We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mara Explorer Camp
Nearby Hotels
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
$152
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$409
$315
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $407/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$252
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $304/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/31
$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveler rating
332
19
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
19
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalek riveroutdoor tubbush dinnergame drivesguide paulhis knowledgereubenevery mealwalkie talkieour honeymoonwatching hipposour waiterresident hipposfirst morningwonderful experiencemasai danceknew where
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 353 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Mara Explorer is located in the heart of the Mara = Close to one of the Airport Ol Kiambo ( sorry for the spelling if incorrect ) . Was there at the time of the migration and we saw absolutely everything . Black rhino to the leopard called Olive !! It was an amazing day !! One of the highlights was of course seeing-Malika the Cheetah who jumps on cars .. Wow !! The driver we had was also excellent - very knowledgeable and seemed to know exactly where there animals were !
The camp itself is clean- spacious and very comfortable -friendly staff , cater to all your needs . Dinner is Al a carte and food is great. I would recommend the tent near the hippo pool as there is nothing that tells you more that you are in Africa than waking up with the hippos snorting in the water !

Room Tip: I would recommend the tent near the hippo pool as there is nothing that tells you more that you are in Africa than waking up with the hippos snorting in the water !
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

So glad you enjoyed. Makes us truly happy as the Service providers.
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you only ever stay in one hotel then make it this one – it is wonderful! The location is humbling, the atmosphere cannot be bettered and the staff are truly special.
The camp location is idyllic, overlooking a bend in the river where hippos rest on the shore in the sun, zebra and baboons cross over the ford and impala come to drink – all while you are sitting on the veranda with a beer!
The “tents” are very comfortable – beds have memory foam mattresses – and the bathrooms well appointed. Be prepared for the occasional noise at night, by which I mean lions roaring, elephants, hippos, etc …..
The food is true fine dining with excellent choice; well cooked, presented and served. Dinner in the bush around the campfire was a great experience.
Particular thanks to Steve who made us feel at home and looked after all of our administration; Godfrey who treated us like royalty and kept us fed and watered, Daniel who kept us well guarded, showed us the camp and entertained my son; and Dennis who was the best guide/driver one could have. He was extremely knowledgeable about the Mara environment and the wildlife, knew where and when to find a most beautiful leopard, showed us the wildebeest crossing the Mara river, got us close to lions fighting, cheetah, elephants and all the other game, and found some great places to have breakfast! Thanks also to all the people behind the scenes who we didn’t meet but nonetheless contributed to our stay.
It was a real privilege to have stayed here.
Stayed 2 nights August 2013, 2 adults and 2 children aged 15 and 12, in 2 tents.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for this awesome feedback. In Mara Explorer are MAD. ( Make a Difference) I am glad we made it for you
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I have spent 1 week in the Mara explorer in August, and that was the best experience we had in Kenya! Indeed, we have been living in Kenya for more than 3 years and we have done a lot of various lodges and this one is by far the best one. The location is idyllic, the food is just excellent (from my point of view the chef will deserve a french etoile (star), the camp manager Steve is very efficient and handles his camp with an excellent hand. The guides for the game drives are the best we have ever had in Kenya, thank you Paul!!!!

To sum up, I will advise you to go without any hesitation to Mara explorer!

Thank you to all the mara team!!!! You are the best

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nath_erwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
This is the kind of comment I add nothing too. It is all inclusive. I am so glad you came and stayed with us.
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had 3 lovely days in Mara Explorer, The Camp was simply fantastic.
I am normally the skeptic type and would never rate anything 5 star, but must when it is called for.
The tents where absolutely lovely, with views over the river. The bathtub on the verandah was a great little extra, soaking up while looking down over the river and the wildlife. Everything very luxurious.
The food was simply fantastic. We never expected food in this great quality so far out in the bush, like a 5star restaurant in an European city. And the service; Godfrey was simply the best! I have rarely if ever experienced so attentive or personal service. He made every meal special. Maria loved her birthday song, and the cake:-)
The Game drives. We drove with Paul. Probably the most knowledgeable safari guide one could ever find. He simply knew everything there is to know! We were fortunate enough to see all the animals possible, and I am sure only due to the fact that we were driving with Paul. When we are going back to the Masai Mara, We will only be driving with Paul…Period!
Steve the camp manager was also amazing. Personal and attentive, and showed a real interest in how your day had gone by. Your jolly mood was fantastic and contagious. The overall management of the camp and the personnell make many luxury hotels look like amateurs.
In no way to neglect the rest of the personnel which where all simply fantastic. So Steve, Godfrey, Paul, and all the rest of you, thanks for simply amazing 3 days. We will be back as soon as we can.
Best regards
Martin & Maria

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

As you perhaps know i respond to all Guests Comments on this Forum. Some of them make me so happy i can cry. This is one of them. We are so glad you stayed with us.
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The game drives and our guide Vincent were fantastic, and could not have been better. Engaging, knowledgeable about Kenya, the game, plants, and the ecosystem, Vincent gave us a broad overview of this incredible part of Kenya. The staff was helpful, friendly and very professional. The "tents" were luxurious, and the food was absolutely amazing. The chef, wait staff and camp staff were attentive and always helpful. We recommend this lodge with no reservations, and would love to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed. Thank you for posting this awesome feedback.
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews