definaterly worth the extra costs, you have a lot more privacy and seclusion as these tents are located further away from the main area. That evening we were serenaded at our private dinner on the deck, had champagne by candlelight and danced to the tunes of "malaika" and "jambo Bwana" sung by the camp staff - what a truly unforgettable engagement - these guys will go out of their way for you...
Game viewing was amazing, we saw all of the big 5 with our guide Timothy finding a Leopard for us on the last day...We saw a Cheetah kill and a Wildebesst crossing, exactly what we had hoped for and some truly incredible experiences.
You will not be disappointed by Kichwa Tembo, the food was great and always varied, the staff are amazing, the quality of the game viewing exceptional and the overall experience 5*...Thanks to Magda, Timothy, Kosen, Esther & Esther and all of the other staff for making this trip a memory that neither of us will ever forgte, we will be coming back to Kichwa Tembo.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury tents, #37 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZAcouple_in_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
31.9 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,097 reviews
3.7 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
970 reviews
28.7 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
880 reviews
17.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
13.2 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $1,549 - $3,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing