We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gives "trip of a lifetime" its meaning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leleshwa Camp

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Leleshwa Camp
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Gives "trip of a lifetime" its meaning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

I have read all the prior posts and agree with what has been said. You will not find a location that pays more attention to detail without being pretentious or overbearing anywhere. Reasons to love the camp include: activities, animal sightings, staff, cleanliness, concern for the environment, sensitivity to the animals, respect for the local culture, setting, food, and comfort. We were married with Maasai villagers as our attendants and elders performing a Maasai ceremony. They thought of everything! Traditionally, a homemade beer is part of the ceremony, but not wanting flies to be unwelcome guests, wine was substituted. Our wish was simply to get married in a non-traditional way. It was an incredible experience. Champagne, dried rose petals tossed, a buffet dinner in the bush - white table clothes and candleabras. I truly could go on and on. Whatever your needs are, they will be met at Leleshwa.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

My wife and i spent 3 nights at Leleshwa in Oct of '09.We were given the tented suite which was fantastic.Mike,Joe & Gillian as well as our guides Kenneth and Samuel were the most gracious hosts you could have.We would and will at some point return.It is the best.

Lewis Schneiderman/Hartsdale N.Y.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aventurerhartsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

We got married at Leleshwa in June 2007 and it was the most magical experience of our lives. Joe and Gillian (the owners) went out of their way to make our stay so special. The camp and tents are extremely luxurious whilst still fitting into the surroundings and the food was amazing. The knowledge and intuitiveness of the guides is second to none. I wholeheartedly recommend the camp for couples, families and friends.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mungospeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

We just loved Leleshwa. We were a group of 10, three families, with kids aged from 8-11. The Leleshwa staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our visit. Our tent was quite luxurious and the food outstanding. What really made the place is the staff and our driver/spotter. They catered to whatever we wanted to do. This includes activities for the kids like building a fire, throwing a spear, brushing their teeth the Masai way, etc. Other highlights included a few bush walks, night drives, and a sundowner out in the bush around the fire with drinks and appetizers. It's a small camp which means personalized service. The only downside is it is a bit of a longer drive to Masai Mara Game Reserve as compared to staying in the park. However, being able to do night drives (looking for bush babies!), bush walks, and doing the sundowner by far outweighed the long drive. We will definitely come back some day and highly recommend Leleshwa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hartzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

We LOVED LOVED LOVED our time at Leleshwa. Our guide David and our spotter Samuel MADE our trip. We had the place all to ourselves, which was great. Even when we went to the Masaii Mara we were able to mostly stay away from the tourist minivans because David knew all the hidden places in the park - away from crowds and close to leopards!! We saw so many incredible things up close. The best part of Leleshwa, though, was just our long talks with David and Samuel in broken three way Swahili -Ma-English in which we learned so much about the Masaii people and culture. Visiting the village and the school were highlights of the trip.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tepirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

We took our three children ages 8, and 5 year old twins to Leleshwa for a 3 night stay and loved every minute of it thanks to the incredible staff, delicious food, great accommodations, and fantastic guides/spotters. It's been two weeks since we left and we are still thinking and talking about our experiences there. We loved the Masai market, village visit, herding cattle with the Masai children, sundowners, etc. I would give up 5 vacations in Hawaii for the chance to go back just once! Highly recommend!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank MoeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

It's hard to imagine how you can do Safari better than this.
The camp is really luxurious but is simple and tasteful enough to keep that "in touch with nature" feel.
The food is top class and the service from the Massai guards, to the guides to the camp hosts is impeccable and always makes you feel very welcome.
We had easily the best game viewing in our 3 days than I have ever experienced and the camps position just outside the park allows extra activities like night safaris which was one of our top highlights. We also visited the Massai village of one of the spotters in a way that was very untouristy and fascinating. It certainly made me appreciate the comforts back in the camp!
Leleshwa is certainly not the cheapest camp you will be able to find and at the time of booking we had some doubts. However the quality of experience you have here just blows all other safari trips I have heard of out the water. It's well worth forking out a bit more for.

  • Liked — The extra experiences you get (night safaris, untouristy village visit, access to remote parts of park)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PoPoZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.6 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#72 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.4 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#53 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
10.2 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#94 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
SEMADEP Camp
SEMADEP Camp
#100 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#63 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kicheche Valley Camp
Kicheche Valley Camp
#56 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leleshwa Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leleshwa Camp

Property: Leleshwa Camp
Address: C12 Keekorok - NE Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leleshwa Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leleshwa Camp is an intimate tented camp situated on the Siana Conservancy on the North–Eastern edge of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in Kenya. Resting along a stream valley overlooking picturesque hills and rolling plains dotted with resident game, Leleshwa Camp seeks to give its guests an authentic African experience. The camp offers simplistic elegance and style in a relaxed environment with six spacious permanent tents privately situated and designed to blend in naturally with the surrounding nature.We also offer a private traditional Mobile Tented Camp, also with six spacious ensuite tents that can be located anywhere in Kenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Leleshwa Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leleshwa Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing