We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thought we’d died and gone to heaven!!”
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We thought we’d died and gone to heaven – a veritable paradise for wildlife photographers. As for the wildlife itself, our first day was so amazing we thought it couldn’t continue. We had only just got off the small plane and driven a couple of hundred yards when our guide Charles spotted a serval – we love to see small cats, but realise how difficult they are to find and we had never seen a serval before. And only a few yards further on, there were cheetah on a termite mound.

This stunning start was continued throughout our 6-night stay with even a TRIPLE “Catrick” all three of the big cat species - cheetah, lion and leopard - on each of three consecutive game drives). And the vehicle set up was great for photography – the best we’d ever experienced.

Emma, Darren and the delightful Bing’s hospitality was second to none, with even a special surprise romantic dinner for us. All of the staff were friendly, eager to please and efficient and our guide Charles was outstanding, with his expert knowledge ensuring we were in the right place at the right time for the best sighting opportunities. Okavango Tours and Safaris did us proud again – we asked for the best for good photo opportunities for photographing cheetah and they certainly delivered - we had many excellent sightings.

Other wildlife(animals) apart from cheetah, lion, leopard and serval mentioned above included buffalo, elephant, bushbaby, leopard tortoise, crocodile, bat-eared fox, mouse, terrapin, giraffe, various antelopes (hartebeest, dik dik, topi, reedbuck, eland, Grant’s gazelle, Thomson’s gazelle, impala), agama, various bats (including yellow-winged acacia and leaf-nosed), hyena, olive baboon, white bearded wildebeest, frog, zebra, gecko, scrub hare, hippo, mantis, jackal, mongoose, vervet monkey, warthog.

Some of the more interesting birds were bare-faced go away bird, red cheeked cordon bleu, hamerkop, various hornbills (including African grey, red billed, southern ground), Marabou stork, grey backed shrike, little bee eater, cattle egret, lilac breasted roller, white browed coucal, various eagles (including African fish, black chested snake, bataleur, brown snake, tawny), sandpiper , ostrich, Rufous naped lark, grey crowned crane , Egyptian goose, kingfishers (grey headed, striped), secretarybird, slate coloured boubou , black kite, nightjar, various vultures (African white backed, hooded, lappet faced, Ruppel's griffon), grey heron, helmeted guineafowl, purple grenadier, silverbird , water thick knee, various storks (including yellow billed, woolly necked), Meyer's parrot.

And there were no doubt others we've forgotten to list.

One word sums it up - Wow!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 457 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

The service was excellent. We loved the room. The location was sublime. The amenities I wanted to take home with me. What I liked best is the warmth and friendliness of everyone there. What I liked least was saying goodbye. I'd like to live there and have them serve me hot chocolate and cookies every morning in my room, feed me all three meals, and intersperse naps, reading books, and game rides at my own pace. That would be heaven.

Bravo, Emma and Darren, Bing, and the whole staff !

Room Tip: Let Darren and Emma pick it for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 277audreyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our three night stay at Kicheche Bush Camp. All the other positive reviews are spot on. Darren and Emma are great hosts who run a lovely camp. The facilities are first class, the food amazing, and the staff great. Our driver/guide, James, was brilliant, he went out of his way to find us Leopard (and was successful) - he drove well and safely, had extraordinary skill at spotting game, and demonstrated thorough knowledge of all aspects of the wildlife that surrounded us in such profusion.

We organised our trip ourselves by dealing direct, via email, with Josephine in the Kicheche home office in Nairobi. She was wonderful, handled my questions patiently, and arranged our stays in two camps (we also went to Mara Camp), plus flights from Diani. It all went precisely as planned.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell all the tents are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loshalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

From our warm welcome to our departure we were treated to first class service by the amazing Bush Camp team. A BIG thank you to Darren and Emma, Camp hosts, for their hospitality and thoughtful attention to detail; to Nelson our excellent guide for showing us the incredible location and wildlife and for sharing his exceptional knowledge; to Kennedy and Abraham, chefs and kitchen crew for such delicious meals (including those lush breakfast pies); to Joseph for his early morning cheerfulness and diligent care of our tent and to everyone else, including Bing (the dog!), for life long happy holiday memories.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateKevinLaura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is our 4th visit. There is a lot of game in the conservancy and this is a good time to visit. It is generally quiet but Bush camp is busy. The guides in this camp are very good we had James. Emma and Daren run a happy ship which makes for a very good stay. Back again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed at Kicheche for three days at the end of a two week African holiday, and it could not have been more perfect. The super-friendly hosts Emma and Darren greeted us on arrival and immediately made us feel at home, which was really appreciated as we had never been on safari or to a bush camp before. We were overwhelmed by the beauty of the place, the excellent level of service (from everyone there - but particular mention to Kennedy, Abraham and our own tent-master Joseph), the delicious and varied food, the comfort and convenience of our own three-person "tent" (in quotes because although it is a tent, it's really a very comfortable bedroom, bathroom, shower, and open lounge), and just the whole experience. Another massive plus was our safari guide Charles, who has inconceivable wildlife knowledge (and eyesight) and could not have been nicer to us. And, the camp is 100% solar powered and very environmentally aware. The whole experience was unforgettable; I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to return someday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

What an unbelievable three days we spent at Kicheche in the Mara! As Rachel said, we cried when we left & hope we can return one day to relive this fabulous experience. The camp is beautiful: gorgeous big tents with every amenity you could want, but blended into the landscape & part of the Mara! And we had our very own Joseph who looked after everything to do with our tent, including filling our 'camp shower' twice because there were three of us! Our home had a front sitting area, a sleeping area, plus toilet, dressing & shower! The main tent was welcoming with a comfy seating area with library, a serving area for the large dining table, plus a handy spot to recharge your devices. Our mornings began at 5:45 with coffee brought with out wake-up call! Then Charles, our kind, funny, knowledgeable guide took us out for our morning safari. Charles was amazing & he found us so many animals! He'd stop around 8:00 & make us breakfast out on the Mara! Lunch was a lovely outdoor event, sharing good food served by the dignified & gentle Masia in traditional wear. Thank you Abraham & Kennedy! You treated us like royalty! Late afternoon Charles would take us out again. He never tired of our questions & never ceased trying to give us the best possible experience. As the sun went down he would open up his treasure chest ( filled by Abraham & Kennedy?) & we'd have our 'Sundowner' out with the animals. Our first day we stayed in the truck, surrounded by a herd of elephants! Returning home, we'd change into warmer clothes & enjoy everyone's stories of their day as we sat around the fire! Our elegant & delicious dinner would be a 'family affair' & was a wonderful way to get to know our attentive & charismatic hosts, Emma & Darren, as well as the other interesting people at the camp. Kicheche is a small camp so the intimate setting is very conducive to good chats & insights learned - often about yourself!

Room Tip: Our tent was closest to the main tent, & I did like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evelynhazzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,082 reviews
12.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#11 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
961 reviews
3.3 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#7 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
525 reviews
17.8 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#20 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
119 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#14 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $1,078 - $1,172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing