We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of the wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little Governors' Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of the wildlife”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The camp has a fantastic location with abdunant wildlife to see as soon as you step into your vehicle. September was a good time to go, and I will never forget our sighting of the leopard climbing into the tree. The actual tents are pretty good, but based upon other camps we stayed some have moved to the next level if you are looking for the truly luxury option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    39
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
112
206
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Kenya and indeed the Masai Mara. Friends that we went with have been on a previous Safari at this camp and other Safaris at different camps. We were so pleased that they chose Little Governors for us to experience, and what an experience it was ! With only 17 tents and I have to say they are luxurious tents. We stayed in number 17 which I think is the best location in the camp. Our guide was Bernard who was truly amazing and could spot something going on from what seemed like miles away. We stayed for three days and two nights and could have happily had another day and night just to take in more of the camp. Food was superb with great choices that suited everyone. The wake up call at 6 am with hot chocolate and home made biscuits is a must and a great way to start your day. Having lunch in the open air was magical with Warthogs strolling by and also a herd of Elephants passing through the camp. We were lucky to see the Wildebeest migration on two different days and at two different crossings which was like being part of the T V program showing the event in the past. The Marsh pride were part of our daily events on the Safari and being just two feet away on our very last day.
George Murray and his staff were fantastic and made our stay very special and something we will always remember. Didn't get to see a Rhino or Leopard but everything else made up for that. The Masai warriors performed at the evening meal which seemed just so perfect. Little Governors have some special little touches which mean so much. Super super experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccredBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was the first place we stayed on my first safari trip. I was nervous about the whole business, and really fell in love with this camp. The tents are very nice...fantastic showers..and the staff lovely. Sitting having lunch on the first day, looking out at the animals, I started to relax. I didn't know this until staying at other camps, but the proximity to the animals makes it so easy to have 2 drives a day and still relax over lunch and an early afternoon nap. Other camps are more remotely situated so the drives take longer. One morning we asked to have a birdwalking tour, (we are not birders), and an excellent guide gave us a perfect walking tour around the back of the camp. Really loved this place and its manageable size.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had 4 nights at Little Governors' Camp (our second visit) with the hope of witnessing, for the first time, the wildebeest migration and river crossings. Jacob Nguujiri was our guide (we asked for him because he was our guide last time) and he was terrific...again! We saw a few river crossings and the game viewing was, as usual in this part of the Mara, exceptional. Little Governors' offers the best value, in our opinion, of all the Governors' camps. With just 17 luxury tents overlooking the water hole it is an excellent site. The main camp is too large and Il Moran is more expensive. Food, location, guides, hospitality are all excellent here.

Room Tip: The view from tent number 1 is masked by trees a little so avoid it. Tent number 17 is furthest fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Having raved and raved about Little Governors' to friends for the past 5 years, I returned for a second time and took 6 friends with me. In a word, it was truly magical. The feeling of the camp which is arranged in a horseshoe shape around a large marsh is something indescribable and oh, so memorable. Enjoying your breakfast with friendly warhogs under feet while elephants and buffalo graze in the marsh was beyond everyone's expectations. Then the balloon ride! Watching the sun rise over the Mara River while the game roam under the balloon, followed by a beautiful bush breakfast served by handsome men with beautiful smiles in red jumpsuits...couldn't have been more incredible. But then there were the elephants in the camp at cocktail hour...and I haven't even mentioned the game viewing, the stunning landscape, the great migration. All I can say to oher travelers is go! Go to Little Governors'. It truly is a magical spot in the Mara. From the time you arrive, until you leave, you'll be pinching yourself you did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovelly, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed a very memorable time at Little Governors' seeing a vast range of animals on the various safaris that we went on. The balloon trip that we went on had the most magnificent weather conditions and this contributed greatly to our stay.

The staff at the camp were all tremendous and could not be faulted for their attention to so much detail.

The only down-side, and unfortunately this is a big negative was the food. naturally one has to make allowances for the relatively isolated nature of the camp and the constraints that that implies. However, menu design and choices were not in keeping with the type of property that was expected. In fact the whole food experience was more akin to a boarding school or perhaps more a dining room for military conscripts.

We are certain that they can do better but this was not evident during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wonderful stay September 2013. Location, staff, food and rooms exceeded expectations. Wildlife roamed into camp and safari drives began at the doorstep. Stay requires navigating steps up and down to the river and boat across, but it is easy for reasonably fit guests. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckuveke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
29.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,035 reviews
13.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,034 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
834 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Governors' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Property: Little Governors' Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing