We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ultimate Masai Mara Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Governors' Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Governors' Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Masai Mara Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Nestling in the wooded area on the banks of the Mara River is a haven of peace. By crossing the river on a chain link ferry boat you come to Little Governors. The camp is not what you expect - it's upmarket camping or what I like to call 'Glamping'. The tents are large and luxurious with huge beds and proper fitted bathrooms. Animals patrol the camp at night, including elephant, buffalo and wart hogs but you have night Askari who ensure you are not bothered. The staff are attentive but discreet headed up by a larger than life character in George Murray who has been with the firm for years. Our driver, Leonard, a silver accredited safari guide, was amazing giving us the best safari experience. We ended our 3 days on a high (!) with a balloon safari and champagne breakfast. Amazing!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windyridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    37
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
103
200
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We have stayed at main Governors 4 times nad have just returned from our 3rd stay at Little Governors. After over 10 years of visits we still come home with memories to last a life time, incredible photos and we long to return as soon as possible.
The game is amazing, the big five at your doorstep (and often in camp) and everything else you would want to see. The food is good, not amazing, but you have to remember where you are and you will not be disappointed by it.
The tents are great, comfy beds, hot showers, loo and great views. No electricity, only gas lamps at night but some tents are now getting electric lights (unfortunately).
George, the manager of the camp is great. Makes you welcome, regales you with great stories and ensures your stay is the best it can be.
Not a relaxing holiday: woken at 6am by your tent boy with tea, coffee or hot chocolate and biscuits. Escorted to the river by a guard (remember there are no fences to keep the beasts out. Across the river and into you Land Rover or Land Cruiser by 6.30. Viewing until 9.30 ish then back for breakfast. Just enought time for a quick wash and brush up before out again at 10.30 until 12.30ish. Back for lunch and time for a shower, nap etc before out again at 3.30 until night fall (6.30ish). Drinks around the camp fire until dinner at 8.00. There is no entertainment, just a bar to meet and chat with fellow guests. We were in bed by 10.00 every night.
Top recommendation:
- Ask for tent 17 on the end
- Get sole vehicle (expensive but worth it)
- Take breakfast picnic out with you
- Go for a sun downer
- You must go on a walking safari
- Take the best camera you can get you hands on and the biggest lens.
- Take good binoculars
- Take warm clothes for the morning.

Warnings
- Not suitable for kids
- Would advise against if you suffer from bad back.
- No fences so buffalos, elephants etc around tents at night (there are guards)
- Remember you will be bouncing around in the back of a 4x4 for up to 8 hours a day
- You may not see any game for hours on end
- You have to cross a small river every time you enter the camp
- Would stay away during wet season

In summary - you will never forget this holiday!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LostScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

This would have to rate as one of the best 3 days I have ever had. Not only was the camp small and intimate but the variety of wildlife around the camp was amazing. From hippos grazing by the tent at night to elephants walking past at lunchtime there was never a dull moment. The 3 game drives a day provided us with so many sightings of different birds and animals and we even got to see a leopard and black rhino within the first 36 hours. Thank you to everyone there for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsie487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Four of us (two couples) booked our two-night, three-day safari through JT Safaris in Diani and Julius did us proud with a truly unforgettable trip that exceeded our three previous safaris in Kenya.
The camp is magical, from the fun little boat trip across the Mara river to the wonderful staff, luxury accommodation, open fires and charcoal-filled cauldrons, candle-lit dinners and resident warthogs. There's also an indefinable air of romance about the place that you only really notice when you're flying back to the coast, which is a bit late really!
Scottish boss George Murray was always on hand for a chat and a tale and he must be immensely proud of this camp's traditional outlook, mixed with five-star service.
Our driver Joseph (real name Ledama) was a genuine star and his ultimately vain pursuit of the ever-elusive rhino was a real adventure which resulted in us seeing some amazing sights, including leopard, cheetah, many lions and so much more.
My 53rd birthday was spent here and it will live with me forever.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1330bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

I went to the Little Governors Camp for three nights in October for my honeymoon. we were in tent number 14 which was in an excellent position around the wate hole. We arrived at camp and before we had even had the chance to unpack our bags a heard of elephants were just outside our tent. The heard included mother with her baby!!

We had lunch, the food was excellent, watching the elephants in the watering hole. We then went on our first safari seeing lots of different animals including, elephant, buffalo, wilderbeast, marsh pride of lions and the cheetah Brothers. What an experiance.

The evening meal again was lovely we were in bed by nine and slept until 5 with a few disruptions from the elephanrs and hippos which were outside our tents amazing.

We also went on the balloon safari which was incredible it is a must if staying here. We were lucky enough to see the rhino family on our way back to camp from the balloon..

Several more safaris, includind taking out breakfast in the bush and unfortunaltley it was time to fly back to the beach. The experience was so overwhelming that i was crying as i left camp and for a girl who loves the beach that is saying something.

The service in little governors is second to none. The tents are lovely and the safari drivers are very knowledgeable (hello to Peter). The setting is idillic and very romantic and we can not recommend it enough.. The only down side for me was that we did not see the lepoard but we saw everything else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJBE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We loved Little Governor's Camp! The beautiful location, the wildlife, the gracious staff, the comfortable accommodations, and the delicious food all made our stay at Little Governor's Camp a fabulous experience. There is something very special about this place, and I truly hope to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed at Little Governors for two nights(13th and 14thDec) having booked it through JT Safaris based in the Diani beach area and we cannot recommend him highly enough but i will do another review on his site. The location of Little Governors is amazing. It is unfenced which means the local wildlife can wander through at any moment but there are rangers on hand day and night to keep you safe.In fact ,one lunchtime we had to wait to sit at our table because there was an elephant standing by the side of it-in fact a herd had been grazing on the marsh/swamp area immediately in front of the camp and then wandered through! The game drives are something else-its almost surreal! On our very first trip out with our driver Bernard we stopped literally 6 foot away from a pride of lions, ended up with two cheetahs on the bonnet of our jeep and witnessed a "kill" - another pride of lions bringing down a buffalo which although quite sad , its nature and survival of the fittest. We were very fortunate to experience all this on our first drive-how do you top that? There were loads and loads of elephants,hippos and crocs and lots of other animals to see.
The accomodation is very good considering where you are, and the food was superb-I don't know how they do it but they must have a first rate chef, in fact the standard was far superior to our beach resort hotel(Diani Reef Hotel and Spa) who could do to take a few lessons from Little Governors!
Our only problem was on our last morning our choice of drink to be woken with was the hot chocolate-previous to this we had coffee. I don't know if the milk they use is unpasturised or if the milk was off slightly, but we both had upset stomachs on our last drive and on the flight back to Mombasa which wasn't pleasant!
That being said ,we CAN'T FAULT the whole experience and would thoroughly recommend it as an experience of a lifetime which we will never forget.It was our first ever safari and I don't think anywhere else could ever match up to the Masai Mara and Little Governors.
Thankyou to all the staff and the manager.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
13.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
25.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.2 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#33 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#24 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Governors' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Property: Little Governors' Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing