We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“November 2013 - Governors' vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors' Il Moran Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Governors' Il Moran Camp to your Saves list
Governors' Il Moran Camp
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Northwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“November 2013 - Governors' vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our trip started at Loldia House - where Heather and her staff thoroughly looked after us - so Il Moran was going to have a hard act to follow! Patrick and his team at Il Moran did not disappoint.
The tented accommodation caters for all your needs and is probably larger than some hotel rooms these days. Hippo can be seen and heard from the tented accommodation. Food was superb but of course you are here principally here to see the game and Enos, our guide, did not disappoint though Rhino proved quite elusive until the penultimate day when he found a solitary white Rhino. This could soon be one of the last Rhino in the Mara which as a result of poaching. We weren't expecting to see any migration but found that animals that had crossed back into Tanzania were returning to the green grass of the Mara due to the "burning" of grass in Tanzania. So we were fortunate to witness our own mini migration. For a luxurious, private stay in the Mara it is the perfect location. We can also highly recommend Mfangango Island camp where we finished our vacation. We were again well looked after by James and his team. With birdlife abounding, fish eagles, weaver birds fire finches the list could go on and good fishing in Lake Victoria it was a perfect way to unwind after the Mara.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crinan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    11
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Jambo! We stayed in Little Governors first & then spent our last 3 nights in Il Moran. The tents are bigger much more luxurious with a roll top bath! I must say the hammock is a very nice extra & the tents are further apart so it feels more private than Little Governors. The location is different, spectacular views being high on the river bank with less variety of animals to look at than the water hole at Little Governors but the crocs & the hippo chorus more than make up for that! However, where there was no difference was the staff & service & food. All superb. Patrick, the manager, friendly & so knowledgeable. The game drives were incredible. You are out for most of the day if you want to be but you don't have to. We loved the long drives with a picnic. You see 'something new' every day. Our guide was Oliver who was brilliant & he did all he could to ensure we had the best experience, even to the extent of driving much further out on our last day to try to see small lion cubs as we hadn't seen any up till then. He even spotted small animals like a hare & a tortoise! (They weren't having a race). We did the balloon safari from which we didn't see a lot of animals but just loved flying above everything with a champagne breakfast. We did a walking tour with Patrick which I would highly recommend. To be actually walking among the animals was amazing & Patrick was so interesting. Posh breakfast with champagne in the bush to finish it off. Visiting the Masai village is definitely a good experience plus meeting many Masai staff first hand & learning about their tribe was enlightening. The experience was so much more than seeing the animals. Kenya & its people are special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Il moran was recommended by a family member and I could not praise this camp enough. My wife and I just came back from a 4day masai trip.

Our game drives were amazing and we saw every big animal one would want to. Baby lions, male lion, black rhino, baby elephants, lion having breakfast after a night kill (circle of life!) baby elephant protected by mother elephant, lions playing with each other, and the list can go on. Our driver kantai was amazing and recommended.

Only having 10camps means personal service. Our dietary needs we're catered to everyday by Lilian and the other 2 chefs. Thanks again for the lovely veggie meals. Normally food would not be priority when coming to the mara, but this camp has delicious daily meals...

I would now like to try the cheaper governor camps and see what is the difference as I am told the service is similar, though camps not as luxurious as this one.

No mosq bites at all and a first for me!!

Eating outside next to the mara river was nice with the croc and hippo's!

This camp would be considered as a glamp, and the wifeys will not be disappointed!!

Ballooning on the mara is a must even though a ill pricey. Worth the splurge though for sure and the champagne breakkie with pancake live station after the balloon was amazing.

As you can tell, not any negatives at this camp.

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had the most amazing time...3 nights in October were absolutely perfect. Our driver Simon was incredible and made sure we saw all we could. Overall, the staff was excellent, some of the friendliest service we've ever had. This place is not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizla21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Il Moran as part of our honeymoon in July and the whole experience was superb. Can't fault the 'tents' with their space, hammocks, ambiance, views and the overall level of service.

The food was also a positive as we enjoyed just about everything we had and we are foodies.

Of course the best part about the whole trip were the game drives and we were not disappointed. We were there during migration season and got to see just about everything including a river crossing and all of the big five during our 3 nights at the camp. The drives are amazing and in the mornings you can opt for the longer drives which go from 6:30 to about noonish. You have breakfast in the bush and are back for lunch. Our guide Richard was great.

All in all this was a superb safari experience and can't wait to do it again in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the camp for three nights in September - we had never been on a safari before and were totally wowed.
The tents are beautiful and face out onto the Mara river - listening to the hippos at night was magical.
The staff and service were amazing, first class! I am a vegetarian and I LOVED the food!
Our driver was Enos - he went above and beyond the call in our mind and was just absolutely brilliant and we loved being in his company. We felt like we learned a lot from him over the course of the drives. We saw the big five and a crossing and were delighted!!!
Loved the little gifts we were given in the room, hot water bottles at night, tea and biscuits delivered to the room at dawn - the whole thing was bliss!!
Highly recommend this camp to anyone and hope to revisit some day soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineReddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed stays at three Governor’s Lodges in Kenya and are very happy to review all of them individually, but at the outset would like to compliment the owners on three very different settings and styles. All shared in common the wonderful staff, magnificent settings, and excellent food.

Looking out from out “tent” we could see amongst other wildlife, a female crocodile with eggs, and baby hippos, and that was before we ventured into the Mara. “Tent” does not adequately describe the spacious and luxurious accommodation we enjoyed.

The Mara was everything we had hoped for and yielded up all of the “Big 5”, except Black Rhino which we had seen earlier on our trip. Our driver, Richard, worked hard to show us what we wanted to see and even took us to a spot to see masses of Wildebeest crossing the river where, unfortunately, one fell prey to a crocodile. However, all the staff were extremely helpful and it would be wrong to single out any one individual.

Initially, we were unsure of the need for Guards to escort us during the dark hours, but two things proved the necessity. One morning I was shown footprints of Buffalo, made the previous night, alongside one of the tents, and another evening we saw Leopards just outside the unmarked boundary of the camp. Yes, it really is that wild.

Mention should perhaps be made of the visit to the local Masai village, which we felt lacked authenticity. To us it appeared to be something put on for the tourist only.

Thank you, and please may we return?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeMaybury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.6 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#16 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#6 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#48 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
10.4 mi away
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
#121 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
#40 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors' Il Moran Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors' Il Moran Camp

Property: Governors' Il Moran Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Governors' Il Moran Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' IL Moran Camp is small and intimate. Located right in the heart of the Masai Mara Game Reserve, this small luxurious camp is hidden under ancient trees, deep in the forest on the banks of the Mara River. 10 spacious tents line the winding river banks of the Mara River. With the best game viewing right on your doorstep game drives and game walks are included in the rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Governors' Il Moran Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors` Il Moran Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors' Il Moran Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing