We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb Camp” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kicheche Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spent 6 nights at the Kicheche Bush Camp as part of a group. The journey from the airstrip to the camp is short. The tents are large and spacious with two single beds or they are put together to form a double. A hot water bottle in the bed at night was most welcome to take the chill off the sheets, but later pushed out as it was not really needed. The tents are well equipped with hanging space, a flushing toilet, tap with cold water, water for cleaning your teeth, a water barrel containing drinking water, a wind up torch, whistle and radio for emergencies, towels, toiletries, electric lighting and a bucket shower with hot water. This is one aspect I had my doubts about, but it worked really well and Joseph ensured we had plenty of water which was hot.
The food was tasty with a good variety and they very kindly dealt with my 'no wheat' problem. There was lots to eat and no one was going to starve.
Our guides/drivers were Nelson, Patrick and James, who were all excellent with a very good knowledge of the animals. We were photographers and all the guides knew where to place the vehicles to get the best light and positions for our photos. Without their enthusiasm we would not have done so well. A big thanks must also go to Livingston, another guide, who often found the animals for us. The wildlife in this area is amazing without having to travel too far.

Our hosts where Emma and Darren, who are lovely couple, prepared to do anything to make your stay more enjoyable.
This is one camp you should consider as it is outstanding. Great location, friendly and helpful staff, tasty food and superb wildlife.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
78
187
57
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was my second time at a Kicheche camp in Maasai Mara, and the experience was for sure of life changing calibre. We stayed at Bush Camp for 1 week, and I am still flying high after the most amazing wildlife experience of my lifetime.

The conservancy is a heaven for Big Cat viewing, and we were so fortunate to spend time with cheetahs, leopards, lions and serval cats. (Notice the plural S´s ;) We had cheetah cubs, leopard cubs and lion cubs almost every day, and spent hours with them from early morning to late afternoon.

The camp, service, guides, tents, food, vehicles ++++ everything is just spot on!

So if you have not visited Kicheche Bush Camp before - here is why its an easy choice:
- The Olare conservancy secures few vehicles around. Its a luxury!
- Kicheche has the best vehicles in the Mara. Believe it!
- Guides are unlike anything else you will come across! They are hands down the best in the business, and their eyes will spot everything! (Except when I spotted the leopards first ;)
- Food is amazing!
- Darren & Emma are the best hosts I have come across! They will go to what ever length to make your stay unforgettable.
- Tents are just what a safari is about with all necessities.
- No fence around camp = a truly unique experience during nighttime :)
++++

I could go on - but as you might have understood, Kicheche is my preferred camp in the Mara. And I already look forward to going back :)

Best regards
Christian, Norway

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are reading this review, you are probably considering Kicheche Bush Camp, just like we were. After returning from 6 weeks in Africa, which included 5 nights at Kicheche Bush Camp, the best advice I can give you is ... Just book it! We had some hesitation with the cost, but it was worth every cent and more. We did some amazing things in Africa, but Kicheche is probably the one I would recommend the most. A smorgasbord of animals in a magnificent environment. Seeing the migration was a bonus. I originally wondered whether 5 nights would be too much .. It definitely isn't , and I certainly hope to go back there again. I would HIGHLY recommend Kicheche Bush Camp .. It was our first port of call in Africa .. What a great introduction to a magnificent continent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMH5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our 2 nights at Bush Camp were an unforgettable experience - lions, lions and more lions.....and a few cheetahs and leopards too. Our excellent safari guide - Patrick - made sure that we ticked off all of the 'Big Five' including the very elusive leopards and black rhino in just 48 hours. The camp is excellently situated in the Olare Orok Conservancy and is well laid-out. Darren and Emma were brilliant hosts and made us feel like they were welcoming us into their own home. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay more special and memorable. Our accommodation was extremely spacious and luxurious and was kept spotless by Joseph our tent attendant who was always on hand to adjust the temperature of our bush shower - felt like we had our own personal butler! Sad that we only spent 2 nights at Bush Camp, but hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Rich2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Last September my wife and I made our first trip to Kicheche Bush Camp - it was an incredible experience! We had a large vacation planned for 2013 - but when we were relaxing outside our tent one afternoon - off in the distance a group of giraffes wandered by - Sandy and I looked at each other and said "cancel the vacation - we're coming back"!!... we contacted our agent at Imagine Africa in London and we were on our way back. There have been many reviews written about the camp - its spacious tents, outstanding food and great staff that is there to look after your needs - to write about it would only be repeating what other people have commented. What makes Kicheche Bush Camp so special for us is the feeling of complete ease - Darren and Emma are THE best managers - whether enjoying a meal, a drink or a conversation around the campfire at night, you feel like you're among good friends. I'm lost for words when it comes to their Guides - they know their job and they can make even a "would-be" wildlife photographer capture amazing pictures. We booked a Guide for ourselves - but I won't mention his name because we want to be able to book him on our next return (lol)!!..and yes like others have said, we to hesitated to post another review because we'd like it to remain a secret!!..During our stay we met a wonderful lady who mentioned that this was her "10th" trip to the camp - she commented that perhaps it's an addiction - we couldn't agree more and we're glad we are hooked!!!...We'll be back next summer for our "3rd" visit!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Bush Camp and what can we say but wow, the most fantastic place, lovely spacious tents with running water and flushing toilet, bucket showers filled with hot water every evening or any time on request by the lovely room boys who are always smiling and on hand. Very comfortable king size beds with a hot water bottle provided in the evenings which can get chilly.

Darren and Emma are just the best hosts anyone could wish for, we were met immediately on arrival from another camp, escorted to our tents for a quick look round and then out for lunch under the tree and the food, how the chefs prepare such amazing food with basically a bbq oven and a 2 ring burner is astounding but every meal was a delight. Lunch was always a hot option with a variety of salads, cheese and biscuits and a dessert. Dinner was 3 courses with unlimited drinks of your choice. The ever smiling Kennedy and William were always on hand to top up your glass and assist in any way they could as were Darren and Emma who went out of their way to make sure all guests are comfortable and accomodated for down to providing hot, buttered toast and tea in the tent one evening for a guest not feeling too well and driving another guest out to meet his guide as he'd had a later start also due to feeling unwell. Breakfast was usually in the bush and there were always some kind of egg dish with 'breakfast bush pie' as created by Emma, a highlight, along with cereal, breads, pastries and hot tea or coffee. You certainly do not go hungry.

The game viewing was superb with a big pride of lion and their cubs living nearby and always willing to pose for photos! We also saw cheetahs and leopards nearby. Our guide was Nelson who was incredibly knowledgeable and loved to share his information and always seemed to know where the best viewing was happening. We saw mini crossings close to camp and a big crossing in the reserve itself. We would not hestitate to return to this camp and would recommend to others 100%.

There is no power in the tent to charge batteries but there are plenty of powerpoints in the communal areas to allow everyone to charge camera batteries without problems and there are now even powerpoints in the jeeps themselves which is just genius - just remember a sticker or something to customise your chargers as there are numerous Canon and Nikon batteries being charged.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent and well spaced apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katckam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I hesitated to post a review of this place. I would prefer that it remain a secret and would hate to see prices skyrocket due to demand and popularity. I’ve been on 3 safaris and stayed at quite a few different safari lodges. In my opinion, Kicheche Bush Camp is the place to go. We stayed here based on rave reviews from a friend who had stayed at Bush Camp last year. We booked Kicheche Bush Camp hoping for the best, but with the understanding that fantastic by our friend’s standard might be ok by ours. Let me say, this place was superb in all respects and exceeded all expectations. Like most people, we stayed in this region to check out the wildlife and see a crossing of the wildebeest. We were hopeful that the lodging would be tolerable and that the wildlife would be amazing. We stayed at the camp a total of 3 nights, and each day the wildlife viewing got better and better. Darren and Emma were the consummate hosts. They were always checking on us to make sure that everything was to our liking. It is hardly fair to call our lodging “tents” since they had running water and lights. We found our tent to be very clean, not to mention spacious and bright. This camp has bucket showers (much scarier than it sounds) which were always filled with warm water whenever we wanted to shower. Every dietary request was honored- this was very important since I am vegetarian and my husband is vegan- and the food was outstanding. Unlike other safaris that I’ve gone on, we were able to dictate our start and stop time for all the drives. If we wanted to stay out all day, no problem, and a picnic lunch was even provided. In terms of wildlife, stay here if you want to see the big cats. There is a large pride of lions not far from the camp and they did not fail to disappoint. The drivers/rangers had unreal spotting skills, not to mention, they knew where to position the vehicle in order to get the best shot. This camp is definitely geared towards photographers- all their vehicles have plugs to charge batteries as well as beanbags. I could go and on about our fantastic sightings. You just have to stay here yourself to see. I would definitely (and hope to) return to this place. Note: If you prefer a stocked wine cellar and spa treatments to go with your safari experience, this might not be the camp for you. In addition, I recommend packing at least a 100-400mm lens to get those good shots.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhaganmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
10.4 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
10.0 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#15 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#9 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
19.5 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Property: Kicheche Bush Camp
Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kicheche Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing