We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST hotel experience in Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little Governors' Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BEST hotel experience in Kenya”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Little Governor's was our first stop on our safari- and by far the best. We flew in on Safarilink to their airstrip (quite the adventure on a tiny little plane)
The Camp itself is simple, but extremely luxurious. The tents were more chic and bathrooms much nicer than any other hotel we stayed in in Kenya. No comfort is missing- except electricity- which you will not miss at all!
Service- simply stellar. You might not notice, but at lunch when the sun comes on to your table, the moment you get up to get food they move your table into the shade. Incredible.
Food- limited options, but again, stellar. Much nicer than the vast, mediocre buffets we got everywhere else. Everything was top-quality and delicious. Tell them if you have special dietary needs in advance, they're very accomodating.
The camp is unfenced, so there are elephant, warthogs, and hippos, but they're never troublesome and the guards are very attentive. The game drives we did from the camp took us into the other side of the Mara river from the hordes of tourists, and we weren't usually crowded by 15 other cars as happened at other places in the Mara. Even the camp cars are of much much better quality than any other cars we used/saw.
We stayed at Lil Gov only for a night (since my dad needed the internet regularly and we weren't sure about the whole no-electricity thing), but wished we'd stayed much longer. Moved to Mara Serena, which was awfully kitschy after this place.
The ONLY complaint we had was- early in the morning, before going on our game drive, there were only gas lights in the tent to see with- which, for my older parents, was extremely difficult. The problem is very easily solved, just make sure you ask them for extra lights at night.
Sidenote- we're a family of insomniacs, especially first nights in new places, but perhaps because of the lack of artificial light and any distractions- I can say I've NEVER slept more soundly.
Please bring your own conditioner to Kenya though! Something about the water/shampoo/game drives made my hair a disastrous sticky tangle, and they don't give conditioner in any hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    39
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
112
206
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire,
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

A family of four, we spent 5 nights at LGC. We went end May/start June.. the low season when it might be expected that wildlife would be few and far between. Nothing could be farther than the truth.. sure we didn't see the vast herds of Zebra and Wildebeest, but we only had to tell our driver whet we wanted to see and chances are he would find it for us. We saw the big 5 in a single afternoon! Elephant, lion, buffalo antelope etc. were there in abundance and soon became commonplace for us. If wildlife is your thing, then this experience is a must.

Thes staff at the camp were great, nothing was too much trouble. The food was extraordinary given the isloation of the camp. I think many top UK restaurants would be put to shame by the quality of the food on offer. Our driver was very knowledgeable and as the policy is no more thnt 4 people to a 4x4 (Solihull's finest), you get a really good game drives. Thiough the roads when we went were well rutted.

The camp itself is situated by a marsh, where a number of hippo live. The marsh also attracts other wildlife, we saw 16 elephants on the other side of the marsh on the day we arrived.

The accomodation is great, the tents have full bathroom facilities.

We went out on the optional walking safari. Call at 5.30, watch the sun come up over the savannah at around 7.40 ( I think), then a gentle three hour walk across the plains to have a champagne and full English breakfast in a copse at around 11.00.. then back to the camp for luch at 13.00! I cannot recommend this too much, one of life's great experiences.

Down sides? None unless you are the sort of holiday maker that needs to take hair straighteners with you.. there is no electricty in the accommodation, though there is power at reception.

The cost? _ pales into insignificance against the momories you will have for the rest of your life.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skeetstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Our stay at the Governor's Camp (on honeymoon) for four nights was simply magical. We visited in the low season when you might imagine it's hard to see many animals - nothing could be further from the truth. The low season for us was perfect with lovely weather but relatively quiet drives where we managed to see leopards, lions, hippos, giraffes, impalas, oh just too many to list!

Our driver (Leonard) was a genius - absolutely lovely company, very knowledgeable and just brilliant at spotting wildlife!

The camp itself was everything we could have hoped for and more - with a delightful small boat trip across a river to get there just the start. The guards and staff were all lovely and the "tents" must be seen to be believed - with gas lighting and your own bathroom attached! The food was excellent throughout too.

We haven't got any negative comments to add whatsoever - thankyou Governors!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerschenkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Visiting Governorscamp for the second time after 17 years (this time 'Little Governorscamp') I can only marvel how this company has kept up it excellent standards in management. Starting with the first point of contact - Reservations department, the food, the service, the personnel, the guide and the overall atmosphere were superb!
The company organised all our flights, transfers and stays in Nairobi perfectly it was the smoothest trip imaginable! I can highly recommend Governorscamp - if there is one place you must visit on this planet this is it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We booked to stay at the Little Governors Camp as a last minute decision whilst we were staying in Mombasa. We had already been on Safari to Tsavo East and West with JT safaris and decided we could not fly back to the UK without visiting the Masai Mara! JT safaris arranged everything for us with a days notice and booked us into the Little Governors Camp as he advised us that this was an excellent base to see the wildlife. JT was not wrong this was an excellent location with wildlife right outside your tent!

The tents were amazing but be prepared for a noisy night as the resident hippos outside the tent try their hardest to keep you awake! But to be honest you are that tired after three safaris a day that they do not succeed as i slept very well. There is no electricity in the tent and on an evening you have an oil lamp for light, this just added to the whole experience.

The staff were brilliant nothing was to much trouble. Peter was running the camp whilst we were there, he was a great host and made time to speak with all his guests. I told him that me and my mom were very fussy eaters and he brought the chef out to meet us and offered to cook anything we wanted. This was brilliant as we had hardly eaten anything in our beach hotel. The chef cooked us fantastic meals on both nights of our stay. Every morning you are woke to tea / coffee and biscuits in bed before your early morning game drive....... i was so getting used to this!!

The safaris were brilliant, we saw all of the big five as well as loads more. Our driver was Joshua, who seemed to know were everything was. Whatever we asked to see, we saw it! He was a fantastic guide and a really nice man.

There is nothing at all i can say negative about this camp. My mom was a bit scared of the boat we had to go on across the Mara river to get into camp but to me it was all part of the experience. If you ever get a chance to visit this camp and the Masai Mara, you wont regret it. This camp is the best place we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellasally14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

There is no point in going to Kenya without going on safari, but it’s not cheap—almost £1,000 U.S. dollars each, plus drinks, plus tips for a three-day package—at Little Governors, in the heart of the Masai Mara and, admittedly, at the luxury end of the safari camp market.
The zip-up tents with protective awnings offer spacious and comfortable beds and bathrooms with flush loos, bidets and showers and oil lamps, torches and candles for light and no electricity. Bliss!
The usual 21st century sound of music or television or passing traffic is replaced by the sounds of the African night—snorting hippos, ruminating warthogs, unidentifiable squeals and calls and an insistent nasal grunt which, rather than a hippo, as we thought, turned out to be coming from the occupant of the next tent!
After days exploring the plains, evenings are spent round a roaring campfire exchanging memories of sightings, backed by photographic evidence, a little drink and a gourmet meal delivered under stars sparkling in the clearest sky you will ever see.
Not surprisingly, our excellent driver/safari guide Joshua seemed to know a thing or two about which route to take and what to expect and took us within a few yards of cheetahs, complete with cubs, and a pride of ten lions who threw us a look of undisguised disdain before resuming their siesta.
Our visit to the Masai Mara coincided with an early-season example of monsoon weather, making the camp umbrellas a must-have fashion accessory on the way to and from dinner and curtailing the second afternoon’s safari as the benefit of four-wheel drive Land Rovers kicked in to negotiate the tracks as they turned to mudbaths.
Our safari trip was a welcome, never-to-be-forgotten contrast to the coastal resort experience at the Voyager Beach and a must do for anyone considering a holiday to Kenya.
But with so many locals touting for trade it is important that you do your homework before booking one of the many safari excursions on offer.
Which is why JT Safaris came out top of our research and delivered what was promised. Not cheap, but very, very good and personal service from Julius K. Nzumbi, who offered to throw in a special tour of Mombasa as well.
As reports on Trip Advisor (tripadvisor.com) warn, there are several touts claiming to be Julius or JT Safaris, such is his reputation for delivering quality, but you can find the real Julius on www.julius-safaris.com and contact him by e-mail on jtsafaris@yahoo.com to discuss the best option for your safari.
We have a full published article in the Rotherham Advertiser Magazine, see www.rotherhamadvertiser.co.uk, scroll down the page to 'Entertainment' and click on the ‘Close encounters with the animals of the Masai Mara’ link.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougnDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

What a place, the food was amazing, the scenery sublime. The game drives were fantastic. If you want a luxury safari I would strongly recommend this place. Some of the photos we got of the big 5 are unbelievable. Love the little touches like, turndown service (hot water bottle put in your bed), wake up call, Hot chocolate and biscuits to set you up for the early morning game drive, when you get back you have a fantastic breakfast awaiting you (just watch the eggs and make sure there done completely!!). Be warned though you will have little animal visitors watching you when you eat which is very funny. Also at night be warned the animals get very close to the tents, a whole bunch of hippos were munching outside our tent in the early morning!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilbertos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
29.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,035 reviews
13.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,034 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
834 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Governors' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Property: Little Governors' Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing