We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way to find better place than this for a Safari”
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent a few nights in Kicheche Bush and Kicheche Mara camps in July 2013, and also in other "well known" camp in Serengueti (Tanzania), in the same trip.

What we can say is that the service provided in Kicheche is simply the best it can be. No pretentions to be a resort, but the details, food, service, guides, cars with few people and the amount of different animals, including lot of cats a few meters out from the lodge makes this simply the best choise we believe it can be. We wish had stayed at least a 3rd night in each camp.
Our best memories of our Safari trip are certainly in Kicheche Bush.
For the ones are deciding between both camps, Kicheche Bush has newer tends and better for couples, the Mara Camp is better for bigger families.
We were in both and we could se hundreds of animals, including the migration of wildebeasts (from Bush Camp).
You cant find better experience.

Room Tip: We got the MBuni, last room, great view and good privicy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 453 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Darren and Emma and their hard working team run this camp to a very high standard. The Tents are luxuriously comfortable with ample space and ensuite facilities. I stayed in Kipepeo which was furthest away from the main area and I was very well looked after by Peter who woke me every morning with a cup of tea and hot water for me to wash. He kept my Tent clean and tidy and was always there to greet me and bring me hot water for my bucket shower at the end of the day’s game drives. The chefs do an excellent job providing all our meals, the food was amaizing.William, Kennedy and Abraham provided excellent service greeting us after game drives with refreshing cold drinks and serving our food and wine at meal times. The vehicles, Custom Built Land Cruisers,(not Land Rovers) were well maintained and clean ready for every game drive and well equipped for photographers. Our guides Nelson and Charles were incredible, they had a sixth sense of always knowing where the animals would be and what they would do next. They were both always keen and willing to share their knowledge which taught us a lot about the animals and their behaviour. They both had amazing driving skills and always managed to get us into perfect position for superb photographs. Although I travelled solo I was part of a group of six on a photographic safari trip with a Professional photographer. I would like to thank Darren and Emma and all their amazing team for making us all feel welcome and part of their family and providing us with an AMAIZING EXPERIENCE.

Room Tip: All tents well equipped to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a great first 3 days in Amboseli at the Tortillis Camp but this camp was even better. The camp is completely unobtrusive to the nature around it with very little or no permanent structures so you feel like you are really out in the bush in tents. They generate all the power through solar and yet you lack for nothing. You get your own Masai team to watch over your tent as animals are able to roam through and around it. The team of Darren and Emma are perfect for welcoming you to the camp and taking care of everything you need. The staff manages to make amazing meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner with included wine and drinks. The jeeps are very comfortable and our guide James was incredible. The wildlife is abundant and it's amazing that you can get as close to lions and cheetahs as we did. The bush breakfasts and sundowners were real highlights and we were sad to leave after 3 days. To sum it up, this camp is really the perfect combination of luxury and nature on a small intimate scale. When in doubt, book it!

Room Tip: The tents are all the same I believe and its a small camp so you are close to everything no matter w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larsols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This safari was our holiday of a lifetime and proved to be even better than we could possible have imagined. Emma and Darren were the perfect hosts making us feel very welcome and at home in this superbly luxurious camp. The balance between feeling part of the wilderness but at the same time feeling safe was spot on. The guides and support staff were all top quality with a particular mention to "Eagle Eye" Charles who was an exceptional guide who we had such fun with and learnt so much from. We really miss him. Would thoroughly recommend the Fly Camp experience with Charles as the guide and Abraham the perfect host. It is an amazing experience. The food throughout our stay was the perfect balance between excellent quality and quantity. We felt very spoilt and hope to one day return and continue our adventure. It truly was the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really enjoyable visit to the Kicheche Bush Camp. The staff was very friendly and the environment was very hospitable. Game drives absolutely spot on with excellent ability to be in the right place at the right time to get the most out of it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I know I have said this before, but Kicheche Bush Camp is simply perfect. And that is thanks to Darren, Emma, Bing and all the staff at KBC. Darren and Emma are excellent hosts and manage the camp admirably. The happy and willing staff are a testament to good management but also indicate the quality of staff working at Kicheche Bush Camp. All staff are extremely hard-working, happy, professional and it is the people which really make Kicheche stand out from the crowd. Each time I return to KBC, I am greeted like a family member and I'm made to feel like it is my second home...in a truly genuine way, not in a way that smacks of trying too hard to please the customer.

KBC is located within a great conservancy with an abundance of animals. It is also very near to the reserve for added value. KBC is a small tented camp...but does not resemble a camp ground in any shape or form. The tents are spacious, clean, and include proper beds and cold running water. All tents have an 'ensuite' shower and toilet: but the showers are bucket showers. Personally, I like this. It reminds you that you're in the middle of a natural area of game and not in a hotel next to a zoo. Whilst you need to use your hot bucket of water sparingly, there is plenty to shower and wash your hair. In any event, if you run out, the tent staff are happy to bring another bucket. James did a great job looking after us and the tent: he happily woke us at 5am (sorry about that James!) with coffee and cookies so that we could be out on our drive before sunrise. In the evenings we would obviously stretch out our time with the animals at sunset for as long as possible: but James would always be there waiting for us back at our tent with hot water.

The guides are superb. They are extremely well qualified and understand photography and the needs of a photographer. Once again, James Nampaso defied belief with his spotting skills and impressed us with his general knowledge about all the animals. A game drive just wouldn't be the same without James. As with tent-James, guide-James was also more than happy to be up early with us and out driving in the dark, searching for animal to photograph once the morning light came. Thank you James for your commitment to making our holiday a success.

Thanks also to the chef and his kitchen staff - amazing, as always! Thanks to Kennedy, Abraham and William for looking after us and keeping us fed and watered. And thanks to everyone else working behind the scenes too.

P.S. Oops, I clicked excellent for swimming pool - please note that there is no swimming pool but I can't unclick it...

Room Tip: All tents are good, they are spread out to ensure privacy. If you don't want to walk too far (i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Thank you so much Darren, Emma and the team for another amazing stay.
Kicheche Bush Camp is in a great location where you can easily get into the reserve, but it has the advantage of being in a conservancy where great sightings are highly likely and right on your doorstep. This is helped by having a great team of guides who are all great spotters, very knowledgeable and good fun. They are also brilliant if you're into photography, knowing where best to place the vehicle etc. We were guided by James this week and I can't recommend him highly enough. He was brilliant!
Darren and Emma run the camp very professionally and are lovely, warm people who really are one of the key reasons the camp is the special place that it is. Kennedy, William and Abraham were always there to give us a warm welcome back and a cold drink after our game drives and provide great service over meal times. James looked after our tent really well and ensured we had sufficient hot water for showers.
There's also so many of the team who we don't see but do an amazing job. This includes the chefs who do a wonderful job -the food is outstanding, the vehicles are always spotless before every game drive -but not necessarily when we return and there's a great laundry service.
As for the animals.....every time I am here I feel so fortunate. It's great too keep returning and see some of the cubs grow up and in some cases go on to have cubs of their own.
Many thanks to all the team. I hope I'm back again very soon!!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank CharlRho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
19.6 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
198 reviews
12.8 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
954 reviews
7.1 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
285 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 146 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
360 reviews
14.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $1,096 - $1,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing