We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little camp in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little Governors' Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked this camp based on a recommendation from our travel agents, Imagine Africa. As this was for our honeymoon and first safari we wanted to be both close to animals but in a quieter camp and LGC delivered on both fronts. We were even able to see 3 of the Big 5 without leaving the camp!

The staff at LGC are all very friendly and helpful, from the manager to the armed guards who make sure you get to your tent safely at night.

Our driver guide Jackson was also very friendly and knowledgable. He was happy (and successful!) to accommodate our requests for viewing the animals we hadn't yet seen or had nice photos of.

We definitely recommend LGC and Imagine Africa as the service and overall quality of the trip exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Tents 12-17 are further away from the dining area so are quieter. All tents are around the watering...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBeckens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing Little Governors Camp for your honeymoon safari and for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found the camp to be quiet and close to all the wildlife action, that you found the staff friendly and helpful and your guide Jackson to be friendly and knowledgeable. Thank you for recommending Little Governors Camp. All your comments have been sent to camp and everyone will be thrilled to read them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Little Governors' Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 439 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

booked with virgin asked which camp they said they couldnt confirm at the time i booked but as both camps excellent reviews didnt matter i agreed. paid £6800 for 6 nights at governors and a 4 night beach stay afterwards. 4 days latter they phoned up said governors camp was fully booked and would upgrade to little gov. at a cost of another £680 after complaining they reduced it to £340. dont know whether its virgins fault or governors camp. but beware when booking; hope the holiday is worth all the hassle caused by this.NO PRICE DIFFERENCE WAS EVER MENTIONED WILL update when i return because i cant estabolish whos to blame will rate it 5 stars at moment

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank utopia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to LGC, the last 2 years ago. It's still our favourite safari destination in not only Kenya, but the whole of Africa.

Since our last visit, several improvements have been made. The beds now have modern high quality mattresses which are incredibly comfortable & supportive. The tents now have electric lighting, including a very useful charging point for your camera batteries etc.

We were very pleased to see that the lunch service has now returned to an outdoor buffet service. This is not only much faster but it allows one to choose exactly the right amount of food, therefore cutting down on waste.

During our stay Mel picked up a 24 hour tummy bug. All of the staff were extremely helpful & she was spoilt with frequent room service. A doctor wasn't in any way required but his services were offered if necessary. This was most reassuring.

Our safaris were as enjoyable as ever & the variety of animals on view in front of the camp increases with each visit. We met several travellers who had arrived here from other camps in both Kenya & Tanzania. All agreed that Little Governors was by far the best of all.

Our parting gifts were a very kind thought. We will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a high numbered tent.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing Little Governors Camp for your safari and for posting a review of the camp on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that Little Governors is your favourite safari destination in Africa!
We are also very happy that you like the upgrades we have made to the camp. We are sorry to hear Mel picked up a bug, but we are happy that you felt re-assured by our in camp doctor. We are very happy that you enjoyed the game drives and we look forward to welcoming you back on safari with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Well what can we say, a truely amazing, outstanding experience and we can not recommend highly enough!

We originally booked for Governors Camp but were upgraded to Little Governors Camp due to overbooking. Everything was perfect, the staff can not do enough for you, food was fantastic - so much of it, the luxury tents are just that, so many nice little touches that made it extra special. Fantastic to have the tents (unfenced) infront of a large watering hole with so much wildlife to see when you are not on the game drives.

The game drives were amazing and our driver very knowledgeable. We got to see 3 out of the big 5 but our greatest wish was met when we got to see the great wildebeest migration crossing the mara river - a truely breathtaking experience.

All in all a perfect experience for a perfect honeymoon. Book one of the governors camps - you won't be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review of Little Governors Camp. We are thrilled to read that you found the experience to be amazing and outstanding and everything to be perfect. Thank you for recommending us and for choosing to stay at our camps for your honeymoon safari.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on safari with us sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

What an amazing experience staying at the camp! Outstanding service from all the staff, delicious food and spacious tents! My family an I felt very safe at all times even though there were animals roaming around the camp. Our driver stanley was a fantastic guide!! Very knowlegable and seemed to always get us to the right spots to see all the animals. He really helped make the holiday extra special! Also joeseph in the bar, our waiter onesmus and daniel and charles who looked after us in our tents did a brilliant job! We had such an amazing holiday here! The memories will last a life time!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for posting such a complimentary review of Little Governors Camp. We are delighted that you enjoyed the safari so much and that you found the overall experience to be amazing. You comments will be forwarded on to camp and Stanley, Joseph, Onesmus, Daniel and Charles will be thrilled to read your comments. We hope to welcome you back on safari with us sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

On our arrival this time, Possum; one of the elephant bulls that likes to regularly visit Little Governors' camp was visiting the camp as we were checking in. What a great welcoming committee! One of the most famous lion prides in the world hang out only 8 minutes from the camp and once again we enjoyed watching the camp's resident wart hog family while eating lunch. The baby warthogs are really cute. During our stay this year we went up in the hot air balloon that takes off right from behind the camp. Some people have to get up really early to drive to the camp to go on their hot air balloon ride. We only had to walk about 100 feet! My wife was especially nervous about going as she isn't comfortable with heights, but the flight was so gentle and the basket comes up to your armpits, so you feel very secure. It was an amazing experience. Our highlight of this trip was the morning that we were photographing lion cubs while just across a swamp, a leopard climbed a tree, then 50 feet away from the lion cubs, two big male lions were fighting over a female in estrus. There was so much action that we literally had a difficult time trying to decide which wildlife to watch. The best part is all of this action happened within about a 100 foot radius, all within a ten minute drive from the camp!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for posting your review of Little Governors Camp. its great to hear that you enjoyed returning to the camp and your welcome from Possum. We are delighted that you enjoyed seeing the wildlife and the hot air balloon safari. We look forward to welcoming you back on safari with us sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

A person cannot really review a dream which became reality, Massai Mara is a dream, lots and lots of animals compared to other reserves, Predators everywhere which gets you more and more excited to wake up at 5 am and go to watch them. Great service and Great Food. Kenya I'm Amazed

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alhalawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of Little Governors Camp. It is great to hear that you found the Mara to be a dream and that you found the food and service at Little Governors to be great. We hope we can welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.3 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#45 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
249 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#31 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
353 reviews
20.5 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sentinel Mara Camp
Sentinel Mara Camp
#27 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Governors' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $626 - $1,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing