We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Nearby Hotels
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
$658
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Serena Safari Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$559
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,370
$1,181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$426
$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $473/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Little Governors' Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$864
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,543
$1,397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$998
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Entumoto Safari Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$277
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$2,119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
235
17
5
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
17
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathour honeymoonmara rivermanager patrickwalking safarigame drivespicnic breakfastsafari experiencehis teamballoon safarichampagne breakfastdriver guidehuge bathroomthe hot air balloon ridethree nightshot chocolateunforgettable trip
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 260 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Small campsite, great tented camp within the park with some great view of wildlife while dining or simply from outside your tent. Stayed for two nights, nice view from the room, great food including champagne on the game drives, great driver guide. Great ballooning experience as well. All in all, a great way to enjoy the bush in style.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smwelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our 4th trip in 2 years and we have already booked for next year. Top class location, management, hospitality, knowledge and, above all professionalism. The quality of this camp is superb in every way. Our guide, Simon, has taught us, tolerated our ignorance, and increased our love for this place more than we can say. Big 5? We feel we know them intimately. On our last trip we had seen the ' big 5' before 8am that day. Possibly a record and certainly not the norm. Visit this place, listen to the manager Patrick and trust your guide and you will have the experience of a lifetime. The food is excellent ! You are in the Bush so respect the service available and just relax and enjoy. This place is magical and I am counting the days until I return. Don't just think about it, do it!

Room Tip: All of the tents are wonderful and privacy is respected. All have river frontage so just enjoy
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at il moran and thank you for your extremely complimentary remarks. We are delighted that you enjoyed the safari so much and the fact that you have already re-booked is high praise in itself. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again. Asante.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Well the governors camp, what can I say apart from" truely amazing" it was our first safari and little did we know that whilst talking to people there that we had landed at the best safari camp in Africa by a mile, this was to say the least a 5 star safari experience seeing the big four on day 1 and the fifth on day two. The service and expertise were second to none. And the experience of the African plains, sunsets, exquisite wildlife were just out of this world. We had a guide taking us on safari who had worked there for 10 yrs, his name was Robert who was tremendous. He still gets excited just as much today as he did on his first ever day doing staffing excursions for people. A very special thank you to Robert for making our experience, one of a life time, one which will never be forgotten. Everybody was shocked that we did our first safari at governors camp as apparently you build up to this one. The food was amazing, living conditions better than most hotels and very very safe. A big thank you to Robert again. We will be returning100%.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your review of Governors Il Moran Camp, we are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the safari and the camp. Your comments have been passed to camp and everyone is delighted to read them. We hope to welcome you back again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Loved this camp, the tent's interior so luxurious, amazing set up and layout. The massage given by the local masseuse Rita was the best ever. The game rides were out of this world and our guide Enos was excellent, very professional, bubbly and full of life. He made us laugh so much.
The manager Patrick was obliging and very helpful.
The food however, was disappointing. They offered us the night we arrived 'roast lamb' and an option of 'gratin' which both my husband and I hated and loathed as it was dry and tasteless, the gratin was bland and flat. We expressed our dissatisfaction to the chef Lilian who was apologetic, went out of her way to please us and make our food enjoyable up to our liking. We later found out that Lilian was the sous chef and the main chef was away at the time of our visit. Having tried the real chef's (Sam) proper food at Mfengano island, we knew the difference. Our stay was out of this world, will definitely repeat it again at some stage
On the whole it was a magical stay, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHERMINE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for posting you review of Governors Il Moran Camp. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, that you found the tents to be luxurious, the massages, the best ever and the game drives out of this world. Your comments about the food have been sent to management for review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had three nights here and it was all amazing - the food was great, the tents were luxurious, and you're really close to the wildlife in the camp. There were banded mongoose wandering past our table at dinner and in the night, you can hear the hippos (at least we think they were hippos!). The game drives were all fantastic and our six year old saw the 'big five' in her first day. We also saw one of the 'little five' (leopard tortoise). Our driver was really good at spotting wildlife and did a great job of spotting a leopard with a kill one day.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews