We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect start to a two-week safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Governors' Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Suburban Philadelphia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect start to a two-week safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Little Governor's Camp was a perfect start for our two-week safari through Kenya and Tanzania. We'd read all the glowing reviews online before arriving, but the experience of being there actually surpassed them all. Our tent was warm and inviting, the meals delicious, and the service outstanding. Everyone gave us such a warm, personal welcome. At breakfast and lunch we overlooked the watering hole, dinner was waiter service by candlelight. A hot-water bottle beneath the sheets came with the evening turndown service, and tea and a biscuit arrived as part of our morning wake-up call.

The game drives were excellent and our driver, Leonard, made every effort to bring us a unique experience each day. Just being on the sweeping plains of the Masai Mara was a treat, but of course, the real draw is the wildlife. Among the highlights were watching a pride of lions on a fresh buffalo kill. One even carried her weeks-old cub over to learn the proceedings, placing him at her feet while she ate her fill. When the lionesses finished, over a dozen hyenas swooped in. When they were done, the vultures arrived. Then came the jackals. And then the King himself, the male lion, who chased everything else away.

Another highlight was the bird walk around the camp with David -- we saw over 100 species of birds in less than an hour. And the day Blossom the elephant decided to stop by for breakfast will not soon be forgotten! Check the photos!

We highly recommend the visit to the Masai village and wish we'd had time for a walking safari. This is a company that knows how to do it right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwydhrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    37
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
106
201
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Absolutely brilliant, staff couldn't have been more helpful and an amazing experience all round. I was a bit worried about early starts every day but being woken up with coffee and biscuits was perfect.

Everyone is so friendly you will feel sad to leave! Couldn't have asked for more, and our driver, Jackson, was amazing with a great eye for distant animals and full of interesting facts and stories.

Food was incredible and eating breakfast alongside warthogs is a brilliant experience! Plus make sure you have a safari picnic!

You will not regret staying in Little Governors.

Room Tip: All the tents are luxurious so no problems there - hot water, flushing toilets and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The camp was beatiful set, and the wildlife view from the camp were amazing. Several elephants just walked trough the campsite on our three days spend. And the swamp just next to the camp always had lots of animals cooling of during daytime.

Our guide Joseph, took us on long game drives and he was very pleasant to spend time with. We got to watch the amazing crossing of the Mara River, and all sorts of wildlife. Lions mating, leopards cubs, three week old lions cubs and it just goes on. And of course The Big Five.

The service at the camp, the food and the really comfortable tents all lived up to our expectations!

Room Tip: Try to book as close to the reception, dining area. But just for a shorter walk. All location are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Other guests have said it all really so just wanted to add:

Tent 17 -close to nature: First night heard a shuffling sound at the back. Looked through the mesh to discovered very large hippo grazing. Heard same noise at the side...two hippo! Second day, back from lunch, stood outside tent, glanced at movement under a shrub about 50m away. ..two lionesses gulp! Loved it!!!!!!!

Also loved seeing the warthogs around camp...didn't see Possum the elephant who is a frequent visitor...perhaps next time!

Photography-we are relative novices although did have an SLR camera and took a 80-300mm lens (bought cheaply second hand a week before we left uk). Have some fantastic photos that little governors have posted on their facebook page . I'm so proud of capturing two male lion (Scar & Hunter) fighting thanks to Maina our driver to taking us to the action- we just couldn't believe our luck. Saw the Big 5 and much much more.

We also visited a local Masai camp...a bit expensive 2000 shilling per person (£16) but pleased we did. Very friendly. Men and women danced for us, showed us around there camp and in a mudhut. Obligatory craft purchase - happy with my elephant hair bracelet!

Take warm clothing..e.g. fleece for early morning game drives as I could not believe how cold it was (July). Some 4x4s provided blankets but ours did not for some reason.

Most amazing time even my husband who wasn't that fussed about going on safari has said it was an amazing spiritual experience! !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pernickety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our stay at Little Governors' was absolutely perfect. The team were so attentive to our every need and no request was too much - they *really* went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay (even fixing a pair of broken sunglasses for us!!). This level of service is perhaps due to the small size of the hotel camp? Little Governors' is a great intimate option - although we came as a family (and so did many other guests), it would also be perfect for a couples' stay.
A special mention must be made of our brilliant safari guide and driver Maina, who did an excellent job in spotting and finding lots of game, and was incredibly knowledgeable about all flora and fauna. I must also thank Stanley who waited on us at mealtimes - he was so friendly and really made us feel special. Finally, a big thank you to chef Kennedy who prepared fantastic 'bush breakfasts' and catered the meals so well for our varied dietary requirements. But everyone at Little Governors made our stay perfect - couldn't have asked for more, and would thorough recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NamSci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british isles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked our stay at Little Governors' through Julius at JT Safaris who recommended we stay there and oh boy were we not disapointed. This place can only be described as pure paradice. We saw so many beautiful animals and ate so much wonderful food its hard to know where to start. The tents are gorgeous, better than many five star hotels I have visited. You get to eat your food al fresco with all the wonders of the natural world walking around you. We were lucky enough to have a bull elephant right outside our tent (obviously it was not dangerous as the night guards had the whole thing well and truly covered). I felt 110% safe all of the time. The guides were fantastic and so were the Camp's staff. We went on a balloon ride, again organised by Julius, which was mind blowing.

I would actually pick this place as my dream wedding location, if only it was a bit closer!!!! If you are reading this and going, consider yourself extremly lucky. I would return here at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noonoooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for a three night stay at Little Governors at the end of June 2013. The camp is amazingly well-run yet relaxed and comfortable, staff were without exception attentive, kind and helpful as well as knowledgeable. Food is excellent and healthy, and much better than expected given the location. Our driver-guide Jackson looked after us splendidly and with great professionalism and patience and seemed to be able to magic up remarkable sights non-stop. The location of the camp is superb - supremely peaceful and lush, and even just watching the goings-on of warthogs, birds, buffalo, and hippo in the water immediately outside our tent was fascinating - yet alone the abundant wildlife on the drives. Crossing the river to reach the camp just adds to the fun, even in the torrential rain! The drives must have been tiring for our guide - this is certainly not a relax-and-do-nothing holiday - but totally refreshing. My husband, who grew up in Kenya, reckoned it was the best camp he has stayed in - for me it was a first and I hope not a last.

Room Tip: All the tents are nice, but we liked being a greater distance from the main areas, in the higher num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
13.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
25.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.3 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#32 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Governors' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Property: Little Governors' Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing