We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing expierence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing expierence”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the Royal Mara in Oct 2012 as part of our Honeymoon. It was the most amazing experience. Everything was fantastic. Our tent (more like a luxury hotel room) was beautiful & very comfortable. The staff looked after us so well, it was such a shame to have to leave. We were woken early in the morning with coffee & then we went on safari. After our morning safari, we had breakfast, some free time or a walking safari if you wanted, then lunch followed by afternoon safari.
The food was delicious, so much more than we were expecting! We even had lunch out in the wild served with cold beer.
Our safaris were amazing, we saw all of the big 5 during our 3 day stay. We have such great memories from our trip, we cant wait to get back someday.
Special thanks to our driver James, waiter Steven & housekeeper Johnson who made our stay what it was - unforgettable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first tent - Kiboko. Excellent views & very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillyd95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    23
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
113
211
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was my 3rd Safari and the Royal Mara certainly exceeded all previous experiences. The location on the Mara river is stunning, the Lodge was out of this world, accommodation can only be described as 5 star.
The Safari experience was great, the Landcruiser jeeps were the perfect vehicle, Wilson our driver/guide was absolutely fantastic. Lions, Cheetah, Leopard, gosh everything was on view, Wilson knew exactly where to take us.
Back at the Lodge the experience just got better. George Jr. proprietor was not only the perfect host but also an encyclopaedia of information and nothing was too much trouble.
We booked our trip through "You and nature by Elisabeth ("www.you-and-nature.com")in Diani Beach, again a wonderful experience because Elisabeth was so helpful and delivered everything that she promised, and more. I am sure that we will be back.

Room Tip: Frankly all lodges looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Complog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the most exclusive resort we have ever stayed in. This resort just has a few rooms, and that is why you receive very personal care all the time. Most of the food outings are arranged outdoors, and is a very special experience, as you are in the middle of the wild. The hippos pay you a visit at night, and it is very nice to hear them graze so close to you. The camp drivers are very knowledgable, and one meets them with the same enthusiasm every day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VK2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Royal Mara Lodge really is a magical place. The accommodation is stunning, the setting by the river amazing, and the staff incredibly warm and attentive, The owner, George, is a mine of information about the Masai and the wildlife and really made the experience special for us. Simon our safari guide was brilliant at spotting animals so we saw the Big 5 and many others in our three days. We felt very lucky to have such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We visited the Royal Mara at the end of November. This was our second visit - we loved it so much last year, we just had to go back!

We booked through Abdul at Tunda Tours again and went for the 2 night, 3 day safari. Because we knew exactly what we wanted to do, we booked early from the UK. He sorted everything for us and we paid no money until we arrived in Kenya. He collected us from the hotel in Watamu and we travelled to Malindi for the flight out to the Mara. We were the only ones on the flight so we really did feel like Royalty.

On arrival at the airstrip, we were met by James and taken back to the Lodge. Stephen checked us in very speedily and then we were shown to our 'tent'. As we had previously visited last year, we knew exactly what we were getting, although we both still had a grin from ear to ear when we walked in. The tents are fantastic - spotlessly clean, well equipped and have a perfect outlook of your very own hippos in the Mara River and your own monkeys trampelling over the roof.

Words can't quite describe this place - you have to experience it, but it really is magical. The staff are amazing, the acommodation is amazing, and the food is fantastic.

Apparently we were visiting in low season so the camp was very quiet, on our second night there were only 2 other guests. In some ways this was great because you really did get a personal service - but in other ways, the camp lacked the buzz of the guests talking about what they had seen. It by no means affected our trip though and I think pretty much every member of staff endured our tales about the lions, the cheetas, the tiny baby zebra, the tiny baby elephant and his family in the herd of 50+ elephants.

Our guide was James - he's a relatively new game drive guide (last year he did the walking safaris) and he was fantastic. He talked to us about what we wanted to see and he did absolutely everything he could to make sure we saw everything on the list. He is so knowledgeable about all the animals and as a Masai himself, he told us lots of things about the Masai way of life. The only animal we missed this time was the elusive leopard, which means that we'll have to go back!

We did the walking safari with Regan and Sammy which was really interesting too. We tracked along the river to find the crocs and hippo families and then walked out into the Mara where we were up close to buffalo, giraffes and water buck. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

The food is just superb. We were in the middle of the Masai Mara and how on earth they produce the abundence and quality of food they do escapes me. Some of our local restaurants could really do with taking a leaf out of their book.

We visited the Masai camp this time. Very very interesting, although when you see the market, maybe it's a little commercialised. There must have been in excess of 25 stalls all selling exactly the same things. We obviously weren't forced to buy, but as the only 2 visitors at that time we did receive 'one-to-one' service !

All in all, a fantastic safari - we wouldn't hesitate in recommending Abdul or the Royal Mara. We're already planning our return. Thank you Abdul, James (the camp manager), James (our fantastic safari guide), Stephen (reception and waiter), Karia (housekeeper), Regan, Sammy (guards and walking safari guides) and the rest of the team. See you next year !

Alison and Mark

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lil_alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Safari Link flight to Masai Mara gives you only a glimpse of what is to come.If you thought seeing herds of gazzells and wildebeests from the plane grazing is it...it is not!

Karibu..welcome to the Royal Mara resort.The most hospitable resort I have every been to.They actually have only 8 cottages and so you are rest assured of individual and personal attention.We even had a dedicated butler/guide all to ourselves.
They have regular game drives(6 a.m and 3 p.m) which last around 2.5 to 3 hours and Simon our guide MADE sure that we spotted the BIG 5.They actually go all out.

The food isn't very extensive but they do take care of any dietary restrictions that you may have.
Also I must mention that the rooms do not have 24 hours electricity (Lights out after 11 p.m, they do have large emergency lights that glow though) and so if you need to charge you cameras I would suggest doing it whenever the electricity IS on.
The have hot water running in the shower 24/7 though.

Also carry plenty of warm clothes,it may be Africa but it sure gets chilly at sun down.

All in all I think the Royal Mara was the perfect place for me to stay for my first exploratory visit into Africa :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anju_Nayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Amazing "Tent"/Lodge overlooking the river with the hippo pool outside my front door. It was great just sitting there and watching the hippos and monkey's jumping on my roof. This is rally luxury in the wilderness. Early morning an Elephant was about 5 feet from my front door, but the guards chased him away. I was too tired from the great night safari to even really get up. The next night 5 hippos were outside my room (truly understand all the guards around now). Geoffrey was a great guide and fun person to hang out with all day on the safari's. Very sharp and had an amazing network to find elusive animals. Saw 4 of 5 big game in the two short days I was there. Food was excellent. I'm vegetarian and appreciated the creative food (e.g. who would have thought mashed potatoes with a strawberry white wine sauce would be so amazing)! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Can't think of a bad one. It was nice to be in a camp with just 9 "tents" instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSatelmajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
23.8 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
180 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#72 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
30 reviews
1.0 mi away
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
#47 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#10 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
333 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sanctuary Olonana
Sanctuary Olonana
#23 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
276 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#83 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mara Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mara Safari Lodge

Property: Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Address: Masai Mara North Conservancy | P.O Box 260, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mara is a luxury safari and game viewing lodge located in Kenya's world famous Masai Mara, home to the annual Great Migration of the Wildebeest. We are situated directly on the Mara River with six riverfront guest suites. All suites are raised upon wooden decks with full mahogany flooring and original hand carved furniture. See the same wildlife-rich areas as broadcast on the BBC Big Cat Diary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Royal Mara Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mara Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Royal Mara Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing