We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors' Il Moran Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Certificate of Excellence
north west england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

just spent 3 nights in this fantastic camp . Due to the fact that It was low season, my husband and myself had the whole camp to ourselves and we had an amazing time. The guides we were allocated ...Enos and John ,couldn't have done more to ensure we saw the Big 5...even the Leopard which the guys went above and beyond the call of duty to find !! the tents were excellent and going to sleep with the sounds of the hippos in the nearby Mara river was amazing ..as was being woken up in the morning with tea and coffee brought to our tent by Joshua. Who also put hot water bottles in bed at night and looked after us superbly . The food was beautiful and plentiful ( to the point were we had to ask for smaller portions ! ) A big thanks must also go to everyone else in camp who made our stay so special....the waiters ..the chefs ..and the guards who ensured our safety at night. (the camp is unfenced and the wildlife is free to roam in and out as they should be in my opinion ) Last but not least a big thanks to relief manager Bella who made us so welcome as soon as we arrived to the minute we left...and to Joel who always had a big smile for us . I would recommend without any hesitation this camp . ..OH and do the hot air balloon ride it was superb .

Room Tip: any room would be fantastic..we had number 3 which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    11
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Governor's Il Moran Camp is a small and intimate experience for those on safari. Luxury tents include indoor plumbing and large, hand-carved beds. Breakfast was delivered including fresh juice and coffee. Step out of your tent for a few of the river and hippos wading in the water. Staying inside the park allows you to get the most time out on safari. We had a great time with our driver as well as all the staff at the camp. We ate family style at a large table in the evenings. Best vacation ever!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. Soft-sided tents with permanent floors and indoor plumbing. Each tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrisPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd visit to Il Moran in 12 months which in itself speaks volumes! Each trip we have made has been better than the last in every way. We extended our stay from 4 to 6 nights and saw 5 kills (2 cheetah and 3 lion) as well as several unsuccessful chases.we also bagged 6 leopard, mating Serval cats and full blown hyena activity and as for the bird life -awesome. Our driver was Simon Sitieni and his knowledge of the Mara and its amazing inhabitants was mainly responsible for the depth and variety of our experience. The camp site itself is perfectly located on the banks of the Mara and every effort was made to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. It is not inexpensive and consequently cannot make our 4th visit until next year but we feel we feel you get what you pay for.while our passion for wildlife continues, we will not be looking elsewhere for a safari experience. We feel we have now invested personally in Il Moran and it in returned has invested in us by our excellent treatment. Patrick, you are a legend! Nicholas, Dave still wants your shirt! Philip, professional, attentive and understated! Richard, thank you for being so HAPPY when you woke us every morning and as for Simon, well we can't wait to see you all again soon! XXXX

Room Tip: Sleep quality would have also scored excellent but the George the Bull Elephant snoring outside our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My mother and I spent 4 wonderful nights at Il Moran in January. It was "heaven on earth". From the moment we arrived to the time we had to leave our every need was catered for with charm and a huge smile. Our guide Simon was very knowledgeable, friendly and we really loved all our game drives even through a huge thunderstorm and extremely slippery, muddy tracks! We saw everything!-- lots of elephant, lots of lion, cheetah with 3 cubs, hyena, Bat-eared foxes,a black rhino (WOW) and the most beautiful leopard very close to camp just as it was getting dark. What a priviledge and something we will never forget.
The "tents" are extremely comfortable with everything you could need-huge bath and shower, plenty of storage space, a hammock and table and chairs out in front so that we could sit and listen to the hippos down in the nearby Mara River. The position of the camp is incredible-the peace and quiet, the bird life and the resident hippos make it a truly magical bush experience.
The food in camp was fantastic- so much of it that we had to ask them not to cook so many courses for us! Everything was beautifully presented, tasty and fresh and what could be better than sitting outside by the river or the campfire to eat our meals.
A huge thank you to Patrick and all his wonderful staff and especially Simon for looking after us so well and making our safari so very special. Can't wait to go back! And the balloon flight on our last morning was amazing-sun rising on one side and a full moon on the other with an incredible "bush breakfast" when we landed. A very special place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and an old friend spent 4 glorious days at Il Moran. Our guide Enos was extremely personable, knowledgeable and totally professional and made certain we saw the Big 5, Beautiful 5 and Ugly 5. We witnessed some unusual wildlife encounters that even intrigued the experienced guide who says you never know what a new day will bring. The remaining staff at Il Moran were professional friendly and anxious to please us. A special surprise is in store for you if you let them know you're celebrating a special occasion. This was our first trip to the Mara, and if we ever chose to return, we would definitely return to Il Moran.

Room Tip: There are only 10 tents here, and we were extremely happy with number 7, which can accomodate up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefe1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

When a one week trip to Nairobi turned into two, we found ourselves asking what could we do for the weekend. My husband's coworker suggested that we visit the Masai Mara, stay in a camp and do a safari. I wasn't too pleased with the term 'camp' but Governor's II Moran was anything but what I expected. After the quick 45 minute plane ride from Nairobi, we were driven to Moran. Upon arrival, we were told we were at the wrong Governor's Camp (they are a few camps) but Nicholas and Patrick, the manager, helped to smooth everything out. When we were shown to our tent, I was pleased to find that it was nice and spacious and had a nice bathroom with running water. The camp is situated alongside the Mara river and you can hear the sounds of the hippos throughout the day and night. The first night, I was a bit uneasy but the 2nd night I slept like a baby. The camp is not fenced so it's not unusual for an elephant or hippo (at night) to be roaming around. I felt very safe however since there are guards around who escort you to and from your common area at night.

Our guide, Richard, was amazing and extremely knowledgable. We got to see 4 of the big 5, not the leopard, but got to see other amazing animals. We also got to do a nice picket alongside the river which was a memorable experience. My friends and family can't believe the pictures we took. On top of the great room and awesome guide, the food is delicious. It's hard to believe you are in the middle of nowhere.

My husband made the staff aware that we were also celebrating my birthday, so Patrick arranged a bottle of champagne for our tent, Richard, our tent steward, decorated our tent and I was presented with a cake after dinner. Overall, this trip was amazing and one my husband and I will never forget. I look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: We stayed in tent 10, which was further away from the common area but offered more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My kids and I had a wonderful trip. Tents are the largest I have experienced in the Mara. Great location close to the landing strip, overlooking the river where hippos lay in large numbers and yes, they come visit the camp late at night and you can hear them as you fall asleep. the General Manager, Patrick was very hospitable and Jackson, our tent butler was great. Our driver and guide, Maina was truly exceptional and extremely knowledgable. Would recommend highly if you are visiting the Mara.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.5 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#16 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#7 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#46 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
12.3 mi away
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
#121 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
12.6 mi away
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
#40 of 135 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors' Il Moran Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors' Il Moran Camp

Property: Governors' Il Moran Camp
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Governors' Il Moran Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' IL Moran Camp is small and intimate. Located right in the heart of the Masai Mara Game Reserve, this small luxurious camp is hidden under ancient trees, deep in the forest on the banks of the Mara River. 10 spacious tents line the winding river banks of the Mara River. With the best game viewing right on your doorstep game drives and game walks are included in the rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Governors' Il Moran Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors` Il Moran Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors' Il Moran Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing