We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Purrfect”
Review of Mara Explorer Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mara Explorer Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Simply Purrfect”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We spent 4 days (3 nights) at the Mara Explorer Camp & couldn't fault it in any way. The service was brilliant, the food fantastic and all the staff (headed up by Steve) so friendly and helpful - they just want you to have a great time. The tents are lovely, very comfortable and you can't get a better location - right in the bush. Our driver (James) was extremely knowledgeable and we got to see the big five. We would have to give it a score of 11 out of 10! Hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
175
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nantes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The staff is great, always available and very efficient, and make you feel you are a very special gest to them...
The game drives where wonderful with our dedicated own ranger and land-rover.
The meals were very good and tasty.
Be aware this camp is not fenced, so you may have some wild life walking around the tents at night time (we had hypos next to our tent the first night). But you are safe in the tent. That is the reason why children are not allowed and you have to call via radio at night to have somebody to escort you out...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gael44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Hello Guest,
We are glad you came, you enjoyed and left happy people. we are truly honoured that we contributed to your nice stay.
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent 3 days and 3 nights at Mara Explorer camp. It was a great experience! Our tent was fantastic, the food was delicious, and the staff was very friendly. Stephen did a terrific job organizing our stay and James was an awesome guide. We saw the big five during our stay and the drives were very cool. We truly felt at home here and we were sorry to leave but we have lots of great memories of our trip to Kenya.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are glad you enjoyed the your stay at the Explorer. We are honored to have contributed to your Honeymoon being special
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This was the second stage of our safari - having spent 4 days previous in Samburu. We were greeted at the airstrip by our guide Joseph, who very quickly sorted out the arrangements for our game drives. He was very happy to combine the two morning game drives into one long one - taking breakfast out with us. He was an excellent guide, very knowledgable and friendly - a credit to the company!
The drive from the airstrip to the camp took about 5 mins and we were checked in very quickly by the manager who explained how everything ran. We were suprised that everything including including wine and beer was included in our package. The location of the dining area is lovely overlooking the river where we saw an abundance of wildlife.
Our tent was not overlooked by any other and each tent has its own view of part of the river. we constantly heard hippos down in the river splashing about. It was a magical place to sit and relax on the decking after a mornings game drive.
The tents are very well appointed, a very comfortable large bed and good washing/shower area. My wife even managed to use the outside bath one afternoon! We had plently of hot water and electricity went off on a morning and about 11:30pm at night.
One excellent idea they have is the fire pit which is lit on a night - all the guests sit around before and after dinner discussing the days game drives - its a really nice way of etting to know the other guests. The food at the camp was very very good - the chefs prepared some excellent meals with fresh vegetables - which i believe are from a garden they have there. Its amazing the standard that the food was given the location of the camp! The camp is open and two early morning game drives showed how open it is - lioans walking into the top end of the camp! (There are staff patrolling on a night which helps to keep the animals away - however you can still here them on a night - fantastic lying in the dark hearing a lion roaring!).
Our guide was great and ensured that we got to see all the big 5 - the guides all keep in touch with each other via radio - this enabled us to be quickly on scene to see the animals. We saw seevral kills and river crossings during our stay and the weather changed from hot sunshine to thunder and lightening.
Again as with Samburu its great for photography!
All the staff at the camp deserve praise for their attentio to detail and knowledge - I agree with other reviewers about feeling safe - despite getting very close to the animals.
Breakfast down by the river is something we will always remember- watching the crocs and hippos!
This area had a different feel to Samburu - however both areas are special in their own right!
I will return here sometime in the future and would highly recommend the camp. We travelled with Kuoni and flew with Safari tours. (I would not recommend mini-bus travel to and from the camps - too far and the roads are not good).
The final highlight was the flight from Masi Mara to Ukundo on the coast - it was in a refurbished DC3 (Dakota)!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - all have river views not overlooked by any of the other tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Durham_KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is great you had a great experience while staying with us. It is so true that Explorer is in a standard of itself. The Associates are the best one can have in the World and I am so humbled to working with such great persons.
The team looks for ward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Good Day
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

What an amazing experience! We just loved every second! The location of the camp on the river, the luxurious tents, the super friendly and professional staff and the incredibly huge diversity of animals were just out of this world. If you ever get the chance to visit this place, go for it! The Masai Mara and the Explorer Camp will take your breath away and unforgettable memories are guaranteed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are grateful you got the time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We do appreciate your kind remarks. These have been posted to the Wall of Fame and our Associates are exhilarated that they were of service.
We all look for ward to seeing you again soon.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The camp itself is amazing, it is exciting to know that the animals can come and go and we did hear them right outside at night, yet we felt absolutely safe in the care of the staff, who could not be more welcoming or helpful. From the early morning wake up call with coffee & biscuits, through the outstanding game drives by day, to the subtle topping up of my wine glass by the camp fire and the hot water bottle in my bed at night, I could not have dreamed of better service.
I have to mention Vincent our driver guide who, as well as being extremely knowledgeable, had amazing eyesight to spot animals that others missed. The vehicle too looked much more comfortable and capable than those from other camps. We saw three leopards on our first game drive & by the end of our short stay he had shown us all the big 5, a wildebeest crossing and so much more. Vincent is such a gentleman and had a lovely sense of humour too, we highly recommend him. We particularly enjoyed learning swahili from him while the wildebeest made up their minds about crossing the river! The option to take a breakfast box and merge the two morning game drives is another real bonus here. I will never forget drinking coffee from a china mug and eating a pastry while sitting watching rival leopards fighting over territory... amazing.
The camp itself is in an excellent location and the tents have wonderful views of the river life, as does the dining terrace. Speaking of which, the food is absolutely outstanding, plenty of choice and so fresh, we were amazed that this could be possible here and can only congratulate the two charming chefs on their achievements.
Within the tents the bed was very comfortable, the shower was excellent with plenty of hot water at the times of day that you want it and the walkie talkie was reassuring for contact when we needed it!
This was our first experience of a safari holiday and we are hoping it won't be our last. Wonderful place, incredible wildlife, lovely people. We couldn't ask for more. Thank you to the Mara Explorer team!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for posting feedback on the Tripadvisor forum. We are glad you had a nice time and you have expressed it quite clearly.
We do note the good comments about Vincent, who incidentally was voted the "Best Driver Guide" in Kenya in 2011. He is a moving encyclopaedia and it is such a honour to work with him.
We have plans to make Mara Explorer a better place and your comments will go a long way in making us reach where we aspire too.
The Team in Mara Explorer wishes you all well.
Good Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We chose this as an indulgence on a very special safari with our best friends.

It didn't disappoint - the accommodation was comfortable and luxurious, the staff were attentive without being overbearing, the food and drinks were of a high quality and sufficient to satisfy 'safari' appetites.

We opted for 'all morning' game drives, with breakfast in the bush, and both morning and late afternoon adventures were excellent. Joseph was a superb driver/guide. He was skilled at getting us into the right position whilst giving the wildlife the space and respect it deserved.

Of the five tented camps or lodges in Kenya, that we have experienced, Mara Explorer Camp is the finest.

Room Tip: All tents appeared to be equally good and comfortable with complete privacy and views over the Talek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your latest stay at Mara Explorer. I have taken note of the many good comments about Joseph and I will ensure he gets a copy of this review. We do run a scheme where staff are rewarded for outstanding mentions in the Tripadvisor and I think he becomes a candidate for an award.
Mara Explorer is special and what a privilege for us to be part of this "Jewel in the Park" and having contributed to your well being.
We all invite you to come again soon and with your Friends.
Till then it is a Happy New Year from the Team here.
Good Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.5 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#18 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#13 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#34 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
293 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Mara Eden Safari Camp
#40 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
169 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#39 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Explorer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Explorer Camp

Property: Mara Explorer Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Explorer Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Masai Mara, Mara Explorer Camp is set on its own private peninsula, with each of its ten luxurious tents opening to the Talek River and the stunning savanna. The tents, equipped with all mod cons are set on wooden decks opening out to a private verandah where you can enjoy time alone in the wild away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mara Explorer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Explorer Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Explorer Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing