We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Naibor Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naibor Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We spent 3 wonderful days at Naibor in early December 2011 - first time on safari and an absolutely brilliant experience. The camp is beautifully situated overlooking the Talek river and its own resident hippo population. The ensuite tents are very comfortable and secure and the food is very good but what made our stay so successful was the staff who could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Our guide , Lolo, had an extensive knowledge of all the game & birdlife and the morning and evening game drives (with their bush breakfasts and sundowners) were the highlghts of our stay and provided a wealth of memorable experiences and photographs. Adam and Vicky were great hosts appearing to effortlessly ensure everything ran smoothly .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 222 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I went to Naibor in July 2011, and had an absolutely fabulous experience. Everything was perfect, from start to finish. The camp was set in a beautiful location, and they've managed to create rustic tents that blend in perfectly well with the surroundings but still provide all the comforts you need. We stayed there for 2 nights and had wonderful meals the entire time, including a fabulous breakfast in the park, and sundowners set in stunning locations. The staff, and particularly our driver, were excellent. The manager, Vicky and Adam, are great hosts, and they made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. This remains one of the best safari experiences we've had in Kenya - and we've had many!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed with a group of friends in Nov 2011, at the tail end of the wilderbeest migration.

Accommodation: the tents are rustic but very comfortable. We didn't miss any "luxuries". The whole camp is very eco-friendly (all solar, no permanent structures, virtually invisible at a distance), but Naibor doesn't over-promote this aspect.

Service: From the moment we arrived, the service was friendly and discreet, and you feel at home right away. The managers Adam and Vicki are super enthusiastic, as was the relief manager Rosie. Numerous thoughtful touches. The staff really make this place special.

Activities: the game drives were superb: we were fortunate to see the Big Five excluding the Rhino on our first morning drive. The guides are very knowledgeable about the flora & fauna and as well their likely locations. We witnessed a rare cheetah cub hunt and kill, which was a
real highlight. The outstanding aspect of the guides was their ability to give a balanced experience of the Mara - not just chasing the big 5. We learned more about plants and animal behavior from them in 2 days than imaginable. There is complete flexibility in terms of the activities and times - for instance, we went out for a second morning
drive immediately after breakfast at short notice.

Food: Excellent variety and quality, with an international slant. The sophistication is comparable to a high-end restaurant in the city, but all produced in the bush.

Overall - a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MovingHouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I have stayed in a number of these 'luxury lodges' and although this would not rate as one of the best it still had a number of pluses. The tented accommodation was quaint and gave it that 'back to nature' feel, but it's hard to get used to a 'luxury' accommodation that doesn't include hot and cold running water. The novelty of the 'bucket shower' lasts about two nights! That said, the bed was comfortable and the location of the tent, next to the river, was very pleasant. Of course if you're unlucky enough to get rain then you have the usual camping problem where things start to feel damp.
On the meal side I particularly enjoyed the lunches. Very informal, buffet in a beautiful setting. The evening meals were good too, tho I agree with one of the other contributors that a less European/UK selection would have been welcome. Roast Beef, roast chicken, etc....all very good, but all very safe. I should add that Adam and Vicky are excellent hosts at the dinner table and keep the conversation flowing.
The camp is very close to the air strip which is a favourite haunt for leopards. I also saw the usual suspects, lions, cheetahs, elephants, etc. Sadly no rhino's, but I think you have to be very lucky to see one of those. The number of other vehicles was a bit distracting at times but there's obviously nothing that anyone at Naibor can do about that.
The policy on tips, which was the longest section in the welcome literature, was a bit over the top. "You can't tip too much....we accept any currency, including credit cards (with a 5% surcharge...)". My advice is to simply say "Please leave tips at your own discretion" and leave an envelope for that purpose.
A good few days but next time I would go somewhere with a proper shower.

Room Tip: I think the low numbered rooms, 1 and 2, are close enough to the office to hook onto the (free) wi f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmallWorldMarketing, Marketing Manager at Naibor Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive review for Naibor & I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Due to Naibor being a tented camp in the heart of the Mara Reserve, we are unable to have running water. The idea is that the camp can be completely dismantled with no trace of it being left behind and installing plumbing would make this impossible. In addition, the park does not allow any plumbing due to it being such a pristine natural environment. The safari showers are designed to last as long as a normal shower ensuring that guests can still have the same shower experience as they do in their own bathroom. Our staff are always happy to provide as much hot water as required and we do have flush toilets which is quite unusual for tented camps.

Thank you for your comments about the food and we will certainly pass on the suggestions to the chef. Food is such a personal taste (!) and as you can see from our other comments our guests have really enjoyed our dishes but we are always more than happy to look at adding new ideas onto the menu. Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My friend and I recently spent 3 nights at Naibor and loved it. Adam and Vicky are fantastic hosts and their staff provide excellent service - very attentive without being intrusive. The food is great and there is lots of it. We particularly enjoyed the sundowners on game drive, the first time next to a herd of 15 elephants and the second day while watching a cheetah and her cub. The tents are comfortable, quiet and private (with the exception of hippo noises outside - very entertaining) with loads of character. The camp's small size gives it a personal feel, especially in the evening drinks around the campfire and communal dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

my Husband and i spent 4 nights in Niabor as part of our honeymoon and i do not regret 1 min of it. i have always loved the wild and experiencing it in a 5 star tent and company made it just perfect. i have to admit that it was pretty scary the first nigth where you can hear the animals (hippo, lion, buffulo) right outside the tent but thats just made it one of the most memorable trips of my life.

i would recomend this place in a heartbeat

Room Tip: try for the family suite this way you get 2 bathrooms , 2 bedrooms and a fireplace which is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nouhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

A luxurious tented camp in the middle of the Masai Mara. Forget all your preconceptions of tents and imagine something better than your most romantic ideas of staying in the bush! With help everywhere you look, excellent guides and two very good managers/hosts at the camp, this is a magical place to stay in the Masai Mara.

The tents themselves were really brilliant, luxurious, with bathroom (hot water from Moses), a lovely double bed and your own Masai guard to protect you from the Hippo's or other wild animals that will walk through the camp (there are no fences!).

Given the openness of the camp, the one frustration we had was the family in the tent next door with their teenage children. We could hear their childish bickering and banal chatter too often to be able to relax. The annoying thing is that the parents clearly realised they might be annoying to other guests as they mentioned it in the guest book - maybe next time they will tell their kids to quieten down rather than wait to advertise it in the guest book.

As a warning to foodies, the food here is very much European (we had lasagna on our first night!). Whilst not expecting spit roast Rhino, we asked for some traditional Kenyan cuisine and we served as part of a romantic meal for two at our tent. A really enjoyable experience and definitely worth doing.

There is a spa but we could never work out how to book a slot as you seemed to have to go but hope a session wasn't in progress - only marginally annoying as you really wont have time...

Our guides were great but if there is one issue with the Masai Mara, its the large number of vehicles you will see. Whilst its great to know if there is something interesting to see (as another jeep has stopped by) it can get very frustrating that you don't have the solitude you dream of and you realise how distracting to a Cheetah on the hunt, the noise of a car starting and stopping can be.

Final comment is if you don't like flying in very small planes, this may not be the safari for you. But for overall romance, this takes some beating!

Room Tip: Some guests we met stayed in the sister resort of Wilderness and found it very far away so would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SulaMetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.9 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#16 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
863 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
565 reviews
14.2 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
524 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Mara Eden Safari Camp
#43 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $916 - $1,268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Naibor Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing