We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in the Mara”
Review of Mara Explorer Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mara Explorer Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our first visit to Mara Explorer Camp and probably not our last because we really loved every second of our 4 night stay. We visit Kenya regularly and of all the places we stayed in the Masai Mara this is our favorite now.

The luxurious tents along the Talek river, the quit laid back atmosphere, the awesome food, the really great staff and our ‘super’ guide Paul made our stay unforgettable.
Came home with lovely memories of the camp and its people and hope to be able to go back as soon as possible. Thanks everybody at Mara Explorer for taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 342 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you ever have the luck to visit the Mara Explorer, which by the way has excellent service from very friendly staff, you must stay at tent No. 4. In this tent you will have very unexpexted neighbours in the pool next door. The occupants are one or two families of hippos who spend most of the day cooling off in the pool waiting for their feeding time in the eveining.

This happens from 7.30 pm onwards and is quite something to watch! The huge fellows will groaan and grant as they leave the pool and although this is quite a marvel in itself, the real treat is watching the sheer size of the beasts majority of them in excess of 3 tons! Their return to the pool in the wee hours of the morning is quite a noisy affair though.

I enjoyed waking them from their afternoon nap and seeing the surprises on their startled faces.

Hey1 It's quite something.

Room Tip: Tent No.4 is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Mara Explorer was really the highlight of our trip to Kenya, the staff were perfectly friendly and attentive and the camp itself was to die for! The tents were very luxurious (we had tent 4), with a bath outside, walkie talkies to call for escorts and a novel 'do not disturb' sign (Masai spear). Comfy beds, great service and powerful, hot showers! Food was incredible and sitting by the camp fire in the evenings was very romantic! We would have been impressed with this wherever we were, but to find it in the middle of the Masai Mara just made it even more special. We were on honeymoon and this was exactly what we had in mind when we booked. You even get the use of the more 'resort style' Intrepids camp should you need it (shop, internet, pool). Just one question. When can I go back?

Room Tip: They are all great and look out onto the river. Tent 4 has the corner spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamesa7242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are exhilarated you enjoyed. A honey moon is a special time and we are glad you made an impact in your life.
The Doors to Mara Explorer are open for you always. We are now Family with you.
God Bless
The Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

the service is outstanding from all the staff from the minute you land on the airstrip to when you depart. high-level of personal attention and devotion to making sure you enjoy yourself, regardless of the length of your stay. Absolutely divine. Food was so scrumptious (and lots of it) the tents were beautiful - each with warm indoor showers and outside bathtubs with a view of the river. hippos were playing in the river right outside the tents. highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexicon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are so glad you had such an awesome time in the Unit. Mara Explorer is committed to excellence and we are glad we appealed to all your senses.
We look for ward to more visits from you and those you will send our way.
We are excited you came
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Explorer Camp. The tents are comfortable, clean & well appointed with en-suite facilities. They are well spaced & very private, with the novelty of a bath on the balcony overlooking the river (that was great fun). There are tea/coffee making facilities in the tent & the use of a ‘butler’ should you require it.
The position of the camp overlooking the river is lovely with every tent having a river view from the balcony & a charming view over the river from the bar & the dining room. The staff are friendly & unobtrusively attentive & the food was delicious.
We particularly enjoyed the fact that with no fence the camp is open to any passing animals & you are provided with a ‘walkie talkie’ to call for an escort when leaving the tent in the dark.
We had a great time & thoroughly enjoyed the Explorer Camp.

Room Tip: Tent 4 has best view of the river & hippos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterMaeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Hello,
We are glad you had such a special time in the Explorer. You are always invited to come again with friends.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This resort and the Mara in general it the most amazing place in the world. The staff were 1st class, wicked sense of humour. Food out of this world Tent no. 4 truly amazing. We were on honeymoon but that paled into nsignificance. We desperately want to go back but are worried it will ruin our first experience, the balloon ride WOW. It surpassed our expectations. The migration awesome. Cannot rate this place highly enough

Room Tip: Tent No. 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kell2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Hello Guest,
All our tents are very good but we agree with you Number 4 has some Magic around it. Glad you liked it.
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Of all our places to stay in Africa this was our favourite. The staff go out of their way to accommodate you, are friendly and so helpful. They took my mum under their wing and made sure she was so taken care of.
The hippos are amazing and we had elephants opposite us on the back grazing.
The security team was friendly and make sure you get where you need to go. It's not often you have to stay home for half an hour to let the elephants pass by!
We simply loved staying here. Thank you team for the experience and the memories.

Room Tip: We had Tent 6 but saw two others that were just as good. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
we are glad you found the team at the Mara Explorer to have been great. It is always our pleasure to be of service and I am glad we satisfied you.
We look forward to having you here again soon.
Good Evening,
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.5 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
880 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#77 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
8.4 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
#50 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#6 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
203 reviews
13.5 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#29 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Explorer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Explorer Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $687 - $1,503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Explorer Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Masai Mara, Mara Explorer Camp is set on its own private peninsula, with each of its ten luxurious tents opening to the Talek River and the stunning savanna. The tents, equipped with all mod cons are set on wooden decks opening out to a private verandah where you can enjoy time alone in the wild away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Mara Explorer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Explorer Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Explorer Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing