We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Nearby Hotels
Amani Mara Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$690
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$832
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,370
$1,181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$428
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $448/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$998
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$648
$465
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $551/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Entumoto Safari Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$603
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Leisure Camp(Maasai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
$410
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge(Maasai Mara National Reserve)
$1,427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$2,119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
237
17
5
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
17
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathour honeymoonmara rivermanager patrickwalking safarigame drivespicnic breakfastsafari experiencehis teamballoon safarichampagne breakfastdriver guidehuge bathroomthe hot air balloon ridethree nightshot chocolateunforgettable trip
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 262 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Well the governors camp, what can I say apart from" truely amazing" it was our first safari and little did we know that whilst talking to people there that we had landed at the best safari camp in Africa by a mile, this was to say the least a 5 star safari experience seeing the big four on day 1 and the fifth on day two. The service and expertise were second to none. And the experience of the African plains, sunsets, exquisite wildlife were just out of this world. We had a guide taking us on safari who had worked there for 10 yrs, his name was Robert who was tremendous. He still gets excited just as much today as he did on his first ever day doing staffing excursions for people. A very special thank you to Robert for making our experience, one of a life time, one which will never be forgotten. Everybody was shocked that we did our first safari at governors camp as apparently you build up to this one. The food was amazing, living conditions better than most hotels and very very safe. A big thank you to Robert again. We will be returning100%.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your review of Governors Il Moran Camp, we are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the safari and the camp. Your comments have been passed to camp and everyone is delighted to read them. We hope to welcome you back again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Loved this camp, the tent's interior so luxurious, amazing set up and layout. The massage given by the local masseuse Rita was the best ever. The game rides were out of this world and our guide Enos was excellent, very professional, bubbly and full of life. He made us laugh so much.
The manager Patrick was obliging and very helpful.
The food however, was disappointing. They offered us the night we arrived 'roast lamb' and an option of 'gratin' which both my husband and I hated and loathed as it was dry and tasteless, the gratin was bland and flat. We expressed our dissatisfaction to the chef Lilian who was apologetic, went out of her way to please us and make our food enjoyable up to our liking. We later found out that Lilian was the sous chef and the main chef was away at the time of our visit. Having tried the real chef's (Sam) proper food at Mfengano island, we knew the difference. Our stay was out of this world, will definitely repeat it again at some stage
On the whole it was a magical stay, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHERMINE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for posting you review of Governors Il Moran Camp. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, that you found the tents to be luxurious, the massages, the best ever and the game drives out of this world. Your comments about the food have been sent to management for review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had three nights here and it was all amazing - the food was great, the tents were luxurious, and you're really close to the wildlife in the camp. There were banded mongoose wandering past our table at dinner and in the night, you can hear the hippos (at least we think they were hippos!). The game drives were all fantastic and our six year old saw the 'big five' in her first day. We also saw one of the 'little five' (leopard tortoise). Our driver was really good at spotting wildlife and did a great job of spotting a leopard with a kill one day.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I was not sure when our trip included three nights in luxurious tents. Not much of a camper anymore. These tents really are luxurious. Even have your own private bathroom with shower and yes hot water. At night you could hear the hippos close by. The game drives were the best of the entire trip. Yep saw the big five up close and personal. Even saw the offspring of the big five. The food was good. Just can not say enough positive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazmania630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our trip started at Loldia House - where Heather and her staff thoroughly looked after us - so Il Moran was going to have a hard act to follow! Patrick and his team at Il Moran did not disappoint.
The tented accommodation caters for all your needs and is probably larger than some hotel rooms these days. Hippo can be seen and heard from the tented accommodation. Food was superb but of course you are here principally here to see the game and Enos, our guide, did not disappoint though Rhino proved quite elusive until the penultimate day when he found a solitary white Rhino. This could soon be one of the last Rhino in the Mara which as a result of poaching. We weren't expecting to see any migration but found that animals that had crossed back into Tanzania were returning to the green grass of the Mara due to the "burning" of grass in Tanzania. So we were fortunate to witness our own mini migration. For a luxurious, private stay in the Mara it is the perfect location. We can also highly recommend Mfangango Island camp where we finished our vacation. We were again well looked after by James and his team. With birdlife abounding, fish eagles, weaver birds fire finches the list could go on and good fishing in Lake Victoria it was a perfect way to unwind after the Mara.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crinan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews