We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A+.....Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors' Il Moran Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A+.....Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent three nites at the Il Moran Camp and enjoyed every part of it. Wonderful accommodations in the Masai Mara Reserve, extremely knowledgeable guides and staff, amazing food. Couldn't be better...we'd love to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    11
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited in early September, just a few weeks ago. The Massai Mara was a truly magic experience. Governor's Il Moran Camp the perfect home base. These folks know about client service and putting the guest first without being pretentious. It helps that their camp is a 5 star experience in the bush! Thanks to all for contributing to a trip of a lifetime for us old guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeppiMiccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was an amazing life experience for us; the animals and the proximity to them are spectacular, but before I tell you about that let me give you my first tip.

Regardless of what your travel provider might tell you, avoid driving into this camp. When you leave the main road from or to Nairobi you will have a 77 kilometer drive into the camp. This drive is backbreaking, it is on a pathway (can't call it a road) that is rutted and filled with holes the size of the vehicle. At times the vehicle will careen on its side and you'll swear you'll tip over. The dust that comes up is choking and is unpleasant. It takes over two and a half hours to cover the 77 KMS. You'll be exhausted and tired and dirty. All I could think of was that we had to do it again on the way out. (We didn't, we changed plans and flew out) Take the flying option if you can.

Now to the good stuff... Once you get there it is amazing! The camp staff is wonderful and care for your well being. The tents are reasonably equipped considering you are in a national park, you'll be comfortable. The food is quite good, well prepared and always fresh. There is even limited WiFi available.

You will have a choice of three drives per day, or a two drive option. On the two drive option, you'll stay out longer in the morning and travel further. Your guide will bring a "bush breakfast" which you'll eat in a serene portion of Masai Mara. I recommend this, its fun.

We were there in late July during the Wildebeest migration. It was remarkable to see hundreds of thousands of these animals in every direction. We drive into the herd, never more than a foot to two way from them. We also saw several lions (male and female) as close as six feet away, leopards who had made kills and were eating their kills in a tree, countless Buffalo, Topee, gigantic crocodiles, Elephants, a dozen Hippos, Baboons, Gazelles, Impalas and numerous warthogs. There is even a warthog named Wiggly who likes to walk into the camp right next to your breakfast table and makes himself at home.

On one of your drives you will visit a Masai village, quite fascinating and educational. Morning drives commence at 6:30 am. You will have a cup of coffee or tea in your tent before you go and you'll see the sunrise over the Masai Mara from your Land Rover. Few things are worth rising this early for but this is one of them. Back to the camp by 9:00 for a hearty breakfast, then another drive at 10:30 returning at 12:30 for lunch and a rest. Then out again at 3:30 for the evening drive and back around 6:30 for a hot shower in your tent and dinner.

It sounds long but you will be amazed at how quickly the time goes by. The guides are all superb and well prepared to answer your questions and accommodate your requests to see specific animals.

Tip number two; bring the best camera you can with a long telephoto lens. A 300 mm lens would be fine and hopefully a zoom, so you can get close ups. You'll want a big data card because you'll snap hundreds and hundreds of shots. Shoot without limitation and cull the unnecessary shots when you get home.

Tip number three, take several changes of clothes. You will get pretty dirty on each drive from the dust that gets kicked up. And it gets into everything. There is a reason why most of the locals wear Khaki colored or green clothing. It doesn't show the dust! By the way, the camp does offer same day laundry service. Avoid wearing light colors like white and beige.

If you apply sunscreen, make sure you use one that absorbs into the skin quickly. If you have any light residue left on your skin the dust will cling to it and you'll find the end result makes you look like a bushman.

My last tip to you is to bring a warm sweater or fleece, one that you don't mind getting dusty so dark colored. It's cold in the mornings and early evenings on the drives and you’re in an open vehicle traveling at 30-40 MPH. You will get quite chilled.

Don't let all this put you off, it's an amazing experience and you'll have memories for a lifetime. We were three or four feet from lions, watched them eat a kill. We saw Wildebeests crossing the river and crushing themselves in panic. Dozens of them floating away in the river and being eaten by huge crocodiles and vultures. And while that sounds gruesome, it is nature and the way of life in the wild.

Governors Camp is a wonderful place and will deliver an experience you will always cherish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheyenne2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I along with family and friends on this trip all agree, this was the trip of a lifetime. From the moment we stepped off the plane it was amazing. The staff was warm and genuinely friendly and welcoming. The service was excellent in every aspect and there was a great attention to detail. I only asked for hot tea once and from then on they knew what I liked and I never had to ask again. I mentioned thinking chocolate would be nice and the next meal it was on the desert menu! The room was wonderful, the food was delicious with plenty of options for everyone and the service was first class. Our drivers John and Richard were so knowledgeable and friendly. The sundowners were especially fun after a long day. We all had so much fun, I think all 8 of us would go again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The only thing that affected sleep quality was listening to the hippos at night. It definitely adde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Its the little things that make a good trip a fabulous and unforgettable trip.

From the champagne and cocktails on arrival with Masai jewellery to celebrate our wedding to the hot water bottles put into our beds and hot chocolate to wake up to in the morning before the game drives.

Nothing was too much trouble and our driver; Hassan was 5 Star as was our waiter, Caleb. Considering the animals we saw, the kills, the migration and the visits into camp by the resident crocs, elephants, baboons, giraffe, hippo we didn't once feel unsafe. We ticked off the big five within the first 48 hours!

Everyone is so friendly and the food was amazing. Three course lunch, dinner and breakfast in the bush.

The sights and sounds are overwhelming the tents are just luxury. This place is paradise and has spoilt us forever more. Anywhere we visit now will be compared to this wonderful wildlife haven.

We cannot rate this place higher. We will never forget our time at Il Moran and only hope we can visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manfa1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great staff and management. The food was great and our driver John was amazing and dedicated. Expensive but well worth the money. The rooms were great and fun to hear the animals at night. We would return in heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamabear1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am going to agree with all the positive comments about this camp.
We flew in from tortillis camp Ambosellli (via Wilson) which we had thoroughly enjoyed, but this was better.
I hadn't initially wanted this site, but got talked into it by my travel agent, and I am so glad that the travel agent insisted I would love this site. I did!
The location is amazing, the tents big and the service excellent. Lots of nice little touches like hot water bottles, free laundry and camera advice!
The balloon flight was a real wow and worth the money.
We stayed 4 nights in July and I was really sad to leave.
Our guide was John and he was great
I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our tent was 4 and nice but i reckon 5 is the best position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.5 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#14 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#7 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
24.6 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#47 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
12.3 mi away
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
#120 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
12.6 mi away
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
#41 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors' Il Moran Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors' Il Moran Camp

Property: Governors' Il Moran Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Governors' Il Moran Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' IL Moran Camp is small and intimate. Located right in the heart of the Masai Mara Game Reserve, this small luxurious camp is hidden under ancient trees, deep in the forest on the banks of the Mara River. 10 spacious tents line the winding river banks of the Mara River. With the best game viewing right on your doorstep game drives and game walks are included in the rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Governors' Il Moran Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors` Il Moran Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors' Il Moran Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing