We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Camp with a View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Siria Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mara Siria Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“A Camp with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our 2-night-stay at Mara Siria at the beginning of February 2012 was a wonderful experience – it really deserves the title “A Camp with a View”. Not only during breakfast and lunch can one enjoy the gorgeous view from the escarpment into the plains of the Masai Mara, a sundowner on the scenic platform is a must! The excellent 4x4 vehicles are perfect for game viewing and our guide was very knowledgeable. The staff proved to be extremely hospitable and helpful. The spacious tents were practically equipped and tastefully decorated. Considering our accommodation was in one of nature’s most secluded corners, the place was kept clean and tidy and the food was delicious. The only downside of being in this beautiful, quiet and relaxing place where one can still get a feeling of wilderness is the fact that the road from and to the game drives and Kichwa airstrip is rough and therefore takes time. But that was an easy price to pay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashgeja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    29
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
50
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Excellent resort with friendly staff, good food, perfect safaris, perfect tents and perfect view to endless horizon. Hard to get there by own car (like we did) but this place is worth of visiting.

I travelled here January 2007 (this web review did not allow me to add the right time to my trip :( )

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Wonderful relaxing stay over New Years Eve! The tents are lovely and spacious and very clean. Tents are not too close to each other, one is not at all disturbed by neighbors.
The tents do have electrical lights (powered by solar) for the early morning and nights, but no power for hair dryer or razors and such. If you need to recharge camera or other electronics the staff will do that for you in the office. Just don't leave it there when you check-out! Happened to me, but thanks to the very attentive managers John and Vitalis in the camp and their associated travel office in Nairobi I got it sent home!
In the camp you are dependent on the very nice and friendly staff, as you are not supposed to walk on your own after nightfall over the absolutely beautiful grounds of the camp. Beware of little and not so little critters... But it is never a problem or a nuisance. The staff really wants to please their guests and it is never awkward to ask for hot shower water or help to go to your tent or for the dinner tent.
Our safari guide Paul was absolutely great: very knowledgeable and patient with the three semi professional photographers in our group. Got to see lots and lots of wildlife and great landscape. Safaris are scheduled at the guests requests and are included in the packages. Prices for the entire stay are fair, but not necessarily a bargain. Keep in mind that you have to add US$80 per person per day for entrance fees into the park! And you better bring that in cash, as the credit card machine (Visa only) doesn't always work.
If I'd go again I would probably book the driving package, as the flight schedule is somewhat unreliable.
Only negative about the camp is that they were not able to accommodate the pescetarian (vegetarian eating fish, dairy and eggs) request we made long time before arriving. The African cuisine is not that exciting, so don't go for the gourmet experience, but you certainly won't starve and the food is tasty. Absolutely great were the breakfast boxes we got on our safaris.
Overall: great place to stay, definetly would go again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Hippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We arranged for a 3 day 2 night package from Nairobi Kenya to the Mara Siria Camp in the Masai Mara National Reserve and our experience was outstanding. The site was to die for, on a promontory overlooking a Masai village. We had a lovely view from the pool as well though it was more the size of a hot tub it was just fine for the 2 of us.The tents were lovely and spacious with very attentive staff. I particularly enjoyed watching the attendant hoist the hot water into our shower basket on a pulley system. When it was done we were notified with a holler of "Shower ready" and in we went, grateful for the delicious stream after a hot day on the savannah. The food was nothing to write home about but wholesome and servings were generous. I particularly appreciated the vegetarian meals. Our guide was knowledgeable and eager to share facts and stories with us. One morning we went on a Hot Air Balloon ride to watch the sunrise over the Savannah and it was a treat. Do not miss it, it is well worth it as well as the champagne breakfast following the trip. It was a trip of a lifetime. I felt like I was on a different planet.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Spent four nights at Mara Siria just before Christmas 2011. Our tent #6 had a wonderful view looking over the Mara Plain just like the main camp. In its own private location, the tent was fairly well appointed with a comfortable bed and an attached ensuite with wash basins, flush toilet and a shower. There was power at the tent for lights during the night with hot water bottles to take the chill off cold nights. Given 20 minutes notice the staff would prepare hot water for a shower.

The first few days of our visit saw the camp relatively quiet with only about three of the tents occupied, the last few days saw 36 new guests arriving. Considering the two different dynamics at the camp the staff were able to react and keep the same high level of service. The food was tasty and the service quick.

Some reviewers have had mixed reviews of the location, outside of the park and up a rough steep road to the top of the escarpment. If you think you would be put off by this, then probably it would not be the best place to stay, that being said the views as noted earlier are outstanding and you get to see wildlife that others don't by climbing that hill. On different trips we were treated to herds of about 15 giraffes, many dik diks, impalas, baboons and jackals.

The little plunge pool that they have installed is cute and has some fantastic views and really any place at or near the Mara is heaven. If possible, try to get a tent near the escarpment that permits great morning and evening views. All in all, Mara Siria is a very good camp and would be a good choice for travellers in the Mara.

As far as the Mara, it is hard to go wrong, December is a bit tricky as the grass is a bit high, but still lots to see and yes we were fortunate to see all the big five... :)

Room Tip: Ask for a tent with a view of the escarpment if possible otherwise walks can take a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koldkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I had an amazing time in the Maasai Mara. This was my first safari, so I don't have any other camps to compare Mara Siria to, but in terms of value for money, I couldn't really ask for more.
I had stunning game-drives. The staff was very helpful in accommodating my personal preferences especially in terms of the time of the drives.
The tents are more luxurious than I expected. I didn't think a tent could provide such comfort in the middle of the bush. The fact that there is no running water, didn't bother me, as the staff filled up the tents reservoir with hot water on demand. So you can practically take a shower any time if you wanted.
If you want to keep an emphasis on nature and don't need infinity pools and electric fences in the midst of the bush, this is the right choice for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kfs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I just got back from a trip to the Maasai Mara and can confidently say that the Mara Siria camp is the best camp you could stay at in the Mara. You will see review by people moaning about the bad roads and long drives but this is the bush and comes with the territory (literally!). Thanks to the bad rains this year the roads are a bit worse for wear, but it's an adventure travelling up and down the mountain to get to the camp or down to the park itself for a game drive.

The camp really is luxury - it's like a 5 star hotel but with tents instead of rooms. We stayed in tents 5 and 6 which had some of the most spectacular views of the rift valley. In a double tent you get a king sized bed (2 mattresses and duvets along with blankets and hot water bottles when it gets cold!). An en suite bathroom with two wash basins, amenities, a flushing toilet and a gravity fed shower (which is filled with hot water each evening on return from safari).

The camp is not enclosed so you will be escorted through the camp after dark -we saw zebra at night in the middle of the camp! Recent additions are the plunge pool which is right on the edge of a cliff so gives a fantastic panoramic view of the valley below. There are plenty of other activities besides a safari too such as a visit to the Maasai village or mountain biking etc.

The food is absolutely out of this world - I've actually had worse food at city hotels so the quality and variety of food was a massive surprise.
Peter (or the 'minister of stomach' as he's otherwise known) is an absolute legend and will make food to order as per your liking. Main meals consist of meat, potatoes and vegetables and breakfasts include continental, pancakes and cooked! As a food lover this was a highlight for me.

The views from the main tent area are a sight to behold. I got up to see the sunrise each day which I would highly recommend doing from the main tent as you get a fantastic panoramic view of the sun rising over the rift valley below.

The safari trips (run by Phoenix) were excellent - we saw a whole plethora of animals and our driver had people in the know who called in with sightings of lions and elephants etc. The only bad point was getting stuck in the mud for 3 hours in the heat of the day due to the heavy rains. This can be avoided by making sure the vehicle you go out on has the correct tyres (ours should have had mud tyres considering the recent weather!). The best driver we had was Emmanuel. The rest of the staff at the camp were very friendly and were dedicated to making our trip enjoyable.

In conclusion if you are looking for an authentic Maasai Mara experience including all of the lumps and bumps of a real safari, and if you want to be able to return home to an oasis of peace, calm and luxury each evening I would strongly recommend booking a place at the Mara Siria Luxury Tented Bush Camp in the Maasai Mara.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent with a view - 5 and 6 are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
22.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
39.2 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
26.3 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 137 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Siria Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Siria Camp

Property: Mara Siria Camp
Address: C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mara Siria Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Siria is a specially designed luxury tented bush camp for those travellers who want to experience a true wildlife safari off the beaten track. Mara Siria Camp reverts to the original spirit and to the true meaning of “Safari” by offering individual services and private atmosphere.The camp's location on top of the Siria Escarpment offers an unique and stunning view into the plains of the Maasai Mara Triangle and at the Mara River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mara Siria Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Siria Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Siria Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing