We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second best moment of my life!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Governors' Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were to spend 5 nights at Little Governors and from the moment we landed from Loldia by plane, our feet never touched the ground. Julius, our driver, greeted us from the plane and said we were off on safari ! My wife and I had never been before and what an introduction!

We were treated to lions, zebras, giraffes and elephants and I really felt like I was in a BBC documentary!

Julius is a great guide and has worked there 10 years so knows all the nooks and crannies of the Mara, as Im sure all the drivers do.

At LG we were escorted to tent 17, which we requested having read other Tripadvisor reports. To be fair all the tents are of an exceptional standard – it really depends on a) how far you’re prepared to walk and b) do you want peace and quiet as some are quite close to the restaurant and bar areas. But that does have its advantage especially when the animals walk through the camp, at least you’re nearby to see them.

I had a trap camera so was able to record what passed by our tent at night. You hear many sounds, which I did find rather therapeutic tbh except the trumpeting elephant at 4.00am! That woke me up bolt upright! Anyway, walking passed our tent most nights were munching hippos, the odd buffalo, a marsh mongoose and a leopard !

The rangers are always on hand and we never once felt unsafe, even when we saw two lion cubs in the field to the left of our tent.

Every morning your room person brings you tea/coffee/hot chocolate before brekkie

So, you have a view overlooking the waterhole and the roosting herons, egrets etc and in the evening you must shine your torch to get escorted to the restaurant/bar area. Joseph is usually there to give you one of his beaming smiles and the food is excellent. Not once did we have an upset stomach which made for bouncing around in the jeeps during the day that much more enjoyable! And be prepared for that! Let’s put it this way, my wife wishes she had worn a sports bra. It adds to the feel of the place to be thrown around whilst trying to take your lens cap off! Also, take wet wipes as you do get very dusty on these trips and if taking your camera, your lens will get caked in dust so arm yourself with cleaning cloths.

George was the ultimate host, always popping out to greet you and ask how your day went.
I overheard some guests tell some newcomers how easy it would be for them to see all the animals they want, they’re right outside the camp. Um….no. It’s not a zoo and these are wild animals that can go where they like. So, don’t be disappointed if there is an animal or bird you don’t manage to see, there’s so much more that you will enjoy I promise you.

if you get safaried out, pls take a trip to a local Masai Village - its good to get to understand their culture more

We are already saving for the next trip and apart from getting married, being part of LG for just those 5 nights has been the most memorable moment of my life. Thankyou LG

Room Tip: if taking more than one camera, take a multi plug socket as only one socket in your tent. Ladies, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobandMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 459 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

this was my second stay at main Governors and wont be my last . everything about the camp is so special , it was lovely to return and everyone remembered me from last year , Katie and Philip do an amazing job running the camp , the have a chat with every guest at dinner time which is so lovely. Richard & Ascah our waiters were lovely and looked after us so well . Jerimiha our tent boy was so kind and he looked after us the best anyone could . all the staff here are wonderful . Soloman our guide was amazing and we found all the big cat dairy cats I wanted , he was a super star :) we had 4 days out on safari , breakfast in the bush was the best and great fun . I was given a lovely bottle of wine to say thankyou for returning . I love it here , thankyou guys <3 ... I booked this threw Jt safaris from Mombasa he is the best to book with and cheapest too ... I hope to return at the end of the year

Room Tip: ive stayed in tent 31 and 32 , amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debigWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Color me a victim of habit, but Little Governors Camp has been my GO TO safari experience since 2007. Living in Nairobi has allowed me to become a regular there, getting to know the staff and region over the years. Year after year, the camp delivers outstanding services. Location is the KEY to this wonderful safari camp, with wildlife wandering through the site to visit the watering hole in front of your tent. Situated on the Mara river, the camp requires a fun crossing from car to camp. Safari drivers are uniquely knowledgable and willing to work with guests to "hunt" whatever game is desired.

Tip -- Governors has four camps located in the same region in the Masai Mara park. While all are lovely, Little Governors has something very special.

This year, we finally fulfilled a longstanding goal to experience Little Governors Camp hot air balloon ride. While far from free, consider putting this on your bucket list!! Thanks to Captain Markham we had an exceptional "magic carpet ride", citing a leopard in a tree!

Finally, no review can be complete without a thank you to Joseph, who is not only a waiter but proud Kenyan happy to share a bit of Kenyan hospitality with camp guests. Hats off to Joseph for years of reliable, friendly service. Asante!

Room Tip: Tents 12A and beyond (up to #17) are best, far from dining location and closer to the savannah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your review of Little Governors Camp. We are delighted that you consider Little Governors as your go to safari camp and that you enjoyed the safari so much. We look forward to welcoming you back on safari with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had a most wonderful stay at Little Governors' Camp. Good food, good hospitality and very good game viewing. Very nice Lion sightings and wished we could have stayed here longer. Will sure try to visit the Masai Mara again in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to visit. The place is excellentto have a retreat to just go and relax place is well kept the people ate great the maasais are very knowledgeable off the conservation and the eco system there so my only the wonderfully hotel the food is great and especially there breakfast is great well not forgetting the enterer staff who really make you feel your trip is perfectly enjoyed kudoo to them who made my stay cool and the crew from air Kenya perfect landing would definitely go back soo but after wooking and saving for it again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otsyula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at Governors during April and had the best time. The tents have everything and more than you need, whilst retaining their authenticity - the views from your deck are incredible, hippos and warthogs galore!
Our game drives were great - we saw pretty much everything, and the river crossing is all part of the adventure, the steps arent that bad and theres always someone to help if you need a hand. And its worth the crossing as the game viewing is better over that side.
Peter the manager was a true star and a real character -always there with a huge smile any time of day! And we were lucky enough meet Justin, one of the owners/directors of Governors, he is so passionate about the place and it comes accross.
We did the hot air balloon - if you get the opportunity dont even hestitate - it was such an experience and Peter the balloonist will look after you as will his team at the lovely bush champagne breakfast!
All the food we had at the camp was incredible considering that most of it would need to be flown in I guess?
The concept of sleeping in a luxury tent was a little unusual but the guards really do make you feel looked after - one little peep from you, or a little noise from your tent zip and they will be there shining a light to check you are ok - even walking around the camp, just when you needed a flashlight there one was - amazing service in such a unique place.

I still miss my early morning wake up call with a coffee - and my hot water bottle in the bed at night!

Just go if you get the chance its amazing

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracyl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a great experience at Little Governor's camp in the Masai Mara. Food, accomodations, and service were all excellent. Very talented group of guides for game safari trips. The vehicles they use are terrific and even during heavy rains we were able to navigate through some really tough terrain. Had a great stay there. When I come again, I would probably stay at the main Governor's Camp however, as that camp has greater access to the larger section of the park. It is difficult to cross the river and time consuming when possible. It's hard to complain about the number of animals that we experienced on the Little Governor's side of the Mara however.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, tent 4 or 5 afford the best views of both the marsh right in front of your ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
29.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#45 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
11 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#9 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
312 reviews
26.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Governors' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $574 - $1,151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing