We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Naibor Camp
Nearby Hotels
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$409
$315
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$151
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$252
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$254
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
207
14
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
14
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalek rivermess tenthot watermasai maragame drivesbucket showerlovely hoststhe managersamazing mealsexcellent game viewingprivate diningsafari experiencebush buckwatch hipposother guestsbat eared foxesbush shower
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 231 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My friend and I came expecting to see some wildlife in the midst of rainy season. While our expectations were met and exceeded (including two leopard cubs and a mama feasting on a gazelle a few short meters away), our Mara adventure was a once in a lifetime experience thanks to our stay at Naibor. Having lived in Nairobi for a year, I've had the opportunity to visit a few parks and camps - and Naibor is by far the best. The staff was phenomenal, the food outstanding (coming from a foodie), the drinks wonderful, the atmosphere spectacular (hippos galore). And our guide Lolo, by far the best guide in Kenya. Entertaining, knowledgeable, and witty he provided a encyclopedia worth of information. Ivan, the camp manager, made sure all the extra countless details were set and was wonderful company. The three short days we stayed in Naibor made for memories to last a lifetime. I can not say enough about this camp. I can only hope to return again soon. Thank you for the wonderful stay! - Leila B

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was a great place to end our trip to East Africa. The tents are very nice and the hot water bottle at night was surprisingly welcomed.

The staff is great and we can't tell you how wonderful it was to have a Masai Warrier as our guide/driver.

This was so nice and peaceful and to meet some great people from the UK who live in Nairobi and another family from Austrailia just made the trip even more meaningful.

The camp is more rustic than the other 2 camps we stayed out, but nothing was missing and food and staff were most excellent.

Great place to stay and the game drives were excellent, informative and just amazing.

Each safari ride we saw everything we wanted to see with the highlight for me to see cheetah cubs with their mom guarding a recent kill.

Lots of amazing sites and animals even without the migration in the area.

Room Tip: The showers were nice and hot and boy did I enjoy taking a couple of them a day.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Naibor Camp in the Maasai Mara was absolutely magical and everything we'd hoped for. Firstly the location – in the middle of the bush at the top of a river bank - was perfect. The camp overlooked a section of river where a family of around 30 hippos lived. Their antics, including a lot of grunting and snorting, never failed to charm and entertain. At night you could hear all sorts of strange and exciting noises from the various wild beasts who roam near to or often even inside the camp. But fear not – you are safe in your tent at night and the camp is closely guarded by the Maasai at all times.

Our accommodation was equally fabulous – a large luxury tent with an awesomely comfy bed and with a separate washroom section that included a flush toilet, a basin and shower. Water for the basin was provided in a jug and hot shower water was delivered on demand and winched up a tree to deliver water pressure. There were two further basins + mirrors just outside the tent and a lovely day bed + coffee table that served as a chill out area during the day. If you needed anything at any time you had your own walkie talkie and could radio for anything from a pot of tea to a gin and tonic. After dark you never leave your tent without a Maasai guard by your side (you are for instance always escorted back to your tent after dinner)

Further down from our tent at the top of the river bank was another table and two chairs. We were there for our first wedding anniversary and on the day itself they specially arranged for us to have a private dinner for two there, all lit up with oil lanterns, with our very own waiter, Maasai guard and camp fire. It was an unforgettable evening (and we were serenaded by the hippos throughout).

On other nights we would have drinks and dinner with the rest of the camp which was great fun. Each evening a camp fire would be lit down by the river bank, a circle of chairs set up along with a bar and people would gather for sundowners and share their tales of the day. Dinner (three courses) itself was served in a large tent around a large wood table with hippo tusks as a centrepiece and the food was extremely good. On occasion we would be joined by their imaginatively named ‘Bob the bat’ - a regular in the dinner tent who would come in and flap around for a bit, eating any invading insects. Lunch was always served al fresco down by the river bank and was equally good, especially Curry Sundays.

Now to the safari itself. We had the most brilliant Maasai driver/guide called Davyd. We found out afterwards that he was Naibor’s top guide and that came as no surprise. He was charming, entertaining, great company and extremely knowledgeable and thanks to him we got to see all the big five and more. Highlights included three male lions walking right up to and brushing past our jeep (Davyd had cleverly snuck in front of them and across their path). The lions couldn’t have been less bothered as they walked lazily past but they were so close we could have reached out and touched them (had we been stupid enough). It was a heart stopping moment amongst many other memorable encounters, including finding a very rare black rhino and stopping in amongst a large group (or 'tower') of beautiful giraffes, batting their eyelashes at us curiously and munching away like dinosaurs with the vast landscape stretching around them. Davyd's knowledge and expertise around the animals meant we could get really close without disturbing or upsetting them, and boy can he change a flat tire quickly!

Finally, Naibor itself was brilliantly run. All the staff, including the many Massai in full regalia were just charming and the service throughout was impeccable. Adam and Vicky, the British couple who were managing the camp, did so effortlessly and made us (and everyone else) feel so at home. They were without fail helpful, friendly and efficient – and great fun!

It short – WE CAN'T RECOMMEND NAIBOR HIGHLY ENOUGH! And we really miss the hippos - we found them so soothing :-(

Charlie and Charlie x

Room Tip: Ask for Davyd as your guide! Go on a walking safari - it's thrilling and a nice break from sitting in a jeep all the time (whilst also being fed very well!) They can do one, two or three hours walks, depending what you feel like. We did 2.5 hours with a bush breakfast at the end of it, accompanied by to mystified Elan - so incredibly civilised! Ask to have your own private dinner like we did at some point, especially if you're a couple or it's a special occasion - it was really unforgettable.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaznicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The mara is an incredible place and this camp is not only beautifully located and filled with attentive and very friendly staff, but the entire 3 night stay here was second to none. We live in Nairobi and drove down with 2 small children, and the 3 too brief days we had at naibor were filled with wow moments, much tranquility, good food, comfort in and around tent and on game drives, and friendly company..... It is truly a bespoke piece of heaven, where your needs are thoughtfully considered and catered for in a discrete and very hospitable way. We all, including the children devoured the delicious food and the totos were made to feel welcome, and we have nothing but the happiest of memories and great photos from our time there.... It was verydifficult to leave, and We cannot wait to return!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

It was an amazing experince and absolutly wow !!!
We stayed 3 nights at the little Naibor over Easter 2012, it was perfect as we had two rooms, one for my kids and one was for us with a little sitting area facing the river. The rooms were very nicely decorated and had beautiful comfy beds.
The staff were very friendly, Ivan the manager was Great. They catered for my husbands special diet which was delicious. Very child freindly and food overall was fantastic. The desserts were out of this world. The dining area faces the Hippos in the river and it is magical to see them go in and out of the water.
Ivan made sure we had the best of everything. He had all the patients for playing card games with my kids :0)
David was our perfect guide.
We got to see all the three cats in action, having meals. The best was the Ol Kiombo pride eating a hippo. That was the highlight of our trip, thanks to David.
N- NICE
A- AWESOME
I- INCREDIBLE
B- BEAUTIFUL
O- OPULENT
R- RARE
We are for sure going back to Naibor ...it was the best holiday from the beginning to the end.

Room Tip: Its for sure the best lodge we have been to in the Mara.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews