We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Overall. Breakast needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Governors' Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Overall. Breakast needs improvement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

A One night stay at Little Governors was just excellent. Fantastic food, great service, superb hosting by George, lovely game drives and overall really superb. You need to improve on Breakfast. The Standard English fare and baked beans right of the can does not show quality.

Room Tip: Room No 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NixshaSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    37
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
106
201
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights recently. We were looked after really well by the staff and nothing was too much trouble. The game drives were superb, you didn't have any idea of the drama that could unfold! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to LG and we felt that the camp wasn't as good as previous. We had two excellent previous visits but this time things weren't so good. Our guide was great and the actual safari couldn't be faulted.

The tents are very good, clean and well equipped. We felt the welcome we had fell very short of what we now expect when arriving in a safari camp. The food was purely functional, not to the same standard we now expect from a camp and the service in camp not as special as we would expect. Individual members of staff were lovely...the boatman, William as an example were superb but others lacked the customer care skills we know many safari camps expect as standard. Our guide Bernard was truly wonderful though and took exceptional pleasure in giving us a great holiday. He loved being out all day and truly loved sharing his passion for the Mara with us.

The setting at LG is beautiful around a swamp where animals freely roam so even if you decide to have a lazy morning there is still plenty to watch. It is a bigger camp than some others and this wasn't a problem previously but be careful LG you need to get the right balance of bigger but still with very high camp standards like smaller camps. Food has also got to be excellent like your competitors.

LG has lots to offer but it is beginning to lose its appeal for us.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CHILLI_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed our time at Little Governors last December, we stayed there for 2 nights during an 8 days safari tour in Kenya. The tent was nice, with proper bathroom and shower.We learnt that hot running water is a luxury in this part of the world and we appreciated the lovely shower here.
We felt completely safe with guards looking after the camp day/night ( when hippos wander around!), not the same happens everywhere else. Service at Little Governor was professional and attentive. Lunch was really good with a great choice at buffet, not the same for dinner I'm afraid with poor choice and poor quality of food, but overall enjoyable. One of us had food poisoning last day, but not sure what caused that. The other one was absolutely fine.
Our guide was the less prepared of the three we experienced, but still nice and helpful guy. You share the jeep with other guests, but they always try to accommodate your request if you want to change plan. We did not book the Hot air balloon, we felt that 380 $ for one hour or so was a 'bit' overpriced !
Anyway overall we enjoyed the camp, but would probably try the Saruni Mara next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weddinginrome W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We chose Little Governors' Camp using trip advisor reviews from a short list of safari camps given to us by Julius at JT Safaris who I can personally recommend.

We had a 3 day 2 night safari and loved every minute of it.
The flight from Mombasa main airport took about 2 hours which included a pick up at a small airfield and three drops at small airfields in the Mara.
Sit on the left side of the plane going out to get the best view of Mt
Kilimanjaro.

LGC is accessed by going down some steps, crossing a river (rope ferry) and up some more steps. No problem unless you are particularly unfit or have a disability.
The main camp area is set around a swamp with a row of tents either side. If your tent is at the far end (high numbered tents) you will be escorted to the communal area by a guard.
For your evening meal you just flash your torch and a guard will escort you because its dark.
In the day time you will get escorted by John, a real friendly guy who we spent a lot of time talking to in-between meals and safari trips.


The tents are very nice and are raised off the ground and have solid floors. They are fitted out very well and at no time did we feel insecure or uncomfortable.

The communal area includes a small souvenir shop, the bar and the eating areas.

Lunch is buffet style and the evening meal is taken under cover. The quality is very good. Our only criticism is the lack of choice for the main course although we were lucky in that we enjoyed what was on offer.

if possible, take your breakfast on safari rather than going on the early game drive, coming back for breakfast then going back out. By doing this you can go out further and spend more time looking for the animals rather than just driving in and out of the camp.
We did this and had our breakfast served on the bonnet of the vehicle by Julius our guide. Not sure exactly where it was but near to the Tanzania border where two rivers meet ( I think).
It was on this drive that we found a cheetah and two cubs, well worth the 6 hours game drive.
We had already seen the Marsh pride up close including the beautiful cubs.

Our first safari was 2 years ago and we did Tsavo East & West. Having now done the Masai Mara I can honestly say that the Mara is the better adventure.
We probably did see more elephants, giraffes, zebra etc in Tsavo but the Mara is all about the big cats. Its also feels more "real" in the Mara because you don't stay on the tracks, you can just veer off over the plains, through rivers and weave in & out of the wooded and tree areas.

LGC isnt cheap and I think for the price charged, drinks should be included with meals but this is small price to pay for the overall experience.

Would I recommend it? Yes.
Will we return, I hope so.

Room Tip: higher numbered tents are at far end of camp. Lower numbered ones are nearer the communal area and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red-Mike-greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights and on my 21st birthday. We were in the very end tent. Manager was fantastic and staff were fab. The views and the whole experience was amazing. Being in the very end tent meant we had no tents next to us just the animals to roam next to us. Blossom the elephant joined me while I had a shower and plenty of times at dinner :D. The water hogs, hippos and crocodiles right infront of our tent in the waterhole. The sound of the hippos munching grass outside our tent at night and the wonderful sound of the hyenas too, they make such a lovely sound at night! The staff who took care of us walking us to and from our tents were such fun! You choose your wake up call and tea, coffee, and hot chocolate and biccies every night for the next morning. Hot water bottle ready in your bed each night! Food was lovely. On my birthday I had some homemade gifts from the staff, bottle of wine at dinner and a card on our table! Then we and some people we met there helped finish off the wine around a fire! My only niggle is the guide we had on our game drives who wasn't as knowledgable as hoped but maybe we were spoilt with Bonnie-face from Julius Safari from the week before. We also had a hot airballoon ride which I will review. But it is well worth doing! Saw 4 rhino, 1 being a baby. And breakfast where we landed was a great experience! Lump in our throat when we left.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_honey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Little Governors Camp is a wonderful place. My wife and I came here on our honeymoon in December 2012. We were treated like royalty and even though the camp was almost empty we were given tent 17, which meant we had the full animal experience. You cannot beat the noises of a hippo grazing round your tent in the middle of the night! Elephants, wart hogs, buffalo, hippo, and amazing birds all came to visit. The game drives are a breathtaking experience everyday with new animals and amazing landscapes of the reserve - definitely go for the picnic breakfast as it means you spend more time out and about, and share breakfast time with hippos and crocs! We saw all the Big 5 and many more animals/birds too.
The food was all delicious and the staff very attentive - there was a choice with each meal and although not a full menu, it was varied and very good quality.
All the Askaris/guards were happy to talk about what had been through the camp overnight, and point out interesting animals and birds.
Definitely go on the balloon safari - fabulous views and experience all round - and the champagne breakfast in the middle of the savannah is delicious!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid people noise go for a tent below 5 or above 8 as this is where the bar is situa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamD1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
13.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
25.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
1.3 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#34 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Governors' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Property: Little Governors' Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing