We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Thick of it - in style!”
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kicheche Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In the Thick of it - in style!”
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Kicheche Bush Camp is excellent. We were there for 3 nights on our honeymoon and have just got back. We had a great time and saw all the game and action we hoped for. The staff are very friendly and the food was excellent. This was a great location and the tents offer luxury and a comfortable area in which to get those well needed rest hours! We would love to come back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireShugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
83
194
60
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

I would reccommend this camp to anyone.
The camp host are extremley welcoming and the staff are always smiling.
The tents were very clean, and the service was incredible.
The small touches such as the hand written welcome note from the host and the hot water bottle in the bed in the evening was great too.
I can not fault this camp at all, it exceeded all expectations!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I spent several nights at Kicheche in late December and had a marvellous time. The tents are large and well furnished and spaced far apart for a touch of privacy. The proximity to the wildlife is amazing, hearing a variety of animals passing by is a great expereince.

The camp hosts were extremely knowledgeable and friendly and the guides are excellent. Don't let the phrase Bush Camp fool you, the food is very good and there is always plenty of it!

A great stay at a great camp in wonderful surroundings, I would recommended a visit as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpio7410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Beautiful camp site very close to the game. As animals don't respect park boundaries we had the richness and variety of the Masaai Mara without the large numbers of vehicles. Tents excellent with lighting, hot water bottles and lots of storage space. Food was very good and served by deightful staff. Our guide Jimmy was excellent and made sure we had very varied drives.
If you have time it is worth doing a walk as we did with Greg, the manager for amazing views.
Would recomend this camp to anyone wanting a true bush experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safariUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

First visited with my wife June '08 but had to return; this time as a treat for my mother. One night, every person around the dinenr table (apart from my mum) were repeat visitors which tells its own story. Special because only 6 tents with all the necessary luxuries but still with the feeling of camping. Climate is perfect - sunny, dry & warm air (mid 20's?) and gentle breeze. No mosquitoes on either visit. Camp sits in our conservancy so only 2 other small camps share 30,000+ acres of lions, cheetah, leopards etc so only ever see 1-2 other vehicles at a time. Escorted walking safari is worth doing, as is a visit to a village. Hospitality is perfect. Food very good. Staff smily and keen to satisfy. Already planning my next visit for 2010 with my kids too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAJM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurreyUK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

This is a very intimate camp in the Olare Orok Conservancy. The tents are very well equipped with en-suite facilities & the bed very comfortable, with some nice little home touches. Safety is of paramount importance & you are escorted at night to the dining tent & back. A torch & a walkie talkie in your tent is also supplied if you have any problems in the night.
We had a very warm welcome from our host Anna & the staff who were so friendly & cheerful.
As the conservancy only allows a few small camps it means the game viewing is very relaxed without the over abundance of vehicles, as in the Mara. Our guide Nelson was superb in spotting the game & was extremely knowledgeable. We really enjoyed having our picnic breakfasts out on the plain as well as the sundowner drink to round off our viewing day.

The food was superb, the menus were truly inspired - service was excellent, & we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Having stayed at a few camps in the Mara area, I can easily say that Kicheche Bush Camp is my favourite. Very relaxed, comfortable and located right next to the Mara Reserve, meaning game drives literally start from the camp. Some camps are in dense wooded areas, with restricted views, but Bush Camp is there, in the open, with great views right from your own chair. The wildlife is superb and the guides know how to find it. Kicheche's vehicles are large, open sided and strong. You do not feel cramped in the vehicles and they even provided beanbags to rest your camera on for taking good photos, which was a nice touch!

The standards are high in every department, you will not go wrong at this camp. And the beds, they are like your beds at home, and this is a camp!, fantastic. I'm going back.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
7.1 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
490 reviews
2.8 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#5 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
596 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
320 reviews
12.8 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Property: Kicheche Bush Camp
Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing