We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Tented Bush Camp” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mara Siria Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mara Siria Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Luxury Tented Bush Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were the first time on safari and had the good fortune to stay in this luxurious tented bush camp. Spectacular views of the Masai Mara Triangle and sensational guided game drives. The food was basic but in its way excellent and very,very nice hosts with courteous service. That was not our last time there!

Room Tip: the "walking safari" was great nature experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 37miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    29
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
53
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Mara Siria Camp offers you exactly what you expect from a luxurious safari camp. The view is simplly stunning, with the camp overlooking the Mara River and Maasai Mara NP. We stayed in a tent for two nights, and it had everything we needed for us to feel at home. Staff are very pleasant and willing to help. I personally liked their individual approach to every visitor, even though they were fully booked at the time we were there. Roaming zebras, mangoose family and hot bottles in bed make the whole experience totally worth the money!

Room Tip: The Maasai Huts are a bit darker than the tents but more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

A big thank you to Saj and his team for making our recent stay at the camp so special. Our tent and the location were good. We thought that all the staff did a great job at making us feel welcome. Both Moses and our driver Richard deserve a special mention, as their service was excellent.

It is without reservation that we will recommend Mara Siria to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked a 3 night package, from Nairobi by air plain, through Phoenix Saphari.
Mara Syria is located on a hill with a fantastic uninterrupted view of the Mara river and entire park.
The lodge is not fenced, therefore at daytime the animals are free to wonder around (no danger at all). Over night the guests must be always accompanied.
The tents are big and comfortable. Hot water for the showers is provided upon request.
My guide (Peter) is an competent and enthusiastic professionist, who knows very well the movements of all animals around the park and struggles to give the guests as much as possible changes to spot the wild bests.
Service and food are surprising in proportion to the overall cost.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienKenya, Guest Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello Nicola,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to provide serve you next time.
Welcome to Mara Siria again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My friends and I went to a Masai Mara safari with Phoenix Safaris' guide Ambe. The experience was amazing but what really made it even more amazing was the skilled, enthusiastic and jolly guide Ambe. He was a true, dedicated professional in his job. He was always on time when he came to pick us up. The amount of knowledge he had about all the different plant and animal species was incredible and he also knew the scientific names for different species. He could tell hundreds of details about the behavior of different species, their habitats, their what’s and why’s. Especially impressed we were when we were looking at the hippos. When one snorted, Ambe said: “They are very territorial animals. That’s a territory grunt. Soon you will hear the next group grunting back.” And that’s exactly what happened.

What also was heartwarming to notice was that he was truly concerned about the animals and nature. We didn’t go too close to the animals and avoided disturbing them the best we could. If he saw something making the animals uneasy he immediately spotted it and mentioned it. We’ve all worked with animals for years and have a strong background from animal behavior. We could tell he was at least at the same level if not even further in reading the wild animals’ signs.

He could also spot different species from very difficult spots. We were able to see animals and plants we wouldn’t have seen if not for this gifted guide.

Ambe had a good network of colleagues and cooperated with them in order to find interesting animals and things to see. His driving on the roads was conscious and he didn’t take too big risks in the chaotic Kenyan traffic.

We also enjoyed our stay at the Mara Siria camp. The tents were outstanding and the staff was great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SariJii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.We look forward to give you even better services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The Mara Siria Camp has a awsome view from a hill which has to be climbed before. If you can you should take a flight instead of driving for 5 hours offroad. The camp is 30 minutes from the park entreance away and you have to drive a really bad road. Anyway tha camp is a little bit to german you can hear it in any corner but the food, the service is good. The tents are really big but you cant enjoy from anyone of them the beautyful view that you have from the lunch place. Ordering your shower and enjoy it coming from the bucket but be aware the it is limited. The safari cars are good but they could provide some water for the gamedrive. Food and drinks are OK and in the middleclass of what is possible. Enjoy you stay their with a warm welcome

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your honest review ,we look forward to give you even better services next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Mara Siria. We are in our mid-fifties and went with another couple in their late fifties. The other couple had been to the camp a few years ago with their son and daughter-in-law and all had enjoyed themselves immensely. From the moment we arrived we knew this was a special place. The staff greeted us warmly, accommodated our every request, and made our stay most enjoyable. The tents were very spacious and spread out. Our tent was near our friends but far enough away for privacy. The game drives were unforgettable - many elephants, giraffes, lions, cheetahs, antelope, etc. Our guide, Jackson, was very knowledgeable and seemed to know just were to go and how to pace each game drive. The camp provided great boxed lunches for us so that we could stay out in the Mara most of the day. The views from the camp were great and the sounds of the animals in the night was magical. We thought the food was great given the remote location. Zebras and giraffes in the camp! I got up early one day to view the sunrise. Just awesome! Only complaint was that our bed was a bid too firm. We were there for three days and two nights which was just enough. Will probably return in a few years with other friends or family. Would highly recommend paying entry fees online for the Maasai Mara - we had issues with our credits cards which took a while to remedy (this had nothing to do with Mara Siria Camp). Would also recommend flying to the camp over driving. The flight only takes an hour from Wilson airport in Nairobi to the airstrip which is about a 20 minute drive from the camp. February was a great time to be at the camp - days are warm and dry and nights cool, and the camp was not busy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are happy to receive your wonderful feedback after your experience in Mara Siria ,and we look forward to provide even better services and make your stay even more unforgettable .Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
22.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
39.2 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
30.6 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 138 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Siria Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Siria Camp

Property: Mara Siria Camp
Address: C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mara Siria Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Siria is a specially designed luxury tented bush camp for those travellers who want to experience a true wildlife safari off the beaten track. Mara Siria Camp reverts to the original spirit and to the true meaning of “Safari” by offering individual services and private atmosphere.The camp's location on top of the Siria Escarpment offers an unique and stunning view into the plains of the Maasai Mara Triangle and at the Mara River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mara Siria Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Siria Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Siria Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing