We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must.....”
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kicheche Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been to many camps and locations around kenya however I have to say this rates as one of the best. Kicheche Bush Camp is just that...right in the bush. Simple, but comfortable. Our hosts Darren and Emma could not have made us more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. James our guide was a font of knowledge on birds as well as beasts, immensely likeable, incredibly patient with a lovely sense of humour. So for those of you who want to feel more in tune with the bush and nature this is the place..fabulous... However even for those of you who have never been on safari this will blow you away...

Maria D , Nairobi

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

I write this review with a heavy heart because we are now home and no longer at Kicheche Bush Camp which was just amazing for SO many reasons. We arrived from having spent 3 nights at Kicheche Laikipia and thought that no other camp could match our experience but we were assured by our hosts Sonja and Andy (from Laikipia) that we would love Bush Camp and how right they were. We are a family of 6 which included 3 generations ranging from 11 to 77 years of age and Bush Camp was loved by us all.
Firstly, the camp is run by an incredibly friendly team who really couldn't have done anything else to have made our stay any better. Darren and Emma are such wonderful hosts and they engaged with our children just as well as they did with my parents and we all had so much fun together. The rest of the Bush Camp team are equally fantastic and so incredibly welcoming from start to finish (they never stop smiling!). We were treated to some incredible food over our 4 night stay, both in the camp and out on game drives. At the end of our stay, I asked to see the camp kitchen. Darren was proud to show us all around and not only was this fascinating but it also reinforced just how hard all the staff worked behind the scenes to make every aspect of our stay so special. William, Kennedy and Abraham looked after us so well in the camp dining room and over the al fresco lunch every day, keeping us topped up with an endless supply of delicious food and drinks.

The tents are incredibly luxurious and it is easy to forget that you are under canvas and in the middle of the bush. Peter and Joseph looked after our 3 tents duing our stay. The tents were always spotless and beds made beautifully with lovely linen and hot water bottles at night and the dressing gowns are the softest in the world! The beds are extremely comfortable and you even have lamps with shades on the bedside tables so this really is the ultimate way to camp! Being woked each morning at 6.00 (our choice!) by the soft tones of Peter's voice was the best alarm clock. Whilst coming to, Peter delivered hot drinks and cookies and unzipped the outer tent so that we could enjoy the wonderful view of the Mara. One of my lasting memories will be the lovely conversations that I had each evening with Peter, between the canvas, whilst I washed under the bucket shower and he waiting outside to top up with hot water as required. This might sound a bit odd but believe me, you just have to experience it to understand what I mean! The camp is unfenced, but there are guards keeping watch for the big game at night so you can sleep peacefully. There is something very special about hearing gazelle nibbling the grass around your tent at night and hearing the roar of lions in the far distance.
The camp is located in the Olare Orok Conservancy and we felt very priviledged to have one of the few beds within this conservancy. This means that you are treated to long games drives and you hardly see another vehicle. To me, this is a price well worth paying and this was highlighted when we left the conservancy one morning in order that we could see a migration crossing on the Mara Rver and we were shocked just how many vehicles were lined up on the riverbank. Not only do you have the game viewing to yourself within the conservancy but you feel that the wildlife are leading a much better life and this was illustrated by the amount of game that we saw. We were lucky enough to be guided by 3 different guldes from Kicheche Bush Camp; Nelson, Charles and James. They were all so knowledgeable and at the end of every game drive we felt that we had experienced a sensory overload! Our children (10 and 13) learnt so much and really engaged well with all of the guides. We were interested in spotting birds as well as the big five and we felt that the guides enjoyed this aspect of our game drives. We were also treated to an endless supply of cats and other wonderful game and now have more photographs than we know what to do with.
In the evening, we really enjoyed sharing our stories with the other guests in the small camp around the camp fire and then over supper. Emma and Darren play such an important role in making everyone feel relaxed but we were also lucky to meet some other lovely people at the camp, including a family of three from Dallas, a honeymoon couple from London and a delightful Australian who had returned to Bush Camp many many times and we can understand why.
We can not thank Darren, Emma and the whole team enough for making our family trip so truly memorable. We are already planning a return visit and in the meantime, we will keep looking at the photos!

Room Tip: There are only 6 tents and they are equally as good. The main dining and sitting area/tent is situa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateV694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Quite simple:

Scenery/location - unbeatable and absolutely stunning
Rooms - top quality, 5* hotel tenting and I miss hearing lions whilst I'm trying to sleep!
Hospitality - Darren and Emma are warm and welcoming..great hosts
Food - ridiculous especially given we were in the middle of the bush! 5* dining
Drives - we saw everything just on the way from the airstrip!
Guides - best in the country (Charles is amazing, he's an encyclopaedia and great fun)

Thanks for a very special Honeymoon x

Nick and Sam

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent a few nights in Kicheche Bush and Kicheche Mara camps in July 2013, and also in other "well known" camp in Serengueti (Tanzania), in the same trip.

What we can say is that the service provided in Kicheche is simply the best it can be. No pretentions to be a resort, but the details, food, service, guides, cars with few people and the amount of different animals, including lot of cats a few meters out from the lodge makes this simply the best choise we believe it can be. We wish had stayed at least a 3rd night in each camp.
Our best memories of our Safari trip are certainly in Kicheche Bush.
For the ones are deciding between both camps, Kicheche Bush has newer tends and better for couples, the Mara Camp is better for bigger families.
We were in both and we could se hundreds of animals, including the migration of wildebeasts (from Bush Camp).
You cant find better experience.

Room Tip: We got the MBuni, last room, great view and good privicy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Darren and Emma and their hard working team run this camp to a very high standard. The Tents are luxuriously comfortable with ample space and ensuite facilities. I stayed in Kipepeo which was furthest away from the main area and I was very well looked after by Peter who woke me every morning with a cup of tea and hot water for me to wash. He kept my Tent clean and tidy and was always there to greet me and bring me hot water for my bucket shower at the end of the day’s game drives. The chefs do an excellent job providing all our meals, the food was amaizing.William, Kennedy and Abraham provided excellent service greeting us after game drives with refreshing cold drinks and serving our food and wine at meal times. The vehicles, Custom Built Land Cruisers,(not Land Rovers) were well maintained and clean ready for every game drive and well equipped for photographers. Our guides Nelson and Charles were incredible, they had a sixth sense of always knowing where the animals would be and what they would do next. They were both always keen and willing to share their knowledge which taught us a lot about the animals and their behaviour. They both had amazing driving skills and always managed to get us into perfect position for superb photographs. Although I travelled solo I was part of a group of six on a photographic safari trip with a Professional photographer. I would like to thank Darren and Emma and all their amazing team for making us all feel welcome and part of their family and providing us with an AMAIZING EXPERIENCE.

Room Tip: All tents well equipped to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a great first 3 days in Amboseli at the Tortillis Camp but this camp was even better. The camp is completely unobtrusive to the nature around it with very little or no permanent structures so you feel like you are really out in the bush in tents. They generate all the power through solar and yet you lack for nothing. You get your own Masai team to watch over your tent as animals are able to roam through and around it. The team of Darren and Emma are perfect for welcoming you to the camp and taking care of everything you need. The staff manages to make amazing meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner with included wine and drinks. The jeeps are very comfortable and our guide James was incredible. The wildlife is abundant and it's amazing that you can get as close to lions and cheetahs as we did. The bush breakfasts and sundowners were real highlights and we were sad to leave after 3 days. To sum it up, this camp is really the perfect combination of luxury and nature on a small intimate scale. When in doubt, book it!

Room Tip: The tents are all the same I believe and its a small camp so you are close to everything no matter w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larsols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This safari was our holiday of a lifetime and proved to be even better than we could possible have imagined. Emma and Darren were the perfect hosts making us feel very welcome and at home in this superbly luxurious camp. The balance between feeling part of the wilderness but at the same time feeling safe was spot on. The guides and support staff were all top quality with a particular mention to "Eagle Eye" Charles who was an exceptional guide who we had such fun with and learnt so much from. We really miss him. Would thoroughly recommend the Fly Camp experience with Charles as the guide and Abraham the perfect host. It is an amazing experience. The food throughout our stay was the perfect balance between excellent quality and quantity. We felt very spoilt and hope to one day return and continue our adventure. It truly was the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,109 reviews
12.9 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
981 reviews
3.3 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#9 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Ca...
#11 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
646 reviews
20.3 mi away
Enkewa Camp
Enkewa Camp
#1 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
378 reviews
16 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#8 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $1,254 - $1,717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kicheche Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kicheche Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing