We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Governors' Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having stayed at another of this groups venues at Loldia house we the moved to this fantastic facility right by the Mara river .
We could go on at lengh about our 3 night stay here but suffice to say that this was one of our best ever holidays.
The service ,welcome and feeling of good will was as good as it gets.
Food ,service again terrific
Our guide, and in fact all the support staff were excellent
We loved the place and will go back again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BackwellMichaelhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your very complimentary review of your safari at Little Governors Camp. We are delighted that you enjoyed the safari and we hope to welcome you back again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 448 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at LGC for 2 nights having spent one night in Main Governors. The main difference between the 2 is that LGC is far more intimate, there are only 17 tents and they all look out over a marsh area that is always packed with animals!

The trip to the camp via the boat across the river is excellent, but the stairs to and from it are fairly high so are no good for those with mobility issues.

As with MG the staff and management are wonderful, everyone is so attentive and the guards take great pleasure in telling you when there are animals nearby, one guard took us to see a baby giraffe that was at the edge of the camp and he was just as made up to see it as we were!

Tents are kept so clean and bug free, we struggled to believe we were in the middle of nowhere as the accomodation is just superb, as is the food.

Duncan was our driver and he really made our trip, we saw all the big 5 except the rhino and, as with all other staff, we got the impression Duncan enjoyed seeing the animals as much as we did!

Cannot fault LG at all, it was an unbelievable experience! My advice is that you have to go and see to appreciate how amazing it is!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for writing a review of Little Governors Camp. We are delighted that you found the staff and management to be wonderful and attentive, and that you liked the tents and the food. We are very happy that you found it to be an unbelievable experience! Thank you for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back on safari with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been to camps and lodges all over Africa - and LGC is the best I have ever seen. Where to begin???? The staff are truly superb. They are knowledgeable, attentive, and focused. The tents are more than you need with en suite bathrooms and running water. The breakfast/lunch area overlooks a grassy area that has anything from Cape Buffalo to baboons. Oh yes, uninvited lunch guests included elephant and warthog who ambled through the camp at will.

As for the game, absolutely phenomenal. But LGC sets the tone and ambiance.

LGC is not easily accessible. So if you cannot handle steps and/or have balance issues, I suggest you go to Governor's Camp.

Room Tip: Avoid the rainy season (around March). If you can afford it, take the balloon trip - what an expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenyancooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Little Governors Camp. Your comment that "I have been to camps and lodges all over Africa - and LGC is the best I have ever seen" is high praise indeed, so thank you for that. We are delighted you found the staff to be superb, knowledgeable, attentive and focused and that you liked the camp. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you back on safari with us sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Go to Little Governors!

We spent 3 nights at Little Governors and loved every minute of it. It is truly a fabulous experience.
From stepping off the plane, to back on at the end of our stay, we were super-well looked after.

Our guide, Lionel was excellent. He collected us from the airport and was our guide throughout. He was very knowledgable and lovely to be with every day. He showed us some amazing animals and really made the experience.

On arrival at LG, we were taken across the Mara river, to the camp. We were introduced to our tent attendant, William, who looked after our tent and brought us coffees/ teas etc in the mornings. The tents were lovely and comfortable with views of the marsh with hippos, zebra, buffalo, baboons, and plenty of birds! The camps' resident warthogs were about with babies!

The evenings were lovely, with the sound of nature, a few drinks around the campfire then a delicious dinner. Our waiter, Julius looked after us well at every mealtime.

The days started around 06.00 with a morning drive and we opted to take a picnic breakfast which was tasty. Lunch was great, under the trees, watching the marsh!

All in all, the camp is excellently run by manager George, there is a lovely atmosphere and it is a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

It is hard to do the place justice in a review, but we totally recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejaneh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for posting your review of Little Governors Camp. We are delighted to hear that you loved every minute of your safari and that you felt you were super-well looked after. We are happy to hear you thought that Lionel your guide was excellent and that you liked the camp, the food and the service. All your comments have been sent to camp and Lionel, William, Julius and George will be delighted to read them. Thank you for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was lucky enough to visit the Masai with Prestige Promotions, who book the whole of Little Governors every October. This has to be the best trip that I have ever been on, and I have travelled to some remote places. The whole experience was breath taking. 3 safaris every day, the hot air balloon ride was brilliant. The food was great, the staff were friendly. A highlight was a hippo just outside the front of our tent during the night. All I can say, if you ever get the chance Go GO GO

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your review of Little Governors Camp. We are delighted that you enjoyed the safari, the hot air ballooning and the food. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back on safari sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Little Governors Camp is a lovely tented safari camp. It is smaller with 18 tents, located on a marsh area enabling incredible wild life viewing while dining al fresco for lunch. The service is outstanding, food is enjoyable and the location is great. Staying within the park is the way to go, your safari starts the minute you start your drive. If you can, request Stanley for your driver/guide. He has 29 yrs of guiding experience and seems to sense/know what is going to happen and where to be. With limited wildebeest left in the Mara we managed to witness a crossing of the Mara because Stanley knew they were going to go. Amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMacT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing Little Governors Camp for your safari and for posting a review of the camp. Its great to hear that you found the service outstanding, he food enjoyable and the location great. it is certainly true that a highlight of all the Governors Camps is their location in the heart of the best game viewing area within the Masai Mara National Reserve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your safaris with Stanley and we hope to welcome you back on safari with us sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is one of the best places to stay on the Masai Mara Reserve, your heart will skip a beat it is an experience you will never forget and one you can tell the grand kids. The tents,food,atmosphere just brilliant, I must say Little Governs is far better than the main Governors,have stayed twice at MG and you just do not get the same service, there are to many people at MG. George the manager at LGC makes sure that all his guests get the best service from the start to the finish. Just cannot fault it 5 star service.

Room Tip: All the tents are good no need to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maciemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for your review of Little Governors Camp and for choosing Little Governors for your safari. We are happy you think that the camp is one of the best places to stay on the Masai Mara Reserve and that you felt the experience was one you will never forget. We are delighted that you enjoyed the tents, food, atmosphere and that you felt it delivered 5 star service. We hope to welcome you back again on safari with us sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
29.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,087 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#43 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
864 reviews
26.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Governors' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $592 - $1,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing