We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$998
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$948
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,543
$1,411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Mara Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$644
$424
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
354
19
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
19
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalek riveroutdoor bathbush dinnergame drivesguide paulhis knowledgeevery mealour honeymoondining areaour waiterwatching hipposwonderful experienceknew wheremasai dancetented roomsdream come trueamazing place
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 375 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2017

Mara Explorer Camp was spectacular. The luxurious tent is right on the river and you can hear the hippos playing. The staff were so eager to please and I could not say enough about how wonderful they all were. We spent 5 nights there and this lodging was all-inclusive. The food was amazing and the game drives could not have been any better. This accommodation is located right in Maasai Mara Reserve. You get up in the morning and you are right there where the animals are. We saw more animals than I could have imagined. They were right next to our safari vehicle. They were so close that you could actually touch them. Of course, we didn't do that. Our guide, John was so knowledgeable and was able to answer all of our questions and always found so many animals for us each day. You have the option of going on 3 game drives a day. We chose to go on the morning drive (6:30 am) and the late afternoon drive (4:00 pm). There is one additional drive in the middle of the day, but most of the animals were sleeping in the middle of the day. We stayed at our lodging in the middle of the day and just rested and enjoyed our beautiful surroundings. It was one of the best places I have ever stayed at. Would recommend it highly to anyone. Would love to go back sometime. It was a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: There are only 10 or 11 tents on the river. They would all be amazing.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gosharongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence W, Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write your review about your stay with us at Mara Explorer, we are grateful. This most definitely was a holiday to remember for you with so much to behold during your 5 nights. You are very right, our location in the Maasai Mara reserve allows us to view so much in such a short distance, which makes game drives much fun and fulfilling.
Thank you for mentioning John as the one member of staff that stood out, for ensuring that your time out in the wild was great and memorable.
I note your comments too on the general service provision by the entire team, who are always a team to reckon in their excellent delivery of services.
We were glad to host you and we definitely look forward to hosting you once again, and so we say thank you, and welcome back soonest!
Asante sana!

Regards,
Mara Explorer team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

We spent 3 nights and 4 days at the Mara Explorer in June '17. It was an amazing place to stay. The camp is made up of ten canvas backed structures that are very far from being tents. Hardwood floors, running water, electricity (albeit only for 14 hours each day) are not common things found in tents.

We were greeted at a dirt airstrip by our guide John. He would remain with us for our entire stay and did an exceptional job of making sure we saw all of the best sites on the Mara. John was extremely skilled at finding the best animals in the most obscure locations and then positioning our vehicle for the perfect picture. He planned our drives to ensure we were never without a new experience. Beverages (Beer, water, juice) were plentiful and snacks (potato chips) were available. In the early morning, when it was cool, wool blankets were provided to ward off the morning chill.

Food was plentiful and varied. We took breakfast picnics on our morning rides to maximize the time we spent traveling the Mara. We would return for a hot lunch that had multiple choices and include beer, wine, soda and water. So many choices from fancy to simple (pizza and french fries). Meals were taken in an open air patio overlooking a stretch of Talak river filled with hippopotamus that entertained us throughout our meals. Our waiter, Noor, was attentive and accommodating to our every wish. Meals were a special time and exceptionally relaxing.

Our hostess, Florence, ensured we were comfortable, safe, well-fed and had experiences on the Mara that would creates stories lasting a life time. Florence met us the moment we arrived at the Explorer Camp and made sure she found us during the day to check that we had everything we needed. Her hospitality made our stay memorable.

Extra things we took advantage of while staying at the Explorer included a sun-downer (drinks and heavy hors d'oeuvres in the bush while the sun set), bush dinner by candle light, and a walking safari led by led by Francis, our private Maisa guide. Francis taught us much from reading footprints, pointing out edible plants, use of the various roots available for medicine, and understanding the Maisa culture.

Safety is paramount at the Mara Explorer. While we slept in an area inhabited by wild animals, we never feared for our safety. John ensured we were safe on the Mara and when in camp, Florence and her staff keep the animals away from our sleeping areas.

We highly recommend the Explorer as the place to stay in the Mara. We will stay there again on our next visit.

Brian and Heather, Colorado USA

Room Tip: All rooms are great...each with a private view of the Talak River
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence W, Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to review about your stay at Mara Explorer, we were glad to have hosted you here. We are elated to see such sentiments about a place, which is a clear indication that you had nothing but best of times while here.
We noted how everything fell in place for you from the pick up at the airstrip, to amazing hosting, excellent food quality and service, and your security too that was at its best.
This is one thing we pride in as Mara Explorer; we are a knit team that functions together to offer exquisite service to our guests. Thank you for trying out safari on foot too with the nature walks, which i note was a memorable time too for you!
We are glad that you have sweet memories that you would want to revisit on your comeback trip to the Mara. Thank you too for your recommendation of the property to others, we are grateful! We look forward to hosting you once again in the near future!

Thank you and karibu tena!

Kind Regards,
Mara Explorer team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile

I do not know where to start my review on this camp. Everything was exceptional. From the rooms, each private and over looking the river to the lodge itself which also overlooks the river full of resident hippos. Everyday we enjoyed an amazing lunch on the deck and watched the lazy hippos while enjoying a cold Tusker beer. The game drives were amazing and our guide John went through so much effort to get us the best sightings. We are forever grateful to him. Everyday we were treated to a surprise. If not a surprise sundowner in the bush, then it was a dinner in the bush or a breakfast in the bush. Thank you to Florence the camp manager for looking after us so well. She is the best there is! John our amazing guide, Noor and Eric the friendly waiters, Josephat and Konoi the great chefs, Jambo and Mataany the kitchen stewards, Samuel and Nelson for looking after the rooms so well and Maleto, Francis and Simeon for looking after our safety and chatting with us around the fire. You guys are an amazing team and we'll definitely be back again!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Stelpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mara Explorer and it is evident you had an amazing time.
The setting of the camp around the Talek river ensures you have great wildlife views while at the comfort of your tent. Our staff ensure that you get personalized service and I am grateful that you experienced that and got to know the individual staffs by name. Compliments have been passed to the team who did exceptionally well to ensure you will always have great memories of your stay.
Looking forward to host you again. Karibu Tena.

Kind Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017

Mara Explorer camp was absolutely amazing! The luxurious tents are located right along the river which allows for amazing views and excellent hippo watching. The staff at Mara Explorer are incredible. I felt right at home and so comfortable throughout my entire stay. I would highly recommend this camp to anyone lucky enough to visit Kenya.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jen84020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback. It is evident that you had an amazing stay and the team is glad that you chose Mara Explorer.
Mara Explorer is truly a gem with an outstanding location along the Talek River and great views can be seen at the comfort of the camp.
We all look forward to hosting you on a repeat visit.

Kind Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile

This may sound more like an advertorial only because I actually cannot rave about this place enough. We had high expectations as this was #1 on the bucket list. The team at Mara Explorer way exceeded our high standards- nothing was too much of an effort. We also genuinely made friends with the staff. John our ranger was phenomenal- so passionate about wildlife. As for the rest of the services I cannot fault anything, but stand out for me was that everyday they plan something special without you even knowing.... thanks to Florence and her team for a seamless stay....we miss you guys already!!!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay at Mara Explorer.
I have shared the awesome notes with the team led by Florence and they are all delighted that through the team efforts your stay was seamless. It is such feedback that motivates the team to continuously deliver quality service and products to our guests.
Thank you once again and we look forward to the many guests you will send our way. Karibu Tena.

Kind Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews