We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$998
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,017
$970
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Mara Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$644
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$948
$867
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Entumoto Safari Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
354
19
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
19
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalek riveroutdoor bathbush dinnergame drivesguide paulhis knowledgeevery mealour honeymoondining areaour waiterwatching hipposwonderful experienceknew wheremasai dancetented roomsdream come trueamazing place
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 375 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We and no idea that our experience at the Mara Explorer would be so incredible. We flew into the Mara in a small plane from Nairobi and the resort is literally 5 minutes from the landing strip. From the moment we were greeted, shown around and escorted to our abode, a luxurious, romantic and cozy tent next to a flowing river, we felt like we were in a dream sequence. When we went to our room that first night after dinner, we were gloriously surprised that our sumptuous bed was turned down and had two hot water bottles tucked under the sheets, a delightful way to slip away into slumber, as the sounds of the night lulled us to sleep.

The game drives left us nothing to want for, as our guide, Vincent, showed us every kind of animal one would want to see, including a rare black rhino, a pair of cheetahs, and a mother leopard and cub, among all the other wild inhabitants that peacefully roam the Mara. Vincent was intelligent, experienced, and very pleasant and friendly. We will request him again, as he made the game drives exciting and delightful.

Our meals were amazing and the service was impeccable. We did not expect the variety of fresh foods, eclectic menus and high quality. Our server Odin was one of the most gracious hosts and we looked forward to seeing him every day. He took care of us like we were royalty. One of the highlights of the day was to wind down around the fire with other guests, cocktails in hand, before being escorted to our private table, under a billowing tree, to dine and reminisce on the day's adventure.

We travel extensively worldwide, but to say this was a trip of a lifetime is no exaggeration. We are planning to go back with our grown children to share this with them.

Room Tip: We were pleased with tent 4!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucrecia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
It is always my pleasure to be the one responding to such Guests reviews particularly when the Guest immensely enjoyed themselves.
What a pleasure to have been of service
The Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our second trip to Maasai Mara and it couldn't get any better than this. The camp is at the best location possible and has very friendly staff - from the guide, waiters, guards to the manager. The Bush dinner was an unforgettable and one of the most romantic dinners ever! We stayed at Tent 4 which was right in front of the hippo's. The tents are beautiful and very well maintained. When it gets dark, its quite scary to walk around after dinneras you can hardly see anything at all, though the guards try their best in making you feel safe. However, its not recommended for the weak hearted, you can hear wild animals grazing right outside your tent or lions roaring so close by! Nevertheless, If you like to be the closest to wilderness, no place can beat this

Room Tip: Tent 4- noisy but awesome!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savvy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We are exhilarated that you had a nice time.
The Mara Explorer Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This tented property is a shear delight - the views and the service. The guides are all knowledgeable and in touch with each other if there is a siting. I was volunteering next to this property at the Koyiki Guiding School and had the occasion to go over and Steve was very hospitable -- Enjoying drinks with a spectacular view that is breathtaking. A must stop to see the new tents in beautiful decor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank slovakianchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We are so glad you liked the Unit. We are honored to have hosted you.
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent our last 3 nights in Kenya at the Mara Explorer and it was a delight. This was my third trip to the Mara and the best accomodation. The service and friendly staff left me with many great memories. I saw the Great Migration, went on a walking tour that was very informative, saw so many of the wonderful animals. We had a bush BBQ that was a pleasant surprise and was a fun evening. We were always walked to our tents by a guard after an relaxing evening in the lounge and dining room looking over the river. From our tent we viewed the river with many hippos and could hear them at night, It just doesn't get any better. I hope to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent 2 Mbili . It had a great view of river and hippos
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hutchison709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

So glad you had such a wow experience. The team will be honored to host you again
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Mara Explorer Camp in early August. We had six nights in the Masai Mara and had contemplated splitting the time between two different camps, but as we were looking to really relax, we decided to stay all six nights at the Mara Explorer Camp. It was the best decision we ever made. Steve, the incredible manager, kindly moved us midway through from tent 6 to tent 4, with each offering their own reward: tent 6 had monkeys hanging out that we didn't see anywhere else during our stay. We were also treated to a baboon show and a herd of elephants late one afternoon. Tent 4 has the extraordinary view of the hippos. What we loved most about the explorer was the understated but impeccable service. You feel as if you're in the jungle, but it's the most luxurious jungle imaginable. All of the staff are genuine, friendly and caring people who provide an incredible level of service while making it all look effortless. And the food isn't simply good food for a camp in Kenya, it's great food, period--delicious, creative and beautifully presented. I live in London and eat out a lot and I still miss the food at the Mara Explorer, not to mention the scenery at the restaurant, which is pretty hard to beat, as was the service we received from the lovely Jeremiah. I'd been dreaming of going on safari for more than 20 years, and the Mara Explorer did not disappoint. It is difficult to imagine that there is a better place to stay in the Masai, or elsewhere. From Joseph our excellent guide to James and Samuel who looked after us in our tents, to the kitchen staff and the lovely Masai gentlemen who escorted us to and from our tents at night, our thanks for the experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Hello Guest,
As you may know i do comment on all comments posted on this forum. There are many which are correct that i need not add any comment. This is one of them. So glad you made the Mara Explorer.
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews