We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We booked a 3 day 2 night safari at the Royal Mara via Julius Thuvi of Julius T Safaris www.juliustsafaris.com and it was amazing. Julius was fantastic and I would definitely recommend you book via him (see separate review).

The Royal Mara was lovely. It's only a small camp, 8 tent/lodges which makes it friendly and personal. The tents/lodges are large and well appointed, the food great and the staff lovely. The camp is not fenced off and is right by the river so hippos and other animals wander around at night. You are escorted to and from your tent/lodge and feel safe at all times.

The game drives were amazing. Simon our driver was lovely and worked hard to find the animals for us and he did very well. We were lucky as we saw a leopard on all 3 days, many lions, a cheetah and many, many more animals. The animals are much more abundant in the Mara that in other parts of Kenya & Tanzania and because the drivers do not have to stick to roads/tracks you can get closer to the animals.

We definitely recommend the Royal Mara, so much so that we are planning to return.

Do take some warm clothes (long sleeves, long trousers & a fleece or 3 if like me you're always cold). The Mara is much cooler than other parts of Kenya due to it's altitude and it was very chilly on the morning game drives and again got chilly towards the end of the afternoon drives. Also take a packamac just in case like us you get heavy rain in the evenings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank karenchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Royal Mara Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 405 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I were in Nairobi for work and had a few extra days. We managed to get in touch with the Royal Mara the night before and then jumped through hoops to make it work. The experience was spectacular.

The service was great - helpful and friendly. The game drives were spectacular! It is important to note that the Royal Mara is in a private conservancy area and the experience is much better than in the government run parks. There are more animals, fewer people and no roads. And the "tents" fantastic - listening to the hippos root around at night is amazing. Great experience.

The food was fantastic given how far out in the bush we were. Simple, but delicious grilled meats, great vegetable soups and homemade bread rounded out hearty meals.

I hope I get another chance to come back...and see that leopard that we could never find!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yozhik202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at Royal Mara for two nights and there is not a thing that we'd change. the attention to detail is flawless. Simone, our guide, finds animals out of thin air and is so careful and thoughtful with them. The Georges (Senior and Junior) took magnificent care of us. every corner yields a delightful surprise. we'll go back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

What to add to all these 5 star reviews? This place is every bit amazing as everybody says. The tents and staff are fantastic. The location on the river unbelieveable with 100 hippos right below your tent. The food is for such a remote place very good - no high cuisine but good quality.

The attention to detail is the most outsanding feature. The owners and their staff go out of their way to make the experience great. They'll move your table to the best spot, organize suprise night safaris, bush lunches etc etc.

One thing I didnt know about Masai Mara before we left that is good to know: this park offers a very different safari from the government parks ( all others except Samburi) as it allows you to go offroad. This brings you much closer to the animals. We went to lake Nakuru after this trip and though it was great , the wildlife experience is not comparable.

Also as royal mara is quite isolated we didnt encounter many other jeeps except the other royal mara cars. This made it feel much more authentic then lake Nakuru did where we drove in rows across the park roads.

Go here, its the best safari experience you can imagine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thijsvanschadewijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

we stayed at Royal Mara for 4 days/3 nights in October 2011. This is one of he most personalised hotels we have ever stayed at. There are 8 lodges and over 70 staff. You have your own room boy/ chef and waiter who attend to every comfort you could think off. The food is outstanding and the lodges are just amazing. The drives are in 4 wheel drive jeeps and you keep the same driver for every drive, so you never repeat the same drive. The "guards" are brilliant and keep you informed of anything occuring, such as hippos leaving the river so we could see them. Overall this is the most amazing location with service levels that many 5 star hotels would be proud to offer. If you are staying in the Masai then you must stay here.

Room Tip: Lodge 6 has the best views
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GB0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We arrived at the airstrip and were met by Jeffery our brilliant guide for the next 4 days, he guided us to all of the big 5 and much more, he was so enthusiastic and made our safari experience so special, on arriving at the lodge we were welcomed by James the manager who guided us through the site and passed us on to Simon who looked after our lodge and us with our early morning tea and coffee, nothing was to much trouble for him, we were then escorted to our meals by Reagan and Steven again nothing was to much trouble for them, Food was served by Joshua who was amazing company and made mealtimes so interesting, food was superb and thanks go to all the cooking staff, overall this was an amazing part of our holiday and we cannot wait to return. once again thank you so much all of you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was our second visit to the Royal Mara and it was again a dream come true. The wild life was spectacular. We saw the big five and more. Lions, leopards, a cheetah with cubs. We even saw a lion kill a wildebeest. Unbelievable. Our driver Julius was great. Very knowledgeable. He found everything for us to photograph.

We had fantastic meals. The food was exquisite and of 5 star quality. Fantastic gourmet soups. Loved their apple and brie cheese soup. Great pasta and pizza appetizers . A wide assortment of salads including Greek, French Nicoise and Italian pasta salads. Even Ceasar salad freshly prepared for us table side in the bush. We even had a teppanyiaki meal prepared for us at our table next to the Mara River. Just as if we were at Benihana in New York. But the best was the bush lunch BBQ out on the open plain surrounded by grazing wildlife.

The grounds of the Royal Mara have been vastly upgraded since our last visit. They now have two lodges, one at each end of the camp. The new lodge is next to the big hippo lagoon. We loved having our meal gazing at the hippos bobbing up and down in the river. The old lodge and dining area now has a big display of African masks from all over Africa. They also now have a big curio shop with all kinds of carvings and Masai trinkets. We loved walking around the camp which is a game walk in itself.

The suites are beautiful. Full of carved furniture. We watched the river flow by before us with all kinds of entertainment. Hippos moving about, some crocodile. Monkeys on trees and even some zebras coming down to the river for watering. What a paradise.

The staff were fantastic and catered to all of our needs. At night we felt secure knowing Masai were watching over us as we were surrounded by wild animals. A unique sleeping experience. This is true bush sleeping. Thanks to all the Royal Mara staff who made our stay an unforgettable memory. Especially thanks to our waiter Mololo, our housekeeper Simon and the chef Watson. We cant wait to come back again some day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
8.5 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#37 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
307 reviews
25.1 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
345 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#85 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#8 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
#56 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
159 reviews
17.6 mi away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#19 of 141 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mara Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mara Safari Lodge

Address: Masai Mara North Conservancy | P.O Box 260, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $579 - $801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mara is a luxury safari and game viewing lodge located in Kenya's world famous Masai Mara, home to the annual Great Migration of the Wildebeest. We are situated directly on the Mara River with six riverfront guest suites. All suites are raised upon wooden decks with full mahogany flooring and original hand carved furniture. See the same wildlife-rich areas as broadcast on the BBC Big Cat Diary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Royal Mara Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mara Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Royal Mara Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing