We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in the Masai Mara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our stay in Il Moran was incredible. I would highly recommend this camp to anyone considering a stay while visiting the Mara. The tents were spacious and very nice. The highlight was the staff who were wonderful and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome like family especially Leyian and Sammy our guide. We also stayed at another beautiful camp on the other side of the river but we preferred the Il Moran side because we felt like we had better animal viewing opportunities without as many other vehicles surrounding the wildlife. We also missed our friends at Il Moran. We were in love with the lions especially the chance to see the famous Marsh Pride. I can't begin to express how magical it was to wake up to the sounds of hippos in the river right below out tent ! We also enjoyed a visit to the local Masai Village. The special touches like flowers on our bed and little stone hippos on our pillows on our last night really touched our hearts. We love everyone at Il Moran and I will dfinately be back on my next trip to the Mara.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirazac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 254 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

The most beautiful wonderful place we have ever visited. The staff, camp and most importantly the wildlife absolutely amazing. A hot air balloon safari is a must, we would also recommend a picnic breakfast in the mara. A perfect way to start our honeymoon! Faultless!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Il Moran as part of our 'trip of a lifetime' Safari holiday in Kenya. We were a group of ten - all family and hosted by my fabulous sister and brother-in-law who had stayed at Il Moran before.
It was a truly magical experience, 'glamping' is an understatement. From our great welcome to our accommodation, nothing could be faulted. The food was excellent, always served in a fabulous outdoor location, at night a fantastic fire-pit burned, with the beautifully laid tables surrounding it and overlooking the Mara river, with hippos, crocs and warthogs lounging on the banks.
Our guide Mina was knowledgeable and so very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble, I took over 1000 photos whilst here which gives you an idea of how fabulous the safari trips were, we took in two safari trips a day taking fabulous packed breakfast and great 'sun-downers' all served at super locations by our guides.
Thank you Patrick and your super, super team...you made a memory for me I'll carry with me forever!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumamiaHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Front Office Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights - more than enough to really feel at home. The staff are great, the rooms fantastic, the food terrific (unfortunately !), and the camp itself very well organised. There is a very strong focus on security which turns out to be necessary because of various animal visitors overnight.

The location within the park is perfect - this is important in choosing a camp. Access to animals is immediate from the time you land and on every safari. All the driver/guides are great - our guide was Maina - he was great - very observant, careful with his driving, responsible in his approach to the animals. He managed to get us 3 migration crossings of the Mara River at the end of the season - absolutely fantastic. The Land Rovers are very comfortable with 4 guests per car so you have plenty of space compared to other groups.

Highly recommended if you have the budget.

Room Tip: All tents are quite private - 5 on each side of camp - those furthest away are most private but a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaydn215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My Husband, Sister & Brother-in-Law have just returned from the most amazing 4 night stay at Il Moran. From the moment we stepped off the Governors plane the service was just fantastic. Our guide Sammy was amazing. He was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the wonderful animals in the Masai. We were so lucky to see all the Big 5 and lots more beside, including the Serval Cat. He was our driver, guide, picnic provider and when we left a friend. A really great Guide. Ali too was brilliant, watching over us at the tents and leading us back to the reception, pointing out all the visiting wildlife - even calling us to see the elephants grazing early in the morning. Il Moran is an amazing place and even though we have been lucky to do lots of travelling, this was probably the best holiday we have ever had. The location, the tents, service & food are truly fabulous. I would recommend Il Moran to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at Governors Il Moran camp for 3 nights, the last of our safari camps in Kenya, we stayed at Little governors prior (pls see my comment). On arrival at Il Moran we were greeted by Patrick, a wonderful enthusiastic person who genuinely cared and listened to you. Joel gave us a run through of the camp and Joshua looked after our tent. On arrival you are hit with majestic echoes of hippos playing in the Mara River. We were in tent 3 (10 tents in total) which was ideal. The tents were very spacious and laid out perfectly with a hammock out the front. Tents are a good distance away from each other. Our driver Enos was brilliant, really made sure you saw every beautiful animal in the Mara. a wealth of knowledge with a great sense of humour and brilliantly trained. Sundowners every night, delightful food and bush breakfast's. Staff were all very good and looked after you extremely well. Elephants enjoy roaming around the tents at night which is beautiful to listen too. The Marsh Pride roam close by so they are easy to find close to camp on game drives.

Highly recommend Il Moran and believe it is the best camp in the mara. You could not be disappointed, we could have easily stay there longer than 3 nights.

I wish all at il Moran well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larrymull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing Governors Il Moran Camp for your safari and for posting a review of the camp. We are delighted that you felt you received a warm welcome from the camp staff and that you liked the tents and layout of the camp. We are very happy that you thought your driver-guide Enos was brilliant with a great sense of humour and brilliantly trained. We are delighted that you found the staff to all be very good and that you liked the fact that elephants are frequent visitors to camp and the camps great location for viewing wildlife and the Marsh Pride. Thank you for recommending Governors Il Moran Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have just returned from a few days in the Mara. Its was our second visit , another memorable time - besides wonderful game viewing and seeing 4 river crossing in 4 days the camp and its staff are really great. Patrick the manager and his team are always around to ensure your comfort and go out of their way to accomodate every request. Our driver/ranger was Ngei , a wonderful man with a wealth of knowledge to make help you understand the bush that little bit better.

Room Tip: only ten tents - 5 each side of the main area - longer walk to the outside ones , so if you struggle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of your safari at Governors Il Moran Camp. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the safari and saw 4 river crossings in 4 days, the Mara is really a fantastic area for wildlife and Governors Il Moran Camp is so well located to see this. We are happy to hear that you found the camp and staff to be great and that you felt that Patrick and his team were always around to ensure your comfort and went out of their way to accomodate every request. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with your guide Ngei, and that his knowledge enhanced the experience for you.

All your comments will be passed on to camp and Patrick, Ngei and the all the team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on safari with us sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.4 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#24 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
981 reviews
4.7 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#20 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#41 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
344 reviews
9.6 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#12 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
9.8 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#55 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors' Il Moran Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors' Il Moran Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $916 - $1,508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Governors' Il Moran Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' IL Moran Camp is small and intimate. Located right in the heart of the Masai Mara Game Reserve, this small luxurious camp is hidden under ancient trees, deep in the forest on the banks of the Mara River. 10 spacious tents line the winding river banks of the Mara River. With the best game viewing right on your doorstep game drives and game walks are included in the rate. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Governors' Il Moran Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors` Il Moran Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors' Il Moran Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing