We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We went to Il Moran for 5 days in March of this year..low season just before the camp closed for April/May.. this was our 3rd visit Excellent camp, very relaxed atmosphere..food excellent I am a veggie so usually a problem but not here, everyday there was something for me to eat and if not Simon would cook something else...nothing was too much trouble, most of the staff had not changed and it was lovely to see them all again...Beds are big and comfortable, shower area very large and and nice hot bath at the end of a long day was most welcome. The position of the camp on the Mara river is second to none as it was teaming with wildlife, where as other camps had to travel quite some distance to the Musiara area to see it, but we had it on our doorstep. The Marsh pride were camped just outside in between Il Moran and Main Governors, our guide Sammy was excellent and knew the lineage of the animals we were looking at and we had time to study them at very close quarters, we learnt alot from him this time. Did not do the balloon safari from Little Governors as we had done it before but would definitely recommend it also the bush walk, as again you learn alot from the local Masi guide about the flora and fauna and the plants they use for different things. We would definitely recommend this camp, we have stayed in much higher spec camps but this has it all.

Room Tip: tent 7 has a good view of the river, but the hippos and the elephants do seem to use it as a cut thr...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jap5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Owner at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Governors' Il Moran Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

This camp was fantastic. The food, staff, level of comfort and tours all made this a trip of a lifetime... Our Host Patrick was so enjoyable and he spent a lot of time with us and taught us a lot of interesting things. We took a walking tour with him and 3 locals and it was so great to see the Masa Mara on foot. We came across a pride of Lions (9 of them, and 8 of us). Back in the safari vehicle (that was very comfortable), our guide Sammy did his best to find the Leopard, but to no avail. We did find a Black Rhino and that was worth the effort. We saw all the other animals and were extremely pleased with the whole thing. The Food was sensational and the serving staff treated us like royalty. Sammy also took us to a local Masi village and we learned alot about the culture. This camp is a very small quiet camp and I would recommed it to anyone without small children. Our group of 4 (DH, myself, Daughter and husband), were by ourselves in our vehicle so we had the best photo opps. We had our own table for meals, and our own extra large tents. The Guest/staff ratio was very low, so we didn't have to cater to any other guests wishes. We did what we wanted and that was so worth it....

Room Tip: Don't walk from your room in the dark without a guard... The resident elephant gets a bit boss...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We went to Kenya to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and chose to have five nights at Il Moran, which is part of the Governors' Camp. The camp has ten tents, which are beautifully fittied, including a bathroom with shower, bath, toilet, bidet and his and hers basins. During our five days we saw lions, leopards, cheatas, elephants, buffalow, rhinos, buffalow and dozens of different smaller animals. The care we received from the staff was exceptional, the food was excellent and our guide made the holiday with his amazing knowledge of the animals and their lifestyles. The manager, Patrick, is also very knowledgable and will discuss any questions you have about your day. Patrick also runs some of the walking safaris, which we did not do, but if we should return the walking safari is something we would seriously consider doing. Each morning we were woken with hot chocolate, coffee and homemade biscuits before starting the 6:30 am game drive. I would advise anybody going to take advantage of the early morning drive as the animals are much more alert than they are in the heat of later in the day. If you are looking for somewhere very special where you can see the huge variety if wildlife in th Maasi Mara, then I don't think you could find anywhere better to stay.

Room Tip: All the tents overlook the Mara river and therefore I don't think there would be much to choose...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me_MeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is the lovely camp which is set in the perfect location for viewing in the Mara. The tent's are roomy and comfortable and having a bath is a real treat. There is also plenty of access to electricity for charging camera batteries. The camp has a relaxed atmosphere and the food is excellent. Our guide, Enos, was very knowledgeable and ensured we got the best game viewing. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue06_Rich05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights back in september and had a great time. The tents are very large and well equiped with comfortable king size beds,a full size bath and his/her sinks. Our butler Jackson was attentive and polite and brought us tea and biscuits to our tent prior to embarking on our morning game drives and placed hot water bottles in the bed at night! Our guide Ngei was exceptional and we saw the big 5,a lion and cheetah kill, a wilderbeast migration crossing the mara river plus all the usual bird /antelopes and several leopards. Overall the food was of a very good standard along with attentive staff although at night the restaurant could have been better lit.We would recommend staying here to anyone

Room Tip: Tent 5 as near all amenities
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marksutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I have visited many tented camps in the Masai Mara over the years, however I always prefer & choose to stay at the Little Governors Camp for the idyllic location and the stunning views of the escarpment. This year the Governors team very kindly offered us an upgrade to the Il Moran camp in the Mara (along the Mara river, nearby to Little Governors) and what an absolutely wonderful experience we had! We were hosted by Patrick, who is the most professional, enthusiastic and entertaining, attentive and knowledgeable camp manager I have ever encountered, a real gem! A pleasure to meet and spend time with him, his passion for Kenya and the wildlife and birdlife is boundless. Now onto the food, acting head chef, Lillian was a star, the best food we have ever eaten in the Mara, out picnic breakfasts and lunches were so very delicious. Presentation was Michelin * standard. Location of our tent was perfect for observing and filming the hippo's. (Tent 3).

Once again we were driven by Bernard Kashu, another treasure of the Governors Camps. Overall, we were made to feel like royalty, and in fact the King of Saudi Arabia has also stayed at this camp, so we were in good company!

Do not hesitate to stay here at Il Moran, the best tents in the Mara (& I've seen a few!), wonderful guides, superb food, fantastic host, wonderful seamless organisation too which is important when time is of the premium & you are moving from camps.

Oh and game viewing, the best we have ever experienced, basically everything.

Book it!

Room Tip: Tent 3 and 2 for hippo watching.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Owner at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Was not in my opinion a 5 star camp.Have stayed in many camps all over Africa,and Il Moran was very disappointing.The guiding, bedroom were all fine but evening experiences very poor.Could not see even the menu,needed to use a torch.We never had any rapport with the staff,who at times were grumpy. Not a relaxed bar area were you felt you could sit around. Would not advise anyone to stay,when many other good camps in the area which are cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.4 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#21 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
940 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#31 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
Destiny Eco Camp Mara
#123 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sentinel Mara Camp
Sentinel Mara Camp
#27 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
134 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanctuary Olonana
Sanctuary Olonana
#28 of 142 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors' Il Moran Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors' Il Moran Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $828 - $1,511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Governors' Il Moran Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' IL Moran Camp is small and intimate. Located right in the heart of the Masai Mara Game Reserve, this small luxurious camp is hidden under ancient trees, deep in the forest on the banks of the Mara River. 10 spacious tents line the winding river banks of the Mara River. With the best game viewing right on your doorstep game drives and game walks are included in the rate. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Governors' Il Moran Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors` Il Moran Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors' Il Moran Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing