We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birthday safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Governors' Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This was the centrepiece of a safari organised for my birthday by Imagine Africa. They arranged a great deal on an upgrade from Main Governor’s Camp to Little Governor’s Camp. Having spent a short time in Main Governor’s, we much preferred the more intimate atmosphere at Little Governor’s. I would certainly recommend the Hot Air Balloon flight, and the bush breakfast was magical. Our driver/guide, Mina, arranged all our other trips and through his skill within a few days he was able to show us a great variety of game with the highlights of two leopards one evening and a Wildebeest crossing the next morning. As with the other Governor’s camps, the staff were excellent and put on a surprise Masai dance and birthday cake at dinner one evening.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NT_UK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 459 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

Little Governor's Camp is by far my favourite of the Governor's family in the Masai Mara. With just 17 tents and an optimal location it blends a great safari experience with all the comfort necessary. This is not a luxury camp when compared to many camps in the Mara and compared to camps in South Africa and Botswana could even be described as fairly basic but don't stop reading.... When you are on safari you are there for the wildlife (if not it is a hefty price to pay for a tent). The tents are spacious and contain all that you really need, are immaculately clean and the gas lamps add beautifully to the atmosphere.

The camp's situation within the Mara triangle guarantees some of the best game viewing I know, no surprise then that this was for years the second home of the Big Cat Diary team.

The staff are professional and friendly, the drivers nothing short of excellent. Stanley has for years been our driver and he has never failed to delight us ....we have stayed at this camp time and time again and have been thrilled when friends and family have visited and loved it too.

Governor's run their own balloon safaris from Little Governors too, it means an early start but it is worth the effort.

The food is good although options for evening meals are somewhat limited and drinks from the bar are expensive. If you can opt to take a picnic breakfast and spend more time with the wildlife rather than coming back to camp for breakfast.

Access to Little Governor's to cross the river to the camp demands climbing up and down steps on either bank that would challenge anyone with mobility problems. In general this exercise is the price you pay every time you leave and return from game drives. Be prepared!

Early morning and evenings are cool and sometimes cold, come prepared with a fleece or jumper. Although blankets are available in the vehicles you will appreciate the additional warmth.

Room Tip: All the tents are of the same good quality, the most isolated tent of all is No. 17, tents 1-6 minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SANDJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Amazing place, granted I have never been to the other safari lodges.

The tent was luxurious, food was great, staff were excellent and the safaris were incredible.

The location with just 12(?) tents around a watering hole was perfect. You truly felt like you were alone among the animals.

We saw everything but a rhino and went on a walking safari which was very cool, albeit a little kitschy when it came to "learn how to throw a spear like a Massai".

It is a little pricey, but I think all the others are too. I guess that's just the cost of going on safari!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Little Govenor's gives you the best safari experience. The camp is as it should be, very comfortable, but not over the top luxury. The game viewing was outstanding. Our driver, Julius, had the exact balance of professionalism and sense of humor. The food is good and you have your very own Warthog begging at the table on his knees. On two days of our stay a herd of elephants walked right by our tent, pretty spectacular. Of the four camps that we stayed in for our safari, Little Governor's and the Masai Mara was "simply the best". You will be missing out if you don't include this on your safari list.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights and had the most fantastic time. Our driver, Joseph, was simply brilliant and worked very hard to show us everything. He had the ability to put the vehicle in the best positions for photographing the animals and was always willing to move the vehicle if we wanted a different shot. We had a picnic breakfast every day which meant that we could be out from 6.30 to 12.00 so gaining extra time to travel further. We saw all the animals you would expect, lion, leopard, cheetah, buffalo, hippo, elephant, giraffe, black rhino and every conceivable game animal. The high spots for us though were excellent sightings of a caracal and a serval, cats we had only dreamed of seeing in broad daylight. Although it was coming to the end of the migration we also got to see 2 river crossings which was a real bonus.
Little Governors Camp is quite an experience and you really do get elephants and hippos in and around camp but you are carefully guarded and we never once felt in any danger. The beds are comfortable and the tents are spotlessly clean but I wish there was more storage space, there was just 1 hanging rail for clothes, no cupboards or drawers.
We had asked for, and were given, tent 17 which is the furthest away from everything. It's only got tent 16 on one side the other being open to the marsh and plain. There is a small measure of inconvenience being so far away from the main buildings, that bit further to walk and on a couple of occasions we had trouble getting attention when we needed a guard to escort us to dinner (you can't walk around the camp on your own after dark).
One thing to emphasise though is the steepish steps from the river that you need to climb every day going backwards and forwards to the vehicles. Anybody who may have mobility problems or some elderly people might find it a bit of a struggle.
The food was OK, we aren't fussy eaters but while lunch was good with plenty of choice we found dinner a bit boring, soup every night to start and then either a meat or a vegetarian main course.
A 500 ml bottle of Tusker lager was $4 and an average price bottle of South African wine $30. Given what they charge I really do think the drinks should be inclusive.
All in all it is a brilliant place.

Room Tip: Tents 4 to 10 are nearest to the main camp area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nyn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We booked to stay at the Little Governors for 2 nights as part of two week honeymoon in Kenya with JT Safari's. Our stay at the little governors was a trip of a lifetime and the highlight of our honeymoon, which we will remember for years to come.

The camp is a very special and exciting place. From the river crossing on arrival... to eating outside by a fire while watching the wildlife pass through the camp. The camp provides a very special experience, which you do not get from many of the fenced lodges.

The luxury tents are pefect, spacious and very comfortable. The food is excellent and as good as any 5* Restaurant. The service also couldn't be beaten.

We were met by George the manager of Little Governors on arrival and we were well looked for our entrie stay. While we were staying at the Little Governors - Jonathan Scott (Wildlife expert and presenter of BBC big cat diaries) was staying at the camp and George arranged for us to meet Jonathan who signed a wildlife book for my wife.

The safari drives were incredible (just like big cat diaries) and the drivers have excellent knowledge of the Masai Mara and all of the wildlife. We saw all of the Big five and lots more due to local knowledge of our driver, who would wait patiently for us to observe the wildlife and take numerous photographs (5,000 in total).

The Little Governors was perfect in terms of wildlife viewing, experience and service. I would highly recommend staying at the Little Governors!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have just very reluctantly left Little Governors. What a fantastic place. The Mara is an amazing once in a lifetime experience that was so much better than I ever expected. Little governors is a perfect base. Incredibly relaxing and chilled. The location is brilliant, right in the best bit of the mara with the most animals and lions in particular. Only 10 mins from the airstrip. The tents were perfect. Spacious with a really comfy bed, spotlessly clean, not even any dust in them and I didn't see one bug! Most importantly it had a really good shower and constant hot water. We stayed in tent 14 and agree with other reviews that higher numbers are better although further from things. The food was really excellent quality for where you are, and we really love our food. Huge breakfast with really good English style bacon and sausages. A 3 course lunch of soup, fantastic homemade bread and dips, 2 choices of main and 3 desserts or cheese. Dinner was 4 courses and also excellent. Although you have ot pay for drinks they weren't too overpriced. Wine started at 25 dollars a bottle and was perfectly drinkable. For 30 dollars us you could get a nice bottle of south African wine. There is however a duty free shop at the safari link area in Wilson airport where you could pick up a bottle or two for 14 dollars and the camp will give you an ice bucket.
Eating outside was beautiful. Warthogs and elephants came into the camp every day. You cannot beat having lunch watching a family of elephants!
The game drives were also good. Our guide Leonard was very knowledgeable. The jeep was comfy and 5 of us went out together each day. We saw everything we wanted to except only managed the tail of a leopard! So many animals everywhere especially lions, and we even got to see a cheetah.
We did the balloon safari one day. It is ridiculously expensive but an amazing experience. We unfrotunatelywent up on a windy day and our pilot thought he would have to abandon the flight a couple of times. He also hit a tree and we landed at 20 knots an hour in the fastest landing of the year! Quite scary and uncomfortable smacking into the ground and dragging along hitting bushes and termite mounds as we went. However it certainly was an experience and it gave us our only rhino sighting of the trip. I would certainly recommend it.
Every morning you are woken with a cup of tea or coffee at a time of your choice and they provide free laundry for everything other than underpants, although a top of mine did get shrunk a bit.
Little governors is not cheap but it was excellent. I would highly recommend it. If I go back I would probably try il Moran as for not a lot more money drinks are included and I think the tents are perhaps a bit more luxurious. However I would still be delighted to return to little governors.

Room Tip: Go for 14 to 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
29.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#44 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
590 reviews
11 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#7 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
311 reviews
26.1 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Governors' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $574 - $1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing