We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Naibor Camp
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$409
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$151
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$252
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$174
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porini Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
Mara West Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
208
14
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
14
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalek rivermess tenthot watermasai maragame drivesbucket showerlovely hoststhe managersamazing mealsexcellent game viewingprivate diningsafari experiencebush buckwatch hipposother guestsbat eared foxesbush shower
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 232 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I have stayed in a number of these 'luxury lodges' and although this would not rate as one of the best it still had a number of pluses. The tented accommodation was quaint and gave it that 'back to nature' feel, but it's hard to get used to a 'luxury' accommodation that doesn't include hot and cold running water. The novelty of the 'bucket shower' lasts about two nights! That said, the bed was comfortable and the location of the tent, next to the river, was very pleasant. Of course if you're unlucky enough to get rain then you have the usual camping problem where things start to feel damp.
On the meal side I particularly enjoyed the lunches. Very informal, buffet in a beautiful setting. The evening meals were good too, tho I agree with one of the other contributors that a less European/UK selection would have been welcome. Roast Beef, roast chicken, etc....all very good, but all very safe. I should add that Adam and Vicky are excellent hosts at the dinner table and keep the conversation flowing.
The camp is very close to the air strip which is a favourite haunt for leopards. I also saw the usual suspects, lions, cheetahs, elephants, etc. Sadly no rhino's, but I think you have to be very lucky to see one of those. The number of other vehicles was a bit distracting at times but there's obviously nothing that anyone at Naibor can do about that.
The policy on tips, which was the longest section in the welcome literature, was a bit over the top. "You can't tip too much....we accept any currency, including credit cards (with a 5% surcharge...)". My advice is to simply say "Please leave tips at your own discretion" and leave an envelope for that purpose.
A good few days but next time I would go somewhere with a proper shower.

Room Tip: I think the low numbered rooms, 1 and 2, are close enough to the office to hook onto the (free) wi fi.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmallWorldMarketing, Marketing Manager at Naibor Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

Thank you very much for your positive review for Naibor & I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Due to Naibor being a tented camp in the heart of the Mara Reserve, we are unable to have running water. The idea is that the camp can be completely dismantled with no trace of it being left behind and installing plumbing would make this impossible. In addition, the park does not allow any plumbing due to it being such a pristine natural environment. The safari showers are designed to last as long as a normal shower ensuring that guests can still have the same shower experience as they do in their own bathroom. Our staff are always happy to provide as much hot water as required and we do have flush toilets which is quite unusual for tented camps.

Thank you for your comments about the food and we will certainly pass on the suggestions to the chef. Food is such a personal taste (!) and as you can see from our other comments our guests have really enjoyed our dishes but we are always more than happy to look at adding new ideas onto the menu. Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My friend and I recently spent 3 nights at Naibor and loved it. Adam and Vicky are fantastic hosts and their staff provide excellent service - very attentive without being intrusive. The food is great and there is lots of it. We particularly enjoyed the sundowners on game drive, the first time next to a herd of 15 elephants and the second day while watching a cheetah and her cub. The tents are comfortable, quiet and private (with the exception of hippo noises outside - very entertaining) with loads of character. The camp's small size gives it a personal feel, especially in the evening drinks around the campfire and communal dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

my Husband and i spent 4 nights in Niabor as part of our honeymoon and i do not regret 1 min of it. i have always loved the wild and experiencing it in a 5 star tent and company made it just perfect. i have to admit that it was pretty scary the first nigth where you can hear the animals (hippo, lion, buffulo) right outside the tent but thats just made it one of the most memorable trips of my life.

i would recomend this place in a heartbeat

Room Tip: try for the family suite this way you get 2 bathrooms , 2 bedrooms and a fireplace which is amazing.
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nouhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

A luxurious tented camp in the middle of the Masai Mara. Forget all your preconceptions of tents and imagine something better than your most romantic ideas of staying in the bush! With help everywhere you look, excellent guides and two very good managers/hosts at the camp, this is a magical place to stay in the Masai Mara.

The tents themselves were really brilliant, luxurious, with bathroom (hot water from Moses), a lovely double bed and your own Masai guard to protect you from the Hippo's or other wild animals that will walk through the camp (there are no fences!).

Given the openness of the camp, the one frustration we had was the family in the tent next door with their teenage children. We could hear their childish bickering and banal chatter too often to be able to relax. The annoying thing is that the parents clearly realised they might be annoying to other guests as they mentioned it in the guest book - maybe next time they will tell their kids to quieten down rather than wait to advertise it in the guest book.

As a warning to foodies, the food here is very much European (we had lasagna on our first night!). Whilst not expecting spit roast Rhino, we asked for some traditional Kenyan cuisine and we served as part of a romantic meal for two at our tent. A really enjoyable experience and definitely worth doing.

There is a spa but we could never work out how to book a slot as you seemed to have to go but hope a session wasn't in progress - only marginally annoying as you really wont have time...

Our guides were great but if there is one issue with the Masai Mara, its the large number of vehicles you will see. Whilst its great to know if there is something interesting to see (as another jeep has stopped by) it can get very frustrating that you don't have the solitude you dream of and you realise how distracting to a Cheetah on the hunt, the noise of a car starting and stopping can be.

Final comment is if you don't like flying in very small planes, this may not be the safari for you. But for overall romance, this takes some beating!

Room Tip: Some guests we met stayed in the sister resort of Wilderness and found it very far away so would not recommend.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SulaMetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Naibor. Adam and Vicki have the knack of making their guests feel so welcome. Everything is very well organised with attention to details such as hot water bottles and hot showers ready on return from the evening game drive. Delightful and helpful staff, convivial evenings over good food, a fantastic location and superb Game Drives made for a perfect stay in the Mara.
Daudi was my driver. He was so knowleable about all the animals and their behaviour and wanted to share his obvious love of the Mara. He
patiently waited for 3 hours for us to see a wildebeest crossing perfect

Room Tip: Tents are well spaced. I had Tent 1 which had a lovely view and was near to main mess tent and the river .
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews